Mencap Support Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Mencap Support Worker Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great job, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Bognor Regis, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The tenants. MOST tenants were lovely, the work is not burdensome, but has a great deal of variety if allowed to.

    Cons

    Poor and unsupportive management. Management more concerned with money than the people we look after. Management who had no idea how to manage or even do a rota. No work/life balance. Staff often worked 24+ hours (including sleep ins) some doing all weekend from Sat morning to Sun night. Any dissent is lept upon and often leads to a disciplinary. Anyone on a disciplinary is left completely unsupported and allowed... absolutely no contact with colleagues. management other reviews on here, it is clear that this is a common theme: poor management. Mencap does a lot of PR saying how wonderful they are for tenants, but they are absolutely one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Without exception. The work can be extremely stressful at times and there is no support from management for this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude towards Support workers, and actually hire managers who know how to manage people effectively. Making money is not the be all and end all, your own PR trumpets the way you have the persons care and support and independence and wishes at heart. This is NOT borne out in practice. Perhaps some of the senior executives and board should do an undercover month at a Mencap group home to see how it... actually is on the ground. Not how you think it is. Perhaps managmemt should read some of the exit surveys from staff and ask themselves if there is a recurring theme and why this is. I will guarantee that this review will not get a reply from Mencap.

    Show More
    Mencap2019-07-28
  2. "Do not go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Worker in Long Eaton, England

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The service user's and Co worker's

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever worked for. Absolutely no regard for staff from the manager's. They work you into the ground, definitely no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Area managers should talk to all support worker's in private to assatain what is actually happening at ground level

    Mencap2019-07-26
  3. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to teach people there are ways to do things , it may just take a little longer.

    Cons

    Having to travel so far from where I live

    Advice to Management

    Be more available

    Mencap2019-06-17
  4. "Great people..poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Support Worker in London, England

    I worked at Mencap for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people working together to help people with disabilities

    Cons

    During my employment management was very poor and this was the main reason for me to leave and I felt no support.

    Mencap2019-07-01
  5. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Support Worker 

    I worked at Mencap for more than a year

    Pros

    Great service users and flexible working

    Cons

    Clearer job description needed and better training geared towards the actual job.

    Mencap2019-06-29
  6. "Great if you get a good manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Hexham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is fantastic and what the charity does as a whole is stellar - extremely inclusive and as a whole you can tell that Mencap deeply care about what they do.

    Cons

    The managers I weren't clear about the times and duties with work involved, to the point they were misleading. I was given a starting date with 3 days notice which caused problems with my commitments with previous employer. Some carers take clients to their houses and can get possessive over their clients. Communication is awful - I found the onboarding process to be very messy and unorganised. The online system... (payslips, holidays etc) is bloated and awkward to use.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clearer onboarding procedures and patterns.

    Mencap2019-06-21
  7. "supporting and caring for individuals and families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I graduated last summer on July the 18th, at University of Portsmouth after taking a 3 year course on Child and Youth Development Studies and this is one of the reasons I am interested in teaching assistance in order to put my studies in to practice.

    Cons

    Challenging, working under pressure,

    Advice to Management

    to keep up

    Mencap2019-05-31
  8. "Undervalued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Burgess Hill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to do something I believe in

    Cons

    Unbelievably underpaid for the responsibility of the job. Lone working in charge of 5 vulnerable adults.

    Advice to Management

    Value staff more.

    Mencap2019-04-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its lovely job, and training that I received was great

    Cons

    Management not got a clue what theyre doing Salary is way to low compared to job responsibilities Absolutely no work life balance

    Mencap2019-02-21
  10. "First year at Mencap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Pocklington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Good staff nice PWS. Decent pay. Good amount of holidays. Good intial training. Good management.

    Cons

    A lot of personal care. Not ideal if you have a back ailment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Mencap2019-01-30
Found 81 reviews