Mencap Support Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Support Worker

Mencap Support Worker Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Support Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Southampton, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am really enjoying my time at Mencap, I wanted to come on and write this as I am fed up with the negative reviews that are written on here. You read some of the comments and although dramatic you think to yourself, what job did you think you were applying for when you came here? So you dont like support work, what did you think it would be? Paid days out as a travel companion? No responsibility? No... accountability? Of course it isnt!!!! You are there to help a person live as independently as possible. They may need help with washing, dressing, their finances, going to clubs, cooking, cleaning and anything else. This has been an incredibly rewarding job, the friendships I have made will stay with me forever (both colleagues and the people we support). Yes the pay is not great, but then neither is other companies. They all pay basically the same. The hours are long and yes I do sleep ins. But then again you know that before you start. Nobody lies to you at interview and says, hey come and work with us, you wont have to do anything, there are days where you can just wander about and do as you like and guess what, we will pay you 30 grand for doing that! Yes people leave my service, but hey, I have worked at others and it was just as bad if not worse. Why? because people take this job thinking it will be easy. It isnt. But if you are the sort of person that loves this type of work, this is the place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with anywhere else, hours long and demanding , but guess what, I work 3 long days, maybe 4, then I get 2 or 3 days off. It isnt 24/7 , for 12 months a year. Yes the pay is not the highest, but then again, it is what it is. It is the same at any other provider. In fact its the same within all social care, healthcare, education, the fire service, the prison service, retail, sales........ You get the jist. Unless... you are a city banker, all jobs pay is not that great!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the wrong people joining us, vet them, make them do trial shifts.

    Mencap2017-05-20
  2. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support Worker in Redruth, England

    I have been working at Mencap

    Pros

    Great line/service managers, great co-workers.

    Cons

    Low wages comparing to the complex work

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the amazing work, value your people, raise the hourly wages and pay more for the sleeps in.

    Mencap2017-05-08
  3. Helpful (7)

    "injustice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Night Support Worker in Totnes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mencap part-time

    Pros

    management have crushed the self worth of nights staff, whom work hard all night caring for disabled residents. They are paid terribly £7.50 p/h that is weekends as well and now mencap are paying the sleep staff £7.50p/h to sleep. I am pleased for the sleep staff, they deserve it but how can it be justified that being awake all night pays the same as somebody whom sleeps all night.

    Cons

    the service users. nice colleques

    Advice to Management

    you will lose good night staff, I myself will never now offer to cover nights, out of principle. I have been a good member of staff for 9 years. Stop treating your staff with contempt

    Mencap2017-05-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Work life balance awful and pay appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff work incredibly hard Supported people are great Training isn't as good as it used to be Managers don't have time for teams

    Cons

    Good new you now get national living wage ? What about guidance from HMRC you should be paying £7.50 for all hours at work ?

    Advice to Management

    Voice of learning disabilities what about pay difference between senior management and other 5yrs and only increase is to national living wage ?

    Mencap2017-04-25
  5. "Wrong career for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Support Worker 

    I worked at Mencap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can be good fun when working with multiple customers in groups. Helping customers with day to day tasks & doing various activities with them.

    Cons

    Not enough time when training to actually read all care plans etc before left to support customers on your own.

    Advice to Management

    Give time to go through care plans while training. One half hour shadow shift isn't enough time to be introduced to the customer, go through their routines and read folders of information.

    Mencap2017-04-05
  6. "False promises and ever changing shift patterns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Support Worker in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap for more than a year

    Pros

    Job satisfaction. Ensuring the people we support have a good quality of life and get the help and support required.

    Cons

    Very negative outlook. Shift patterns changing every week. Contract averaged out over four weeks. So week one could be a 10 hour working week but week two will be a 50 hour!

    Advice to Management

    Smile more!!

    Mencap2017-03-29
  7. "Good to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Support Worker in Stratford-upon-Avon, England

    I worked at Mencap for more than a year

    Pros

    Felt valued majority of the time, good team to work with, always had training up to date.

    Cons

    Sometimes a bit disorganised with shifts

    Mencap2017-03-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great staff, great tenants, HORRIBLE management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Support Worker in Battle, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine job satisfaction, a feeling of helping others less fortunate to lead useful and productive lives. Freedom to explore new ground in the process.

    Cons

    Pay isn't good but you're not in this for the money. Management is a shambles. Sweeping statement but, rude, ungrateful, demanding and thinking that they're some sort of demi god, loving to assert their authority in front of others. Senior management no better, FIVE times I've been in a room with a top brass man and he's never acknowledged my existence once!

    Advice to Management

    Grow up

    Mencap2017-02-28
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Male Support Worker in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding job, every day is a new experience.

    Cons

    No cons for my own experience.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the way you are

    Mencap2016-11-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support Worker in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap

    Pros

    Flexible hours, working with some great individuals, unpressured environment, extra hours/sleepovers when available, some good managers.

    Cons

    Services erratically organised, some very poor managers, long hours, very low pay, poor work/life balance due to random shift patterns, Mencap place contracts and gaining new business over the people they support.

    Advice to Management

    I came across many poor, uneducated managers who had bad leadership skills, awful social skills and led many services into trouble. My advice would be to have a better, fairer vetting/recruitment process for managers. Many mangers at Mencap seemed to arrive at that position as 'there face fits' and they were pally with the established management team.

    Mencap2016-08-12
Found 83 reviews