Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews | Glassdoor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews

Updated April 26, 2017
749 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

749 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Last but not least there is no room for growth unless you work in administration or at the Main campus in NY (in 15 reviews)

  • Base post doc salary with no experience is 50K, which does not really defray the high cost of living in New York (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work...if you can get in for an interview...do it!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary II in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Secretary II in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    great benefits and opportunities to learn outside of your job specs

    Cons

    "the more you know the more you do"; it IS a 'non-profit' organization

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for the positive comments; we take great pride in MSK's commitment to giving our employee's the opportunity to learn and advance their careers.


  2. "session assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    meet a ton of new people, be apart of the patient experience, become part of a tight knit family, great benefits and pay

    Cons

    employee burnout,long hours, thats all

    Advice to Management

    listen to the suggestions your employees give you, they know what works

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We recognize that healthcare can often require long hours, and appreciate your continued commitment to MSK and our patients.


  3. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People, their mission, overall culture

    Cons

    I have nothing really bad to say about MSKCC

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks so much for your positive feedback; we're pleased to hear that you find MSK to be a great place to work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The benefits and job stability are great. There is a great work life balance supported by all.

    Cons

    It can be very difficult to more up, especially from an entry level position. Change happens slowly and you don't get much exposure to other departments. The salary is mediocre and disappointing after working there for 3 years and seeing the difficulty at gaining a higher up position with a higher salary, though my reviews were always great.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments regarding our excellent benefits and work culture. If you'd like to discuss your concerns about opportunities for advancement in more detail, we recommend contacting your HR ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice people, great benefits, great salary

    Cons

    Always have to be very efficient

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate with us more

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback regarding our workforce culture and benefits, and will share your comment about the importance of communication from management.


  7. "OPRep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outpatient Center Representative in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Outpatient Center Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, and wonderful people and environment.

    Cons

    Inconsistent work hours (draining), no room for advancement, no matter how overqualified you are. You have to know the right person in order to get anywhere (interview). I loved my job, but it was getting boring and i needed something more challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Management never seemed to want to advance you or your skills and held back your growth as a career person. Putting me in a hard decision to advance my skills and leave the organization all together. This eventually hurts the company, and lose out on great employees.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of burned out scientists"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exposure to top level science. Being part of a hospital allows cross-pollination between clinical and basic science. Located in New York city.

    Cons

    The complete lack of mentorship for post-docs and graduate students by most PIs is one of the biggest issues. The environment is not welcoming to women - the gender ratio of laboratory heads is abysmal.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Jan 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your comments regarding the cutting edge research performed at MSK, and we encourage you to contact your HR Business Partner to discuss the concerns you've expressed.


  9. "I miss this place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician Office Assistant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Physician Office Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I truly believe everyone working at MSK was dedicated to the goal of helping patients with cancer. The benefit package was exceptional

    Cons

    Lower management was of little help solving day to day problems

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments; we are very fortunate to have employees who are so dedicated to MSK's mission of fighting cancer.


  10. "Great Place to Work!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Research Study Assistant I in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Good work environment
    -Room for Growth
    -Tuition Reimbursement
    -Great Location

    Cons

    -Traveling time/commute
    -Divide between departments
    -Some facilities not fully equipped

    Advice to Management

    -Management does a great job in maintaining high standards

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your positive comments; we agree that MSK is a great place to work!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Best Hospital to work for in NYC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering (More than a year)

    Pros

    Teamwork, Growth, Flexible hours, Awesome benefits.

    Cons

    If you drive in the city parking is very expensive

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    Dec 27, 2016 – Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive feedback - we have to agree that we have a wonderful sense of teamwork across the Center.


Showing 749 of 799 reviews
Reset Filters