Mencap Reviews | Glassdoor

Mencap Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
58 Ratings
  1. "Challenging all round, but rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reliance on your colleagues is key, especially with those who have experience with the PWS (person we support), so learn as much as you can from them as they will know the PWS better than any care plan. Moral fluctuates, as in any role, but overall I found it to be positive. It takes a certain type of person to do this job, and pairing of personalities of the Support Worker to the PWS doesn’t always work, however, if you speak to management, they typically support transfers, as feedback from staff and the PWS in my experience has been taken into consideration. I particularly liked how full time staff are assigned more one-2-one positions aligned to the PWS’s needs. This gives the PWS a key member of staff who fully understands all their learning and medical challenges and advocates on their behalf. The training has been fantastic, though I would suggest gearing that training towards a nationally recognised standard to enhance career progression.

    Show More

    Cons

    There has been a quick self weeding out of staff since I started, you’ll quickly learn that this job is either for you, or it isn’t. The salary isn’t the greatest, understandably so as it is a charity, and carers are typically low skilled positions, however the stress involved when working with a challenging PWS can be overwhelming, and there are other carer roles becoming available all the time that offer less challenging situations. My experience has been a positive one overall, so I’m finding it difficult to define any real cons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No manager should be in any position without first having worked with all PWS’s within their area of responsibility. That means working within each of the rotas to be able to fully comprehend the needs in a real world sense, giving them an opportunity to listen to staff on those shifts, seeing how a PWS spends their time and potentially addressing ‘under the radar’ issues to the benefit of all concerned.

    Mencap2020-01-23
  2. "My experience with Mencap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Consultant in Llanelli, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extra hours, regular work. No further comment.

    Cons

    Long hours, hospital shifts, often challenging, poor pay, no incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Support members of staff and take accountability.

    Mencap2020-01-18
  3. "A well rewarded great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap

    Pros

    Seeing people have a great life in the community and in there own home with lots of happiness

    Cons

    There are cons in every job but there is not that many at Drummond court yes hours can be long but normally that’s your choice anyway to do them

    Advice to Management

    Carry on the great work you are all doing

    Mencap2020-01-16
  4. "Great to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Support Worker in Southam, West Midlands, England

    I worked at Mencap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All good. Paid well. Staff were lovely as well as customers

    Cons

    Upper management were not as good

    Mencap2019-12-21
  5. "Good charity that does great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits of the work going toward a great cause is motivating. Good fundraising events

    Cons

    Sometimes processes can be confusing Planning fundraising opportunities can be stressful

    Mencap2019-12-17
  6. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in York, England

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and the joy of leaving.

    Cons

    I left Mencap due to systems and procedures that are unfair and clearly bully. I put in a complaint to raise my issue but they refused to deal with it and claimed that I left the company too long ago and it’s outside of the time frame that they deal with staff complaints. I asked them what the time frame is but they refused to tell me. Mencap does not have the courage to deal with the issue I put forward.

    Advice to Management

    Think outside the box and start seeing the bigger picture.

    Mencap2019-12-10
  7. "Constant jobs available, good? or bad? I'll let you decide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Clevedon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I started Mencap Clevedon there was a brilliant staffing team, but no strong managerial presence. This bonded the team and the PWS were happy because of it.

    Cons

    After a while at Mencap Clevedon it became apparent that due to having at least 6 different managers at one point all helping out in varying roles that there was an element of mass confusion. Staff became disillusioned and jaded, this ultimately affected their roles and the PWS and their families suffered.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, they are more than monkeys to whom you feed peanuts, they accept the poor pay and the ever increasing hours, even if the stress ends up making them ill. The very loyal staff don't appreciate feeling like they are at the bottom of the decision food chain, not being listened to and second guessed at every opportunity just because they do not have a title before their name. They are the backbone which you rely on, and without them you would surely have to rely on agency staff who do not know the PWS sufficiently enough to help them from day to day.

    Show More
    Mencap2019-12-08
  8. "It’s a brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Support Worker in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference in the lives of those we support

    Cons

    Long hours can be hard

    Mencap2019-12-05
  9. "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Andover, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is very rewarding, long hours but worth it.

    Cons

    Some Long shifts, but worth it.

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Mencap2019-12-04
  10. "Review of my time at Mencap charity St Albans town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, nice environment to work in

    Cons

    There was quite a long commute time to get there.

    Mencap2019-12-03
Found 159 reviews