Mercury New Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Mercury New Media Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mercury New Media CEO Donald Bickel
Donald Bickel
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Why You Should Work for Mercury New Media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mercury New Media

    Pros

    * Great culture Structured but not to where there's micromanagement, and the flexibility and support is a great plus. It's motivating to be employed by someone that understands life happens, and not everything goes according to plan. We're all adults so there's no need for babysitting, get your work done and it's all good. Teamwork and morale is sky high. Teamwork makes the dream work. * Supportive senior management / personal and professional development Partners and senior management are great about giving you enough rope to challenge yourself and grow, but not enough to hang yourself. Coaching and mentoring are strongly encouraged among management and the team; there's constant opportunities for development and learning whether it's during lunch as a team, or offsite. * Accountability Mercury New Media truly functions as a team; we hold each other accountable, including management.

    Cons

    I cannot truly think of a "con" or area of improvement so far. Smaller companies tend to suffer from growing pains, and sadly there's a point where senior management pushes the pace too much where good people are burned out. I can say I've seen no evidence of that here. Mercury New Media is constantly striving for growth, but not at the expense of its most valuable asset - its people.

    Mercury New Media2016-08-11
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Challenging, rewarding, not for the feint hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time

    Pros

    Mercury is constantly looking to improve in every way, ranging from Employee conditions to the technologies that we use. Over the course of my tenure, I've been fortunate enough to have gained experience in a wealth of new and fun tech, from Power BI, to Angular, to Xamarin, to native iOS development. If you're motivated and talented, the sky is the limit at Mercury, there are no boundaries.

    Cons

    Mercury is very serious about Scrum and sprints, and if you commit to a user story, there are high expectations that it should be done. This can lead to some stress as the end of the sprint approaches.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2016-01-16

    Mercury New Media Response

    September 22, 2016Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you are finding your role at Mercury both rewarding and challenging. Your observations regarding our team’s commitment to Agile practices are spot on. It is part of what allows us to consistently and reliably ship great work. However, the cadence and team expectations to deliver on commitments can definitely be challenging at times. We will certainly continue to look for ways to improve and adopt new technologies to help our clients be more successful online.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place For Intellectually Challenging Work & Project Variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At Mercury there's always something new to work on and something new to learn -- native apps, web apps, CMS marketing websites, intranet sites, and more. There's always work to be done, so you'll never be idle. You'll always be challenged. If you work hard, you'll be rewarded. If you're passionate about development and/or design, and you have a knack at finding creative solutions to tough coding problems, you'll be at home at Mercury. The company utilizes agile/scrum processes which has greatly improved the culture of the company. Management rewards completing Microsoft certifications, which is a good incentive to keep furthering your skills. They also actively promote employees.

    Cons

    The cons are the other side of the coin for the pros -- you'll never be idle so there doesn't seem to be any time to catch your breathe, and you'll always be challenged so you always need to be on your game and at your best. It's also expected that you'll be putting in extra effort to meet or surpass expectations each sprint (or correct any missed expectations). You're also expected to estimate time for work that you've never done before or tech/languages you're not familiar with, which can be very stressful. Expect to put in extra effort outside of work learning tech/languages in order to prepare for upcoming projects and sprints.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2016-01-05

    Mercury New Media Response

    November 10, 2016Partner

    We agree that a good work/life balance is essential for all individuals, we will keep thinking of ways to improve the balance here at Mercury New Media. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to utilize current skills and learn new ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time

    Pros

    Have had the pleasure of learning Scrum, a new CRM platform, Office 365 and so much more. Technology is every changing and Mercury is on top of it! Clients seems to be continuously happy with solutions and strategies. Great team atmosphere too!

    Cons

    Probably a littl under-staffed, but it's better to be busy than bored! Not necessarily a con, but something to get used to is logging your time daily - billable vs. non-billable like a law firm.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2015-12-29

    Mercury New Media Response

    September 29, 2016Partner

    I do agree that at times we have been understaffed and adding more team members should be a priority. We’re currently and aggressively rolling out new initiatives to find talent with the same great skill levels of our current group. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and provide us feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Going from bad to worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mercury New Media full-time

    Pros

    Flexible start and end time, free drinks and snacks, free dry cleaning.

    Cons

    The abhorrent environment is the direct result of the incompetent technical boss. If there was any sort of HR focus or any shareholders involved he would be the first to be removed from the company. It feels more like a cult with an overbearing, scared adolescent in control. Meetings are mostly silent because nobody really wants to speak their minds. Innovation is inhibited because of the intense micromanagement from the boss that is scared to not be involved in everything. Huge bottlenecks are in place and only a chosen few are allowed to speak directly to clients. I suspect this is another control issue by the lack of trust by the boss. The company is in a constant state of on-boarding new employees because so many are forced out on a regular basis. The gauge of success is the amount of code outputted with much less focus placed on quality. They have many automated tests that run but they don't seem to catch the show stoppers. The community is becoming more and more aware of the incompetence of this company which makes getting and keeping quality workers harder and harder.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2017-01-23
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Human Commoditization Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible start time, a lot of very smart staff members, casual dress, top notch deployment pipelines on most projects, free drinks and decent salary. The interview process was easy along with a very basic tech screening (one of the easiest I've had in my career). It gave me a very misleading feel for what I was in really getting myself into though.

    Cons

    During my time at Mercury, I witnessed and felt the abuse first hand that is common with an organization that treats its employees like human commodities. I was unable to find any true leadership or inspiration for what I was doing each day. I am a very motivated person but the constant fear mongering and witch hunts were a constant deterrent. I witnessed a lot of hateful and vulgar language around the open office and well as some during all staff meetings that goes against their claim of being a professional environment. You will be expected to keep track of all time spent to the minute with very little understanding if you ever go over you time. The best parts of SCRUM that benefit the developers, have been removed in favor of management. There is a great void in a very crucial area of the SDLC when it comes to testing. Quality is not the driving force here, speed and quantity are. If you fail to keep up you will be driven out very quickly. I quickly found that any suggestions I provided to help limit technical debt were not appreciated. The amount of technical debt that exists is frightening and very little effort is made to keep it from continuing because of the insatiable need to “crank out code” and keeps a great amount of the focus on bug fixes. This also makes any innovation take a backseat and all learning will need to be done on your own time. I found it especially challenging to meet the demands when there was usually very little (if any) acceptance criteria provided. It is common place to be expected to give timely estimates when the acceptance criteria does not exist. If you fail to meet you estimated, you have a high probability of being publicly shamed. I do see some promise in this area but only if management delegates the authority correctly. Unfortunately I have not seen proper delegation because of the intense micromanagement that happens. Some people will thrive in an environment like this, but a lot will not. I just want to make a clear and fair assessment of my observations while employed here so you are better prepared that I was.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2017-01-05

    Mercury New Media Response

    February 15, 2017Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provided detailed comments. Our interview process is rather extensive including multiple rounds of interviews with various staff members including upper management, Product owners and senior developers. In addition, we also include various other tools throughout the interview process that can include code testing, role playing or portfolio sample requirements based on the position. After many years in business we have found that it is better for everyone involved to invest the time upfront to get to know each other and help ensure we are a good fit for one another. Although we try to be very clear regarding job expectations during the interview process, the role just isn’t the right fit for some people, and that might have been the case here. We are committed to creating a collaborative, engaging, fun but professional environment for all our team members so I am disappointed to hear how you felt about your experience. We value and consider all feedback and we are always finding ways to improve. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope that you find the environment you are looking for in your next role.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Respect yourself? Stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the employees are very talented, hard workers who appreciate their craft. It's very unfortunate that this environment doesn't allow them to utilize that passion.

    Cons

    The environment is overly micromanaged. The preach being an agile shop, but only take the parts of being agile that benefit the management team, and not the employees. You're required to report your hours down to the second, and estimate every task you're given to with very loose acceptance criteria. If you go over a task by even an hour, you will be publicly shamed. The Work/Life balance on paper looks decent, but if you ever take a sick day during a sprint, you're still required to complete the work. If not, you will get bombarded with emails trying to reel you in, instead of allowing you ample time to rest and recover. The CEO is also a very abusive individual. He belittles and publicly scolds his employees using the most offensive and unprofessional vocabulary I've ever witnessed. He is also very elusive, and will not give an employee feedback directly to his face. He will hold meetings to talk about the employee with the entire company, and circulate toxicity before even bringing up his concerns. You would assume that "bullies" didn't actually exist in a professional world, but here they are. If you enjoy working insanely long hours and getting shamed the entire time, you would fit right in.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2016-12-22
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Meat grinder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media

    Pros

    Free drinks in the fridge. The pay is decent. The co-workers are smart.

    Cons

    For my time there it was a constant slog. Within my first month I had put in my first 60 hour week; it would not be my last. Management makes delivery promises that the other team members have to keep. When mistakes are made (which is inevitable due to the pace you are pushed at) yelling is usually the "coaching" technique employed. You are brow beaten into lower quotes to appease clients. If you want a difficult job that you get yelled at for doing, by all means apply here.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2016-08-12

    Mercury New Media Response

    March 2, 2017Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry to hear your feelings regarding your experience at Mercury New Media. Client service firms such as ourselves can face periods of stress due to competing priorities and it can be challenging to properly support all the applications in the field – rest assured we are always thinking about ways to minimize the impact it has on our team members. At Mercury our employees are our most valued asset and work life balance is incredibly important to us. Both are areas we are constantly trying to improve; your feedback indicates that we may still be falling short on this at times. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mercury New Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a stringent interview process and are very selective. Coworkers are helpful and competent.

    Cons

    Very poor management and extremely high turnover rate despite their interview process. Management can be unprofessional, degrading and cruel to the staff including yelling, name-calling and purposely setting one employee against another. High stress environment; not at all what is portrayed at interview time. They expect lots of overtime including late-nights/weekends but there is mediocre compensation for what is expected.

    Continue reading
    Mercury New Media2014-05-23

    Mercury New Media Response

    September 26, 2016Partner

    First I would like to apologize for my tardy reply. I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad to hear you appreciate our interview process. After eighteen years in business we have found that it is better for everyone involved to invest the time upfront to really get to know each other and help ensure we are a good fit for one another. We are committed to creating a collaborative, engaging, fun but professional environment for all of our team members so I am disappointed to hear how you felt about your experience. We value and consider all feedback and we are always finding ways to improve. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 19 reviews