Mercury General Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Mercury General CEO Gabriel Tirador
Gabriel Tirador
162 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management micro manages like your a teenager(in 24 reviews)

  • "As with all claims positions, not enough adjusters and too many claims(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mercury is a Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury General full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Always treated with respect, leadership is approachable and listens. Feels like a family, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Leadership recognizes that there are silos and is working on breaking these down

    Mercury General2020-02-21
  2. "Amazing leadership and executive leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My interview experience was amazing. I got to know my team and I knew this was the place for me. I spent over a decade at another local insurance carrier, and it was hard to start the process of leaving what I knew. I have never been so happy after taking a risk. I experienced less hesitation coming here than I did changing departments in my last organization. Everyone was genuinely trying to get to know me in the Mercury interview as well. My experience at my prior carrier was that competing managers were trying to keep you from moving ahead instead of trying to understand how you could contribute. My coworkers are some of the smartest people in the industry and I am so thankful to be here. Above all, I am so happy that the range of my skills I've developed over my career will positively contribute at Mercury. Mercury definitely has a family atmosphere and I look forward to a long career here!

    Cons

    None! My leader and executive leader exemplify the kind of leader I want to be. The Human Capital department was also amazing during the entire hiring process.

    Continue reading
    Mercury General2020-04-24
  3. "Claims specialist"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Mercury General full-time

    Pros

    Good job. Relaxing environment . Minimal supervision

    Cons

    Workload can get hectic

    Mercury General2020-04-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Brea, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercury General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    team effort among adjusters in your unit

    Cons

    Recent training does not match with the training supervisors and management received years ago

    Continue reading
    Mercury General2020-03-16
  5. "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Underwriter in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercury General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company takes care of their employees, flexible and great management in Underwriting.

    Cons

    Downside doesn't pay a lot for lower rated positions.

    Mercury General2020-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Burned Out!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Camarillo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercury General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed being around the people I worked with and for the most part we all got along well together.

    Cons

    The work flow was way too much to handle and the stress level in the office you could cut with a knife. There was a very high turnover rate.

    Mercury General2020-01-16
  7. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TL Appraiser 

    I worked at Mercury General full-time

    Pros

    Great medical insurance. Good sick and vacation time packages.

    Cons

    Company doesn't want to pay what employees are worth. To low of pay.

    Mercury General2019-12-28
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great People, Unrealistic Expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative I in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, laid-back vibe (jeans, tattoos, piercings, colored hair OK), decent benefits. Regular work hours with no mandatory over time.

    Cons

    Excessive work load for claims adjusters. Unrealistic expectations for handling the large number of claims within specific timelines. The insane flow of claims mixed with the complexity of some made it impossible to keep up on a daily basis. Miss a day or two for training, vacation, or sick time and there is no way to catch up. Customer surveys were a big focus. Anything other than a top score of 10 was unacceptable. Difficult to prevent negative survey scores with the minimal amount of time allowed to work each claim. Adjusters held responsible for poor performance of any other department that came in contact with an insured. Anyone in disagreement with a claim decision is likely to submit a low scoring survey.

    Continue reading
    Mercury General2019-11-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Real life "Office Space""

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salvage Specialist in Brea, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercury General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holiday bonus, free time.

    Cons

    If you don't suck up or know someone in management, you won't advance. Also, more than once, the vibe from male managers towards women was very creepy and inappropriate.

    Continue reading
    Mercury General2019-12-03
Found 321 reviews