Mercury New Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Mercury New Media Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mercury New Media CEO Donald Bickel
Donald Bickel
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great people and great tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Applications Developer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team at Mercury is really top notch! Everyone is smart and always willing to help each other out when problems arise. I would happily work with any of them again. Leadership is always making improvements to the tools and process that the company uses to get work done and they regularly collect and act on feedback from team members about what is and isn't working. The quarterly review process is great as... it is based on regular collection of input from people you work with on a day-to-day basis, so the feedback is timely and relevant. Mercury works with a wide range of modern technologies, which gives employees a chance to learn new things that are of interest to them. Team members are regularly given time to pursue certificates or other training that will help them in their career at Mercury.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working at a client services firm can be tricky for some people. Stellar communication, time management and multi-tasking skills are essential for success here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Mercury New Media2017-08-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A comfortable, challenging and professional workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interface Designer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mercury thrives on the foundation of delivering a fantastic well-built product to its customers. Using Agile practices and proper SCRUM, organization and time management is key in delivering promises to the client. The environment is structured yet also relaxed. Employees are given the latest tools needed to succeed and to perform at their highest level. Both partners, Chris and Don, compliment eachother perfectly... and maintain a high standard for both new hires and long tenured employees. The pay is very competitive and they do their very best to ensure their team members are happy and healthy. It is a privilege to call this my workplace day in and day out.

    Show More

    Cons

    I literall cannot thing of one con of working here. The environment is certainly challenging and developing "T-Shaped" skills is essential but that is something software developers and designers should be searching for in a career.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and keep making your employees happy.

    Mercury New Media2016-12-13

    Mercury New Media Response

    February 15, 2017Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am happy that you are finding your role at Mercury both challenging and fulfilling. Your observations regarding our team’s commitment to Agile practices are spot on. It is part of what allows us to consistently and reliably ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media

    Pros

    Skilled developers, great designers, good management and strong direction

    Cons

    If you aren't able to learn you may have a hard time succeeding at Mercury

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the high hiring standards and the expectations of your people

    Mercury New Media2016-08-19

    Mercury New Media Response

    March 2, 2017Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

  4. Helpful (5)

    "An Excellent Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Capitalist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team at Mercury New Media shows a level of cohesion and cooperation that i find to be unmatched in similar companies that I have worked for. The atmosphere and culture, while remaining serious, is fun and friendly. The team places a premium on fostering development and furthering education and celebrates achievements in these areas. Individual team members are given an opportunity to work with new... technologies, employ new skills, and take on new challenges to grow their position. Mercury also does a great job of creating great relationships with the clients they serve. The number of long time clients that they serve speaks to the companies ability to consistently deliver solutions that provide a real benefit. Mercury New Media emphasizes quality throughout all parts of the organization, encouraging and rewarding employees for performing their best work.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is some inherent chaos that comes with serving and maintaining client's applications and website where priorities can shift quickly and demands can create a certain level of pressure. This is a feature of the business that you would find at any company in this industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep placing an emphasis on people, employees and clients, and crafting quality solutions, and this company will continue to be great.

    Mercury New Media2016-04-22

    Mercury New Media Response

    November 17, 2016Partner

    Thanks so much for the kind words, we’re flattered. We will certainly heed your advice to continue our focus on the people, clients and solutions that make Mercury great!

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Professionalism at its best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt that Mercury New Media set all employees up for success by investing in training and allowing time to grow professionally. Mercury has spent a lot of time and energy investing in the implementation of best practices in every extension of the business from the development of software to HR and administration.

    Cons

    It is hard to find a con here. The work environment was friendly and professional. Perhaps more could be done to allow for the breeding of creativity.

    Advice to Management

    During my employment, the atmosphere of mentoring was a huge incentive for success. Continue taking younger professionals under the wing of the more experienced executives to continue the drive for high performance.

    Mercury New Media2015-12-28

    Mercury New Media Response

    January 6, 2017Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Some of the smartest people I have ever worked with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Web Applications Developer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at Mercury for a very long time and can honestly say that I have met some of the smartest people in the industry while being there which enabled me to grow and learn a lot as a developer and person. I especially enjoyed being able to work on some of the latest technologies as things don't tend to get stuck in the void of bureaucracy as it happens with a lot of other companies. If you are passionate and... driven you will really enjoy being part of their team.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only real challenge I had to overcome while working there was my overall Work/Life balance which can sometimes be tough to manage due to the general fast paced environment and nature of work they do.

    Advice to Management

    Continue going down the path I saw you guys taking when I left as things seemed to really be heading in a good direction!

    Mercury New Media2015-12-11

    Mercury New Media Response

    October 20, 2016Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions here. We are fortunate to have such great team members who keep the culture going and push each other to continue to grow and develop. Work/life balance means a lot to us. Your feedback shows me that we still could be making improvements ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "A good company for people who love new things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - .NET Developer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to try new things. Get to work on many different types of projects. The team is full of great people who try to support each other. Uses well implemented scrum practices to organize work. Learning and teamwork encouraged through work sponsored events.

    Cons

    Most of the cons are probably shared by most client services firms. It can be a high stress environment with competing priorities. It can be challenging to provide support for the large number of applications that are out in the field.

    Mercury New Media2015-12-10

    Mercury New Media Response

    September 26, 2016Partner

    Thanks for the review. We agree that client service firms such as ourselves can face periods of stress due to competing priorities and it can be challenging to properly support all the applications in the field – rest assured we are always thinking about ways to minimize the impact ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work. Environment is open and welcoming to creativity and education. Company offers wonderful benefit packages to their employees.

    Cons

    There really are not any cons. If I had to choose it would be that sometimes the overall work feel is very stressful. Stress is a good thing...right?

    Advice to Management

    Understand that your employees are human and mistakes are going to be made. Take time to constructively advise without tearing them down.

    Mercury New Media2015-11-05

    Mercury New Media Response

    December 12, 2016Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. I genuinely care about this company, our awesome team and our clients. The nature of our work can be stressful at times but we strive to keep a balance and ensure the stressful periods are short lived. Excellent advice, management is human too and I ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging and Fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office 365 specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mercury has some of the smartest and most creative employees I have ever worked with. The culture is built around helping each other and developing skill sets. I always had the opportunity to work on the newest technologies. Mercury also utilizes agile methodologies which makes managing clients and your workload easy. There is a constant focus on improvement professionally and personally. A great growing company to... join. The interview process was thorough and had a clear emphasis on not only technical abilities, but making sure there is a good cultural fit.

    Show More

    Cons

    Mercury has large clients, but is a relatively smaller firm making for some stressful situations because of the amount of incoming work. To their credit though, Mercury is actively recruiting and hiring to grow their team always

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing an awesome team and delivering great solutions

    Mercury New Media2018-07-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Growing and Improving Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stays on the forefront of technology. Opportunity to work on a dynamic array of current technologies, methodologies, and approaches. 100% Agile methodology with high degree of maturity in the practice. Mercury has fully embraced the distributed work force concept. We have full time fully-remote employees, and local developers typically work from home a couple days a week. Small company facilitates making... organization changes and course corrections as need be. High degree of support from leadership to try new things, run experiments, and pivot when it proves worthwhile. I'll use last comment to address head-on some of the negative feedback you see in the reviews. TBH, some of that feedback was deserved. To address these concerns, effective on 1/1/2018 Mercury restructured Tech Services and the founder removed himself from day-to-day team operations and is focused on higher level company strategy. Each scrum team is highly autonomous. The change has been significant and greatly improved the culture for everyone.

    Show More

    Cons

    One person's pro is another person's con. Some things I've observed people struggling with: The flip side to getting to work on a wide range of tech is that Mercury is not a place to be if you want to specialize on a single skillset. As a small company everyone is expected to be flexible and conversant in multiple technologies and skills. An AppDev might work on a .NET project today and a React project... tomorrow. We have 3 different CMS platforms we are actively supporting. We have App Devs and Interface Designers, but there is a grey area in the middle and the more you can reach across that gap the better. Along those same lines, each team also supports multiple clients, which requires the ability to context-switch easily. Even within a single sprint a particular team could be doing work for several clients simultaneously. Mercury is a client services firm and not a product development firm. That means sometimes clients will proscribe solutions contrary to what the dev team might have wanted. We've never had a client with an unlimited budget, so sometimes hard decisions need to be made and a "good instead of great" solution must be selected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep heading where we are going, and focusing on organizational patterns that will scale and be sustainable.

    Mercury New Media2018-07-16
Found 19 reviews