Meraki "bay area" Reviews | Glassdoor

Meraki Employee Reviews about "bay area"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Meraki General Manager  Todd Nightingale
Todd Nightingale
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "Office has many great perks and amenities (free food, gym, etc(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great perks, great people and training(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "And middle management is heavy with talentless people leaders(in 11 reviews)

  • "Bay Area Cost of Living is TOO HIGH for the salary they provide for this position and they know it(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bay area"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Meraki Mid Market, the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid Market Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company I have ever worked for, bar none. Yes there are growth challenges as we become more integrated with Cisco, and yes sales is hard, but Meraki creates an environment for employees that is supportive and feels like home. I am proud of the product we sell, and am honored to be part of the Mid Market team that has developed immensely since its inception 3 years ago. Great benefits, company events, and... opportunity for upward mobility either within the Meraki BU or to greater Cisco. Hard work pays off.

    Show More

    Cons

    Quotas are becoming evermore challenging to achieve. A lot of the OG Merakians have seen us become more corporate (Cisco-like) as the start-up style culture is fading. Lower pay than other tech companies in the Bay Area. Politicking with Cisco can be frustrating if you are not good at hiding how you really feel in certain situations. Can feel a little 'bro' oriented.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Be supportive of employees and realistic with hard to achieve sales goals. I love my Meraki family.

    Meraki2019-07-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "great launchpad role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun workplace, friendly culture, incredible product, mature sales motion, some very talented people in middle management, great benefits from parent company Cisco

    Cons

    lack of vision from upper management, increasingly corporate and HR-led culture, increasingly difficult to drive impactful change and receive recognition, some ineffective people in middle management, relatively low salaries for Bay Area

    Advice to Management

    stay focused on growing before competitive products catch up

    Meraki2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Support Management is a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Typical bay area perks (catered lunch, unlimited snacks, on-site gym, company parties/events, etc.) - People outside Support are amazing - Mission Bay location - Cisco perks (401k match, health benefits, etc)

    Cons

    I might be biased since I've only been in the Support team within Meraki, but oh my, this department is a mess. The Support managers and directors are being treated like kings meanwhile everyone else is their subjects. Managers can work remotely anywhere they want but it's so hard for us in tech support to even work from home. Managers keep reinforcing 'policies' and rules but they never listened to our feedback,... constant reviews and feedback forms were sent out but there was no action around it. No diversity within the support department - for the entire department you can tell they're majority males. I've seen so many people left the Support team and managers are not doing anything about it. Some of the managers are like puppets to the higher-ups, these young managers don't even get proper training on how to manage people - all they did was to execute orders. FYI - The support department in Meraki pays really low compared to other companies. Don't expect a raise even after your 1-year anniversary (or even your 2nd or 3rd year). The managers will constantly lie about not getting enough budget from Cisco, but the truth is they're using that budget to give new hires better pay to fulfill their goal of employee retention because according to their logic giving better pay to new hires will retain them. They never paid attention to the current employees. You can try other departments within Meraki, but if you have a networking background, please do yourself a favor and avoid the Support team at Meraki.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Take care of your current employees, do something to keep them - Please get that office politics away from Meraki, it's obvious that the managers are playing favoritism - Be transparent and genuine about your team. You're a manager, not a puppet

    Meraki2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Inclusive, Challenging, and Supportive...but still part of Cisco."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Automation Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Teams are diverse and the caliber of the average engineer at Meraki is extremely high -Hiring emphasizes inclusivity and hiring women and PoC in particular -Management is highly supportive of career growth and intra-company moves -Small-company culture with big-company bankroll courtesy of Cisco -Great product--both fun to work on and great quality and feature set overall (I'm proud to use my Meraki gear at... home and show it off to people!) -Highly collaborative environment -The culture encourages sharing your work and developing your presentation skills -Great office space in San Francisco with many perks, e.g. catered lunch (and catered dinner for engineers) -Access to the resources we need as engineers is generally free and easy -Some commuter benefits

    Show More

    Cons

    -Meraki's startup legacy is still haunting current employees. Tools are out of sync with Cisco's processes and coordination between Meraki and Cisco is not easy. -Compensation has been improving in recent months, but is still behind as compared to other prestige tech companies in the Bay Area -Meraki shares Cisco's benefit plan (kludgy and limited PTO accrual being the worst part of this) -Mission Bay location is... somewhat inconvenient for transit (there's a Muni stop nearby, but for the last couple of years, construction of the new Warriors stadium has made it hard to get to the site) -Cisco proper is intruding into Meraki's small-company culture; for better and for worse, it will be more a part of the giant homogeneous Cisco machine in a year, and even more so the year after that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to retain talent, you'd be wise to allow more true remote work and at least try to keep salaries consistent with what engineers can be making at e.g. Twitter or Facebook. Having worked at Cisco for some time, I know this latter request is probably impossible to accommodate, but...if I were choosing between engineering companies today and one offered unlimited PTO and another didn't, the former would get... a lot of weight in my decisionmaking process.

    Show More
    Meraki2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Lack of transparency from leadership, becoming more like Big Brother Cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard tech perks in the Bay Area (free food, pool table, etc)

    Cons

    We've been blindsighted by lots of changes recently, including a complete change in our compensation and bonus structure (from Meraki's unique structure to one that is identical to Cisco's). There is also a hiring freeze in place but that was never discussed widely by leadership (only diffused slowly via gossip throughout the office). When I interviewed, I was told by nearly every interviewer that Meraki "isn't... like big Cisco", but this no longer seems to be the case (if not quite a lie). Recently, we've been told that "Big Brother" Cisco is forcing us to move from Gmail to Outlook (yes, a modern tech company moving to clunky Microsoft Outlook). There was quite a large backlash from engineers about it but we were told to "bring concerns up with leadership during their office hours" rather than leadership answering questions openly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be open, honest, and transparent to ICs. Don't have your interviewers lie to candidates.

    Meraki2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (8)

    "If you want to learn or serious about this field, then avoid it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food just like other company in the bay area

    Cons

    If you are serious about this field, I would recommend you to stay away. But if you want to have an easy life, then I would recommend you to join. Yes, I know the "responsibilities" on their website may seem very interesting. But trust me, if you have a CCNA then you are already the 50th percentile, and if you have a CCNA and a CWNA, then congrats, you will be able to handle almost everything, so you are not... going to learn anything new in Meraki. And when you work in the company for 1-2 years, your knowledge in networking will get simplified as well, then you will get stuck in this company with a very low salary (by the way, when you get "promoted" into a different team, you are NOT getting ANY raise (i.e. same base)). For the Wireshark packet analysis, the command: ip.addr == x.x.x.x will cover 90% of your daily task [please don't think this is an "analysis", it is more like if you can't figure the traffic goes because the UI suck, then you will need to take a packet capture to figure it out what is going on, there is nothing to do with the "analysis"]. The responsibilities and qualifications on the website may make you feel like are a network engineer. But in reality, you are a customer support/help desk. Just don't carry too much hope into this job, because you will get disappointed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe management should think about how to retain talented people. There are no extra points for growing headcount if talented people keep leaving the company at a rapid rate.

    Meraki2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Stay away from the sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The standard perks that come with software engineering positions in the Bay Area (free lunch, slacks, pool table).

    Cons

    Struggling to hire and retain talent, especially with diversity. There have been lots of "conversations" and "metrics" around diversity, but not much has actually been done to address it. Promotion or departure is often centered around "who is most social with others" or "politically the savviest", not necessarily who is most qualified for the position. Lots of projects worked on or rejected on because of political... reasons, rather than actually what's best for our company overall and our customers. Lots of senior engineers departing recently as a result. New grad salary/stock doesn't keep pace with other tech companies in the area.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit the games and politics and start realistically looking at what's going on.

    Meraki2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (23)

    "The job that you should try to avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Exposure to multiple technologies (Switching, routing, security, Wireless...) -Access to online learning materials -You will find good people there that are going through the same issues as you -food, snacks but you won't have time to enjoy that as you will be working all the time

    Cons

    lets start... 1- Stressful job, you are in the forefront, so mainly you get the bad feedback while another department (sales) get the good feedback from customers. 2- No down time at work, expect to work on your lunch break if you have to leave at time. 3- you will be answering phone calls 7.5 hrs and trying to response to email cases while you are talking over the phone to avoid the SLA's 4-Support will be... supporting everything, from tracking the customer's shipment to finding out bugs in products. 5- You don't feel you are part of Meraki if you are at support, you are not allowed to attend Meraki town-hall meetings to get to know what is going on, also other departments look down to support Engineers 6- Low pay, recruiters target newly graduates and foreigners so they can pay them less than the average for low bay area technical jobs 7-Don't expect a raise soon, it takes time ( every 1.5 years at least) 8-You have to work night shifts( 3 pm - 12 am) every 8 weeks 9-New Engineers have to work 6-3 am shift for the first 6-9 months 10- you are not allowed to work remotely 10- Bay Area is expensive in general so you have to live far, and since you are doing the 6 am shift then you will be waking up around 4 am everyday to arrive to work at 6 am Bottom line, I won't recommend this job for a friend

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Surprisingly you feel that the management is decoupled from the engineers( although they were engineers before becoming managers) -Mangers don't have any previous leadership experience, so you will be the training material -You are just a number, and you can be replaced in a heartbeat

    Meraki2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Decent place to work... Not amazing, but not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pretty amazing office space lots of great employee perks apart of a small start up with funding of larger company

    Cons

    There is no flexibility to work remote even though it is apart of a telecom company who specializes in video communications. Pay is pretty low for the Bay Area Decentralized departments so there is not a lot of cross collaboration between teams

    Advice to Management

    Unify your company - Engineers get perks others don't some teams don't have to work in the office - Communication from the top down has been something you are working on and should continue to work on

    Meraki2018-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales review of Cisco Meraki"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Meraki for 3 months now, and have hope my review helps anyone considering Meraki. I'll break it down into four things. 1.) Perks- the perks here are amazing. Multiple kitchens, fully stocked and always have fresh fruit and other healthy options. The lunch menu is incredible, and anyone complaining about it needs to get a reality check. We have different menus every day, and there's always full salad... bar options as well (and an Ice Cream fridge). 2.) Quota - One of the top questions I get asked is- can you hit quota here? Absolutely .I joined and hit (and exceeded) my quota in 3 months. Most of the people around me come close, or exceed as well. It does come down to territory though- I know some people who have bad territories can struggle, and I think they should be held to lower quotas than anyone else. 3.) Management - Management is great. We have a new guy (Adam) who just replaced MItch, who was awesome. I constantly see all the managers being pulled into weekly meetings on culture, sales enablement, etc. This trickles down to us sales reps, since my manager is constantly coming to us and asking what we need from him to succeed. Anything I ask him, he works above and beyond to provide. As you may know, Meraki promotes from within exclusively, so everyone in the higher positions has worked in your shoes. 4.) The product- it's easy to sell, easy to set up and damn good looking. I've worked in tech sales for 6 years now, and I'm amazed about how much people love our products.

    Show More

    Cons

    Just like my pro section, I will break it down: - Salary- Lower bases which we hope will change in the near future. I know the average rep hits their quota, but a higher base pay will keep people around longer, especially in this competitive environment (Bay Area)

    Advice to Management

    Continue the perks and work/life balance. If the benefits decrease, the lower base pay won't keep many reps around. Other than that, keep up the hard work and the communication!

    Meraki2017-08-16
Found 17 reviews