Mencap Reviews | Glassdoor

Mencap Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
51 Ratings
  1. "Great PWS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding helping the PWS to get the most out of life

    Cons

    Always short staffed. Overtime expected, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Look after the good staff

    Mencap2019-08-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great job, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Bognor Regis, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The tenants. MOST tenants were lovely, the work is not burdensome, but has a great deal of variety if allowed to.

    Cons

    Poor and unsupportive management. Management more concerned with money than the people we look after. Management who had no idea how to manage or even do a rota. No work/life balance. Staff often worked 24+ hours (including sleep ins) some doing all weekend from Sat morning to Sun night. Any dissent is lept upon and often leads to a disciplinary. Anyone on a disciplinary is left completely unsupported and allowed... absolutely no contact with colleagues. management other reviews on here, it is clear that this is a common theme: poor management. Mencap does a lot of PR saying how wonderful they are for tenants, but they are absolutely one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Without exception. The work can be extremely stressful at times and there is no support from management for this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude towards Support workers, and actually hire managers who know how to manage people effectively. Making money is not the be all and end all, your own PR trumpets the way you have the persons care and support and independence and wishes at heart. This is NOT borne out in practice. Perhaps some of the senior executives and board should do an undercover month at a Mencap group home to see how it... actually is on the ground. Not how you think it is. Perhaps managmemt should read some of the exit surveys from staff and ask themselves if there is a recurring theme and why this is. I will guarantee that this review will not get a reply from Mencap.

    Show More
    Mencap2019-07-28
  3. "Do not go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Worker in Long Eaton, England

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The service user's and Co worker's

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever worked for. Absolutely no regard for staff from the manager's. They work you into the ground, definitely no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Area managers should talk to all support worker's in private to assatain what is actually happening at ground level

    Mencap2019-07-26
  4. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to teach people there are ways to do things , it may just take a little longer.

    Cons

    Having to travel so far from where I live

    Advice to Management

    Be more available

    Mencap2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I cannot think of any sadly

    Cons

    Lack of ability to deal with systemic bullying thier own staff still state 26% do not feel supported and are in fear of retribution should they raise concerns. Nothing seems to have changed in the last 5yrs

    Advice to Management

    Practise what you preach and protect staff when they raise concerns

    Mencap2019-07-16
  6. "Great if you get a good manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Hexham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is fantastic and what the charity does as a whole is stellar - extremely inclusive and as a whole you can tell that Mencap deeply care about what they do.

    Cons

    The managers I weren't clear about the times and duties with work involved, to the point they were misleading. I was given a starting date with 3 days notice which caused problems with my commitments with previous employer. Some carers take clients to their houses and can get possessive over their clients. Communication is awful - I found the onboarding process to be very messy and unorganised. The online system... (payslips, holidays etc) is bloated and awkward to use.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clearer onboarding procedures and patterns.

    Mencap2019-06-21
  7. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator 

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with a good team of employees who made my time there positive. There was lots of training & opportunities for staff. Rewarding schemes in place and always lots of charity days.

    Cons

    As a charity you can expect the salary isn't as good as competitors, no bonuses and very few pay reviews. Management weren't always the most professional and put a lot of pressure for high work load on staff.

    Mencap2019-06-20
  8. "supporting and caring for individuals and families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I graduated last summer on July the 18th, at University of Portsmouth after taking a 3 year course on Child and Youth Development Studies and this is one of the reasons I am interested in teaching assistance in order to put my studies in to practice.

    Cons

    Challenging, working under pressure,

    Advice to Management

    to keep up

    Mencap2019-05-31
  9. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher Fifth Grade in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mencap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support and training for all staff

    Cons

    Overall very positive company to work for

    Mencap2019-05-20
  10. "Responsive and welcoming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mencap

    Pros

    Listens and responses promptly to Enquiry

    Cons

    I'm to know any con

    Mencap2019-05-03
Found 147 reviews