Mercedes-Benz International Reviews in Vance, AL | Glassdoor

Mercedes-Benz International Vance Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mercedes-Benz International CEO Dieter Zetsche
Dieter Zetsche
2 Ratings
  1. "Product Development Engineering at MBUSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Vance, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at Mercedes-Benz International for more than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding experience with the engineering (EVS) department at MBUSI. Engineering strives to eliminate any possible disappointment by the customer during the design phase, and then production and associated departments go beyond any OEM I have seen to make sure the vehicle leaving their plant is "perfect". Best vehicles I have seen in my 40+ years in the industry !!!!

    Cons

    The only "con" I have to report is it is "HOT" in the summer. Central Alabama is quite uncomfortable June -- Sept.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain your current cooperativeness between departments. You are the best in the industry --- stay that way.

    Mercedes-Benz International2015-06-06
  2. "Great place and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry in Vance, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercedes-Benz International for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The workload was very fair.

    Cons

    No opportunity to move up in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Allow people that work for NAOS to move up in the company.

    Mercedes-Benz International2019-04-07
  3. "Buyer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercedes-Benz International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and bonuses are really good.

    Cons

    If you come here plan to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the problems, don't just put a band aid on them.

    Mercedes-Benz International2018-09-16
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Zero Hope for this Company that Refuses to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercedes-Benz International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, not best in class but above average for the area Dependable job security, they typically only fire or demote as a very last resort If you're really talented at networking, you can build relationships with the few people who are still motivated to work there and through those relationships grow as a professional

    Cons

    Completely ineffective and out-of-touch leadership. The managers at the top have zero idea the conditions of the workforce they manage and, more importantly, in most cases don't care. Zero upward mobility. Zero. Unless you're part of the Good Ole Boys Club or German you will not ever make management in this company, and there are no upward mobility options except management. The worker base is completely demotivated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This organization needs a complete restart from the top down. No bandaid or small policy/organizational change will solve or even stimmy the systemic issues this company faces. Plant CEO, you are being lied to when it comes to what is being said in exit interviews vs. what you are being told. Employees who are leaving are doing so because they are extremely unhappy with the management and working conditions at your...

    Show More
    Mercedes-Benz International2018-06-22
  5. "Mechanical Engineering Co-op at MBUSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Vance, AL

    I have been working at Mercedes-Benz International for less than a year

    Pros

    Some departments are really cool and have really neat projects, but that varies greatly depending on your placement. Also a greater chance to be hired full time if you co-op. Most co-ops actually get the chance to drive a Mercedes which is really cool. I have really enjoyed my co-workers and teams that I have worked on.

    Cons

    The Co-op program is not well run. It could really be a great program in my opinion but is not managed well. Sometimes you will be placed in a department that doesn't even relate to your major (one engineering major was placed in finance). Many co-ops do not have enough work to fill their time. Projects can be hard to find in certain departments.

    Advice to Management

    Really ensure departments have a plan for their co-ops. Also actually take into consideration the feed back received from co-ops. The majority of us feel that our input does not matter and we might as well not even give any because know one cares.

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-11-29
  6. "Ramp up supporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Up Supporter in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercedes-Benz International for more than a year

    Pros

    Sap experience was great and I learned a lot about how a warehouse operates

    Cons

    The Warehouse was poorly run

    Advice to Management

    Keep more MBUSI employees in the MLC for overwatch

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-11-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sr Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Process Engineer in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercedes-Benz International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits... that's about it.

    Cons

    You are only a number... and they make sure you know it. Not a fun place to work... Holidays? Forget about them!

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance has always been an issue... maybe you should do something about it?

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-11-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not fair to some employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercedes-Benz International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    Management is a joke, favoritism runs wild in assembly

    Advice to Management

    Recognize employees for who they are, not who they know or who their family members are

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-06-21
  9. "Hire more deserving people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercedes-Benz International for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, shutdown periods are an excellent break from the hustle of the assembly line

    Cons

    You're told to be a team player, show up everyday and on time, and build the best vehicle everyday while working safely but when you do exactly that you still don't get hired on full-time.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people based on job performance and attendance. The test is a joke and doesn't prove anything about the core values stated above.

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-03-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Place for Young Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Vance, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercedes-Benz International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Good pay Good benefits

    Cons

    Work is not interesting Asked to do menial tasks that are demeaning to engineers with college degrees No growth opportunities for engineers Very negative outlook overall Not surrounded by intelligent people

    Advice to Management

    Train your new hires better. Fix your work culture by defining clear roles. Provide more opportunities for your young engineers to grow. Give menial tasks to production.

    Mercedes-Benz International2017-02-25
Found 36 reviews