Mencap Support Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Support Worker

Mencap Support Worker Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
25 Ratings
  1. "Shifts far too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely loved working here , Managers and Office staff were so supportive , Professional and most of all understanding ... and The Service User I supported well she will always hold a special place in my heart.

    Cons

    Living alone and having two pets to keep me company and only working part time all took it's toll on me .. I became unreliable due to lack of funds and the shifts I worked were too many hrs in one shift ..

    Advice to Management

    if the shifts could have been taken down to 8 hr shifts between all staff it would have been far more Manageable and Good support workers wouldn't be getting burned out and or exhausted .. The hrs seem to suit Managers More than Support Workers .. who are after all front line of the care ..

    Mencap2019-11-07
  2. "Amazing job, wish I had done this years ago!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The recruitment process is great. The training is exceptional along with the e-learning and workbook that you need to complete. The team I work with and the support ive recieved is fantastic and everyone is welcoming and lovely. The people I support are amazing and the job is very rewarding. My manager is very supportive and has accommodated my hours so I can spend time with my partner and have a work life balance.... Hours are fine, its a 24/7 job but I still feel I have a life too. Best job ever! Glad i applied and happy I now work for Mencap as a support worker, wish I had done it years ago.

    Show More

    Cons

    Wish we had handovers between shifts because sometimes I feel its needed and comms books are misunderstood or info missing by mistake.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see more shadowing after training and a few shifts on your own. I feel that by doing this and the shadowing again allows you to fill in some gaps in knowledge and also reassure your learning.

    Mencap2019-11-03
  3. "I love working at Mencap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Support Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap

    Pros

    The people we support are amazing.

    Cons

    Staff gossiping and bullying.

    Advice to Management

    When new starters join, try to form your own opinion of them, rather than getting feedback from staff members the new starter is shadowing. One person's understanding or comparability with another shouldn't determine how management or other staff see that person, especially when the feedback is negative and potentially untrue or a misunderstanding.

    Mencap2019-10-30
  4. "Uncaring and nasty place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Support Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mencap for more than a year

    Pros

    The clients were great

    Cons

    Over worked, personal life not cared for. Where I worked there were zero lunch breaks even though its illegal. Disgusting

    Mencap2019-10-31
  5. "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you support are lovely.

    Cons

    Because the pay is bad and Mencap cannot recruit they will employ absolute dross which they expect you to work alongside and put up with, you will then have to raise concerns and then be shunned with no support from management. I have changed my location to hide my identity.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better candidates, recognise and reward good work, be around more, get rid of staff who obviously shouldn't be working in care, take concerns seriously, support your good staff.

    Mencap2019-10-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The job is amazing, company...not so much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job itself is great the people you support are wonderful.

    Cons

    Quite a few! Long hours, bad pay, illegal pay for sleep ins. Management and bosses in their ivory towers dont care at all for anyone who's actually.doing the hard work. No career progression. Treated unfairly. Serious issues left to lie.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff accordingly!! Minimum wage and illegal pay for sleep ins isnt acceptable. Take care of your staff and appreciate them.

    Mencap2019-09-17
  7. "Great PWS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding helping the PWS to get the most out of life

    Cons

    Always short staffed. Overtime expected, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Look after the good staff

    Mencap2019-08-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great job, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Bognor Regis, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The tenants. MOST tenants were lovely, the work is not burdensome, but has a great deal of variety if allowed to.

    Cons

    Poor and unsupportive management. Management more concerned with money than the people we look after. Management who had no idea how to manage or even do a rota. No work/life balance. Staff often worked 24+ hours (including sleep ins) some doing all weekend from Sat morning to Sun night. Any dissent is lept upon and often leads to a disciplinary. Anyone on a disciplinary is left completely unsupported and allowed... absolutely no contact with colleagues. management other reviews on here, it is clear that this is a common theme: poor management. Mencap does a lot of PR saying how wonderful they are for tenants, but they are absolutely one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Without exception. The work can be extremely stressful at times and there is no support from management for this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude towards Support workers, and actually hire managers who know how to manage people effectively. Making money is not the be all and end all, your own PR trumpets the way you have the persons care and support and independence and wishes at heart. This is NOT borne out in practice. Perhaps some of the senior executives and board should do an undercover month at a Mencap group home to see how it... actually is on the ground. Not how you think it is. Perhaps managmemt should read some of the exit surveys from staff and ask themselves if there is a recurring theme and why this is. I will guarantee that this review will not get a reply from Mencap.

    Show More
    Mencap2019-07-28
  9. "Do not go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Worker in Long Eaton, England

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The service user's and Co worker's

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever worked for. Absolutely no regard for staff from the manager's. They work you into the ground, definitely no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Area managers should talk to all support worker's in private to assatain what is actually happening at ground level

    Mencap2019-07-26
  10. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to teach people there are ways to do things , it may just take a little longer.

    Cons

    Having to travel so far from where I live

    Advice to Management

    Be more available

    Mencap2019-06-17
Found 78 reviews