Meraki "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Meraki Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Meraki CEO Todd Nightingale
Todd Nightingale
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "Office has many great perks and amenities (free food, gym, etc(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great perks, great people and training(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "And middle management is heavy with talentless people leaders(in 11 reviews)

  • "Bay Area Cost of Living is TOO HIGH for the salary they provide for this position and they know it(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki for less than a year

    Pros

    Trip to Taiwan and free food were great perks

    Cons

    A very unstructured internship program

    Meraki2019-09-17
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Lack of transparency from leadership, becoming more like Big Brother Cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard tech perks in the Bay Area (free food, pool table, etc)

    Cons

    We've been blindsighted by lots of changes recently, including a complete change in our compensation and bonus structure (from Meraki's unique structure to one that is identical to Cisco's). There is also a hiring freeze in place but that was never discussed widely by leadership (only diffused slowly via gossip throughout the office). When I interviewed, I was told by nearly every interviewer that Meraki "isn't... like big Cisco", but this no longer seems to be the case (if not quite a lie). Recently, we've been told that "Big Brother" Cisco is forcing us to move from Gmail to Outlook (yes, a modern tech company moving to clunky Microsoft Outlook). There was quite a large backlash from engineers about it but we were told to "bring concerns up with leadership during their office hours" rather than leadership answering questions openly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be open, honest, and transparent to ICs. Don't have your interviewers lie to candidates.

    Meraki2019-07-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great work/balance and autonomy, not enough collaboration between teams and leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food/snacks at work, dogs at work, generally supportive culture, senior leadership legitimately cares about diversity and inclusion, opportunities to grow and develop are clear

    Cons

    Business units are very siloed and have their own distinct cliques, business leaders don't collaborate together well, leaders don't communicate well amongst each other, no official work from home/flexible work policy

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees more and come out with an official flexible work policy, have senior leaders go through additional development to keep working on effective communication

    Meraki2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Outdated hard-to-understand codebase and a very distracting workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's plenty of free food and snacks plus lots of events (baseball game, etc). The problems that we're solving for our customers are interesting and substantial.

    Cons

    The codebase is much older than I thought it would be and it's hard to understand how any given piece fits into the whole picture. There's a bit of every framework created in the last 15 years (jquery, angular, backbone, react, redux). Comments are sparse with some being horribly outdated. Everytime I ask someone about why this is the case, it's been shrugged off as "tech debt/a cost of doing business". There are... also a ton of distractions around the office that make it hard to focus sometimes. Plus, when you ask folks for help, they tell you they're busy and ask you to find someone else, except that they end up turning around to shop on Amazon or have a loud off-topic conversation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help enable those that want to get work done and get rid of those that don't.

    Meraki2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (13)

    "#metoo waiting to happen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meraki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, low hours if you're in Engineering or Product.

    Cons

    Frat/Bro culture, low comp. Massive turnover in Product leaving the entire company rudderless.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some women. Out of 60 people in Product, there was only one woman. It got bad enough that a large group of PMs had to start lobbying the exec team to start allowing more women through the screening process. HR pays lip service to diversity, but there's still an appalling lack of it in Engineering and Product outside of the hardware team. Between that, the bro culture, and the the sexual harassment issues, I... always thought Meraki was a #metoo story waiting to happen. Also, the head of Product left along with a bunch of senior people in Product recently, and they haven't refilled the roles or promoted internally. Not a great sign for the direction of the company

    Show More
    Meraki2019-06-14
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Recruiting Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of growth happening at Meraki. You get the benefits of Cisco, free food and drinks, many perks in the office, and for the most part, some really awesome people.

    Cons

    Horrible senior leadership, specifically the Support Recruiting Senior Leadership. Complaints are submitted, yet HR and Senior Leadership continue to not do anything....our voices are not being heard and management would rather people work with toxic leadership than take action. .

    Advice to Management

    Notice when there are major red flags. One recruiting team has had so much turnover on their team, those leaving are indicating problems with that senior leader during exit interview - actually take action when individuals are unethical, treats others horribly, and doesn’t live up to your so called values you preach. When as many people quit because they keep expressing concerns you should take action!

    Meraki2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "If you want to learn or serious about this field, then avoid it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food just like other company in the bay area

    Cons

    If you are serious about this field, I would recommend you to stay away. But if you want to have an easy life, then I would recommend you to join. Yes, I know the "responsibilities" on their website may seem very interesting. But trust me, if you have a CCNA then you are already the 50th percentile, and if you have a CCNA and a CWNA, then congrats, you will be able to handle almost everything, so you are not... going to learn anything new in Meraki. And when you work in the company for 1-2 years, your knowledge in networking will get simplified as well, then you will get stuck in this company with a very low salary (by the way, when you get "promoted" into a different team, you are NOT getting ANY raise (i.e. same base)). For the Wireshark packet analysis, the command: ip.addr == x.x.x.x will cover 90% of your daily task [please don't think this is an "analysis", it is more like if you can't figure the traffic goes because the UI suck, then you will need to take a packet capture to figure it out what is going on, there is nothing to do with the "analysis"]. The responsibilities and qualifications on the website may make you feel like are a network engineer. But in reality, you are a customer support/help desk. Just don't carry too much hope into this job, because you will get disappointed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe management should think about how to retain talented people. There are no extra points for growing headcount if talented people keep leaving the company at a rapid rate.

    Meraki2019-05-21
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time

    Pros

    Office has many great perks and amenities (free food, gym, etc.). People are all great. Product is awesome and the sales process is great for anyone looking to build and maintain relationships w/ key contacts.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Meraki2019-04-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities to grow and earn at the same time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive and positive culture, high energy, talented and passionate teammates, exciting products and technologies, big potential for career development, free food, cool office set up and location

    Cons

    The office is quite big so it's harder to know and meet everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking feedback as you do and continue empowering employees

    Meraki2018-09-29
  10. "Network Support Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Network Support Engineer Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meraki for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good People -Free Food and Drinks -Open concept work environment -Excellent Internship program; demonstrated that they really cared about the intern program -Integrated Interns with full-time staff as much as possible -Covered lodging (beautiful house) -Host town-halls to discuss Meraki progress and status -Lots of opportunity to progress within the company

    Cons

    -Lots of work for the pay - Stressful at times - Full-time Network Support Engineers only making ends meat through overtime as cost of living in San Francisco is too high. -Network Support Engineer treated inferior to other positions such as Engineering

    Advice to Management

    Solve revolving door problem by addressing employee concerns

    Meraki2018-09-25
Found 44 reviews