KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Memorial Sloan Kettering

Engaged Employer

Memorial Sloan Kettering

Add a Review

Memorial Sloan Kettering Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 2,371 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Sloan Kettering President & CEO Craig B. Thompson
Craig B. Thompson
976 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, competitive salary, great benefits(in 207 reviews)

  • "Excellent environment for working with good benefits(in 121 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance mostly terrible(in 55 reviews)

  • "There are no cons to working at MSK(in 47 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Memorial Sloan Kettering and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      High level science, infinite resources

      Jan 18, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seemingly unlimited access to patient samples, collaboration with other labs for use in research. Steps away from the expert in every field

      Cons

      A lot of "nepotism" in hiring (e.g. former post docs), no BIPOC tenured faculty, everyone works intensely and your work life balance is really dependent on the attitude of lab supervisor

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on our internal mobility efforts and feedback like what you have shared has been helpful.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Benefits and Internal Growth

      Jan 11, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Believe in developing staff and internal growth

      Cons

      I suppose improvement with work/life balance for management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand our work can be challenging and we appreciate all that you do.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jan 12, 2021 - Patient Access Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits paid time off competitive pay

      Cons

      nothing, lots of hours, work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand our work can be challenging and we appreciate all that you do.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Company

      Jan 11, 2021 - Project Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work life balance, great senior leadership

      Cons

      Not enough communication within certain departments

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work and grow

      Jan 8, 2021 - Bioinformatics Engineer II in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of expertise, really meaningful work, many interesting ideas, great manangement, great work/life balance

      Cons

      Hard to know people across departments

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and for all your hard work.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 23, 2021 - Care Coordinator in Bergen, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime, Great culture and Great co-workers

      Cons

      Work-life balance and Long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand that the work can be challenging and we appreciate all that you do.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved the company, high turnover

      Jan 11, 2021 - Clinical Research Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, feel like you're apart of something important and that you are contributing to something great. Feels like family, people really care about what they do.

      Cons

      Consistently understaffed (and even when "properly" staffed, employees still feel frequently overloaded). Work-life balance mostly terrible Management (in my department at least) were extreme micromanagers, there was a lack of supervisory support, lack of communication from higher ups to direct reports, negative emotions were taken out on employees, fear among employees of retribution if individuals spoke up about concerns. Quite a bit of bullying from upper management and working teams ragged in my department

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      okay

      Jan 11, 2021 - Office Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits time off tuition reimbursement health insurance company perks

      Cons

      work life balance understaffed micromanaged low pay

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand our work can be challenging and we appreciate all that you do.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work if you like academic medical research

      Jan 10, 2021 - Research Biostatisticians in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work-life balance, good pay, friendly co-workers

      Cons

      the biostat dept and hospital in general is very hierarchical

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the best places to work!

      Nov 28, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sense of community throughout every role, ability to grow within the company, culture and values are respected and maintained throughout every role, provides the chance to maintain a work/life balance

      Cons

      Diversity and Inclusion within Senior Management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We are currently working on our internal mobility efforts and feedback like what you have shared has been helpful.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Memorial Sloan Kettering Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Memorial Sloan Kettering? Share Your Experiences

    or