Mercury Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Mercury Systems Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Mercury Systems CEO Mark Aslett
Mark Aslett
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mercury is a fast growing company and develops industry-leading technology(in 14 reviews)

  • "Mercury has lots of great people to work with, friendly yet motivated to succeed(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management (executives) would just do things without consulting engineers(in 12 reviews)

  • "No cons- it's a fast-paced, high-tech company with opportunities for everyone to grow both personally and professionally(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Energetic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Total Rewards in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been fortunate to work for some very good companies in the past in multiple industries. However, I have not ever worked for a company that is as energetic as Mercury Systems. What makes it so energetic is that there is so much optimism about growth here starting from the top and permeating throughout the entire organization. A standing item in each discussion with senior leaders is not about how we are rewarding...

    Show More

    Cons

    Working for a company in a high growth mode can be demanding at times, however, support from leadership, a high emphasis on personal development and the importance placed on culture and values truly does make Mercury Systems a Great Place to Work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and keep this place personal. A good example of this is our CEO's presentation to new hires when he explains his start as a welder at a shipyard in England. He has grown a lot since then and employees can do the same at Mercury Systems.

    Mercury Systems2019-01-26
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Management in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly collaborative environment, very talented and experienced staff. Flexible with schedule, but do expect a lot from employees. Management team listens and values input. The company is not perfect, but they know where they are weak and proactively address issues.

    Cons

    If you want to work in isolation, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. The company is growing like a weed!

    Mercury Systems2019-07-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software De in Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a good amount of flexibility here, in some groups you can figure out a schedule that works for you and not get any flak about it. Most of your peers are supportive and genuine.

    Cons

    Despite what you'll be told int he interview process, this is far from a perfect company. It's not perfect by any means, but it's also not as bad as some of the reviewers make it out to be (at least in my group; I can't speak for other parts of the company). While most of the people were great, the group I was in was chaotic. Mercury Systems is focused on aggressive growth but they're just not properly staffed. Some...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get with the times.

    Mercury Systems2019-07-06
  4. "A place to call home if you.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Attraction Partner in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Are energetic and passionate • Want to make a difference – Mercury’s products save lives • Want to be on a team of high preforming A-players (and are an A-player yourself) • Enjoy creating processes • Want to continue your education (with help from a tuition reimbursement program and internal learning platforms) • Want to work with cutting edge technology

    Cons

    No cons- it's a fast-paced, high-tech company with opportunities for everyone to grow both personally and professionally.

    Mercury Systems2019-06-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Productive and fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Sourcer in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Encouraging, challenging and uplifting environment.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Mercury Systems2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Don’t look behind the curtain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great employees who care for one another. This doesn’t include the majority of senior leadership if it was up to them the company would have already sunk like the titanic. Meaningful work Leading edge technology

    Cons

    Leadership all the way up to the executive team talk a good game about how important Cultures and Values are but behind the curtain they are not walking the walk. They are growing fast but there are bodies left in their wake; just look at turnover. Don’t expect to be developed because no one has time they are too busy trying to meet unrealistic revenue targets. Don’t seek help from HR they don’t care and that comes...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Slow down. Stop growing so fast you are harming your employees. Executives, if you really believe in the cultures and values talk to people in the trenches. Unfortunately, I think most will be too afraid to tell you the truth. The lack of culture and values isn’t poor management, it is setting unrealistic expectations and deadlines forcing managers to push their people too hard. Put “Human” back into Human Resources

    Mercury Systems2019-06-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Mercury Systems

      Pros

      Progressive and aggressive company, pressing forward in Air domain servers and RF hardware

      Cons

      Growing very quickly, buying companies for specific components

      Advice to Management

      Don’t forget, just because they weren’t Mercury before, they are still people who may have loved and been good at the work they were doing.

      Mercury Systems2019-05-14
    • ""Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Buyer 

      I worked at Mercury Systems full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Management tries to keep up the "great place to work" image.

      Cons

      Communication could be better between Management and the Employees

      Advice to Management

      Communicate better

      Mercury Systems2019-05-14
    • Helpful (7)

      "Fast growth company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Senior Process Engineer in Camarillo, CA

        I worked at Mercury Systems full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Met a lot hardworking people

        Cons

        Company grew too fast. Quality works got compromised

        Mercury Systems2019-03-12
      • "Overall positive experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Technician 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mercury Systems full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Productive atmosphere. Freedom to work in your own style

        Cons

        None really I have had a positive experience

        Mercury Systems2019-03-11
      Found 224 reviews