Mencap Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Mencap Reviews

Updated 7 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Very authoritarian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good to work with people with a learning disability.

    Cons

    Extremely hirarchical structure, management with lack of experience and knowledge in their areas. Poor treatment of staff. Terrible sick pay structure - not realistic for an office role.

    Mencap2019-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mencap part-time

    Pros

    None absolutely none at all

    Cons

    Bullying bosses, long hours, low pay

    Mencap2019-02-18
  3. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - amazing people - preach what they teach

    Cons

    - can be inefficiencies - high staff turnover

    Mencap2019-01-08
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Kirkby in Ashfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great life experiences and chances to learn. Amazing team

    Cons

    None at present just long hours

    Advice to Management

    Thank staff more when they go above and beyond

    Mencap2018-11-20
  5. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its great when you work in a team that has the same goal as the organisation

    Cons

    when a manager is unreachable and does not call you back.

    Mencap2018-11-29
  6. "Employment Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employability Officer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work with very friendly people and really rewarding job

    Cons

    very little training on employ-ability/employment law

    Advice to Management

    Offer training on employment law

    Mencap2018-10-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is none the have no care what ever they know abuse is happening but the monies are far more important than basic care needs. Ie financial abuse, also management found it funny when a client got hit by a parent.

    Cons

    Management have no care for there staff break every rule known in care. I have been based in care for more than 13 years in local authorities but Mencap break every rule code law. If your reading this please take my advice and give a wide birth. My place has 5 management all on 35K upwards while the careers are on 13K. This charity ha ha company should loose there charitable staus.

    Advice to Management

    Get a life and look after your staff.

    Mencap2018-11-12
  8. "service manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had a lot of satisfaction of helping people with learning disability to find a job, supporting them until they are fully integrated at work.

    Cons

    A lot of frustration especially fro companies that don´t understand what a learning disability is, and not accepting them at work.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more at working with the clients than working in the management level, which leave them far from the real knowledge about our clients.

    Mencap2018-10-07
  9. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive, good Training

    Cons

    Weekend and bank holiday working

    Mencap2018-09-18
  10. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mencap part-time

    Pros

    Very supportive staff and environment

    Cons

    Thrown in the deep end a bit with personal care, but just ask for help and they will help you

    Mencap2018-09-05
Found 147 reviews