Mercury Systems Director Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mercury Systems President, CEO, and Director Mark Aslett
Mark Aslett
29 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent Opportunities

    Mar 26, 2021 - Engineering Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growing company, leading edge technologies, collaborative environment

    Cons

    Work load can be demanding

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    If you only read one review, read this one

    Sep 14, 2020 - Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovation, Collaboration, Teamwork, Recognition, Caring I’ve worked at Mercury for over 15 years. During that time, I’ve seen a seismic change in the company’s strategy, culture and focus on employees. From arrogant (we’re your only option) to customer- focused From engineering-driven to sales/marketing- driven From sink or swim response to new hires to fully supportive, comprehensive onboarding From a lack of purpose, and direction to a clearly communicated, easy-to-understand mission, vision and strategy. What does all this mean? It means that Mercury (in my opinion) is one of the BEST (if not THE best) companies to work for. The focus on strategy, business model, alignment with market trends, fiscal responsibility, sales go-to-market approach, product technology leadership is unmatched. But all of that pales in comparison to Mercury’s stewardship and reinforcement of its Culture and Values, which the entire Company tries to live by. Not just a poster on a wall. Not just lip service. The Company truly lives by these tenets. And it shows. In collaboration. Helping each other. Recognizing and rewarding success. Relentless pursuit of Innovation that Matters. Transparency and open communication from the leadership team to front-line employees. And I haven’t even touched on Mercury’s response to COVID-19 yet! Let’s just say their support of employees has been over the top. I feel safe, both from a COVID perspective AND a job security perspective. 15 years. More accomplishments (and recognition) than I can count. Why not another 15 years? Why not join us? Proud to be part of this amazing company.

    Cons

    Zero. None. Nada. Nothing. Zilch.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Confusing Patchwork of Recent Acquisitions

    Mar 4, 2021 - Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool technologies to work with -Intel CPUs & NVIDIA GPUs. Clear COTS market leader for existing technologies (iffy on future technologies). High quality co-workers. Great relationships with traditional primes.

    Cons

    Acquisition strategy is confusing. Seems like the same COTS strategy that killed SBS Technologies & GE IP a decade ago. Organic teams take forever to adopt new technologies for platforms/solutions so I can see why the acquisitions are needed to overcome the Not Invented Here strongholds. Seems like fixing the internal teams who are strongly resistant to change to be more forward thinking would be a better path. Matrix approach leads to many, many extra meetings to make simple decisions. Matrix has also caused many teams to find out other teams are doing duplicate efforts. Painful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fast-paced, great place to work

    Jan 12, 2021 - Senior Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Never a dull moment! You are always engaged in an exciting project - Great coworkers who are incredibly intelligent and motivated -Supports the US warfighter with best-in-class technologies -Great response to COVID-19 - Company clearly wants to protect employees first and foremost -Company is on a strong growth trajectory; there's nothing like the high of working for a strong growing company -Brilliant CEO and COO leading the company. They have earned my personal respect several times over. They are the secret ingredient to Mercury's success. -Strong culture and values, embodied by most of the leadership team and most employees -Great employee communication, even before COVID-19, and it's only improved as a result of COVID. -Weekly COVID testing, paid for by the company

    Cons

    Cons are minor for me in the big picture - no employer is perfect. -Not a con for me, but potential employees should be aware that this is not an environment for the faint of heart or someone who doesn't have ambition to succeed -Though I don't use it, coworkers describe frustrations and limitations of the company's ERP system that makes it difficult to accomplish business objectives -I am perplexed that some people, at all levels of the organization up to and including direct reports to the CEO, are allowed to operate in a manner inconsistent with Mercury's culture and values. Culture and value misfits need to be weeded out of the organization. I know of several employees who have tried to provide constructive feedback who were later terminated. It makes me hesitate giving feedback, to be honest.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not your typical Gov't Contractor

    Oct 7, 2020 - Senior Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mercury Exec. leadership team is unified on taking care of employees. Absolute leaders w/r/t Covid. Taking care of the staff results in taking care of the bottom line. Growth has been strategic and focused with strong due diligence on M&A to ensure continued profitability. Embraced the adaptation to truly being a government contractor whilst remaining a high tech leader and destination employer. HR team has overcome past stumbles. Those old reviews are now N/A.

    Cons

    Starting to lose some of the small company feel with addition of processes and efficiency measurements which can impede frenetic folks. Upside being, less major gaffes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mercury is a great place to work!

    Sep 29, 2020 - Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mercury really cares about the employees. The company doesn't just talk about caring, they put their money where their mouth is in really showing and acting on the welfare of employees. I'm continually wowed by the actions of senior management to ensure employees are taken care of. The level of authentic caring really promotes the employees to do the best they can and to put 100% into the work being done. This behavior has created a great partnership, it is easy to see that senior management doesn't just care about the bottom line; at all levels we have each other's backs to do the best we can for each other and for our customers.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work, which is good and bad! In acquiring many companies, there are individual processes that can be found. There is awareness to this problem and support to create global processes, it's just a matter of having the time and resources to really drive to a solution.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Fantastic Well Managed Company

    Feb 5, 2021 - Marketing Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has turned itself into a Market Leader

    Cons

    It's always difficult to manage growth but overall Mercury has done that well

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company for those with limited career aspirations

    Sep 22, 2020 - Director in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company for those with limited career aspirations. Competitive compensation and benefits. Employees have been satisfied with the response to COVID-19 and the company has been forward-leaning in this regard. Business and strategy is performing well, which is demonstrated in the stock price performance. All things considered, great place for those focused on stability where you can do the same job for 20 years and be satisfied with that. Would not recommend to younger applicants hungry for career development and looking to join an organization where they can have an impact and grow with the business.

    Cons

    - High performers are pigeonholed in roles they have outgrown, which has driven significant attrition particularly among younger, motivated employees - Limited if any career development opportunities - Limited upward mobility, new leadership roles have been filled from the outside and you can count on your hand the number of promotions from middle management to leadership roles - Senior leadership is a bit of an old boys' club - Decision-making, even on minor topics, is monopolized/concentrated at the top, which can be demotivating for middle managers looking to have an impact

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Mercury Systems Response

    Mercury Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your time and candor. At Mercury we are very focused on the development of our managers. We are currently rolling out a new leadership program that is designed to help all our leaders, from supervisors to our senior leaders, understand and emulate the integral behaviors that will make them a successful leader. This program includes a 360 review and an executive coach to provide team members with well-rounded feedback without bias. In addition, we continue to encourage all team members to provide ongoing feedback about their professional growth and development during quarterly talent talks with their manager and through our frequent engagement surveys. We hope you will take advantage of our career growth benefits. Please talk to your manager about the opportunities available to you for career development. Thank you again for your time and feedback.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good company culture

    Mar 8, 2021 - Senior Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast growing company with customer and employee focused culture. Excellent executive leadership.

    Cons

    Improvement on tools and processes are needed constantly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Making a Difference

    Sep 29, 2020 - Director of Operations in Cypress, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mercury Systems provides a very dynamic and challenging work environment which keeps the team very engaged. The company lives by the cultures and values which promote and foster a strong team environment but the most important thing for me is that I truly feel that the work we do is making a difference to protect our warfighters.

    Cons

    Just as it is a pro, the work we do is very challenging and can be stressful at times but it is very rewarding when you are able to carry a project/product to the finish.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mercury Systems Job Seekers

Manufacturing Process Engineer III
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Product Manager, Space Products
Learn About the Job

Work at Mercury Systems? Share Your Experiences

Mercury Systems logo
or