Mercury Systems Engineering Co-Op Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Mercury Systems President, CEO, and Director Mark Aslett
Mark Aslett
6 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, more than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow in this Industry.

    Aug 11, 2020 - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    To start off, this position felt different than other Co-op opportunities. I was treated like a new engineer, not just a intern doing busy work (as many companies sadly do). Mercury is also exceedingly stable, bracing the current Covid-19 pandemic better than any other company I have seen. So stable in fact that they kept hiring at all levels, from Management to Manufacturing to Engineering to Interns. Business isn't going anywhere soon.

    Cons

    No cons worth mentioning currently.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Very good expereicne for Co-ops

    Oct 9, 2018 - Engineering Co-Op in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Learn alot.. give work that has real applications - Good Benefits for interns. Had a death in the family, and they really helped accommodate for personal issues that occurred. - People are very friendly are willing to help when you have questions

    Cons

    They do Involve you in meetings about their business practices, and that can be overwhelming for a co-op

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Point of view from the a co op's perspective

    Sep 19, 2018 - Engineering Co Op 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a co op you do real work a lot of chances to learn new things and expand your skill set Great work place culture in regards to the average employee

    Cons

    Disconnect from upper management, for most part it seemed like upper management (executives) would just do things without consulting engineers. To continue off that point there seems to be some cognitive dissonance in the executive staff. They all gave a great speech to the co ops and interns about how they would only work at a company whose culture and values matched their own. They then promptly fired a bunch of people with no warning and forcibly escorted them from the building, some of these people had worked for the company 10+ years and were close to requirement. I don't think that speaks very highly of what the c suite's cultures and values are. In a lot of ways this company is stuck in 90's in terms of practices when it comes to the software side of things and business practices. The co op program really needs work. It is not bad and I really liked how much freedom is given to co ops to complete their tasks. However, a co op's experience is also supposed to include continued learning beyond hard technical skills. This is a chance for students to learn how to operate in the professional world. Whether or not a student gets this experience depends entirely on who their mentor/direct supervisor is. I got very luck and was given a good balance of guidance and freedom. But other co ops seemed to get a lot less from their mentors and were in some cases, left without any help from the person that was supposed to be their mentor.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An inviting and warm community

    Jul 13, 2018 - Engineering Co-Op in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mercury is an incredibly inviting and collaborative work environment. You will meet some of the most friendly people here. I did an internship here and they were all more than happy to lend a helping hand when I needed it. The collaborative work space makes for an incredibly effective work day. Not only will you be able to get a lot done, you will enjoy the process. I was able to take on roles in fields that both me as well as my manager were interested in and deemed suitable for my position. The customization of my job, while at the same time making a difference was terrific, and that is not something every intern can say. If I can take one thing away from my experience with Mercury, I can say that I the people and culture allowed me to learn more than I ever thought imaginable in an internship.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is since I was an intern and Mercury being in the defense industry, I was certainly younger than a lot of my co workers. This did not bother me that much, but it may be worth saying. That being said there were other interns my age.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    If only it could have lasted

    Dec 4, 2012 - Engineering Co-Op in Chelmsford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic group of people; Intelligent and friendly A lot of potential and the learning never ends Good growth opportunities Competitive pay with good benefits

    Cons

    Defense industry and defense budget issues almost dictate hiring and keeping of hardworking employees. Plays things a little to conservative. A little chaotic at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An Ideal Place for New Engineers

    May 13, 2016 - Technical Co-Op in Chelmsford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mercury Systems has a fantastic engineering team that I am proud to be a part of. Plenty of Mercury engineers have been in the industry for decades, so there is no shortage of experience. The company culture reflects this older workforce. I have learned more about property, taxes, politics, and investing from Mercury employees than any other medium. From a new-employee perspective, this is the place you want to be if you want to kick-start your career. I am by no means some superstar engineer. However, the experience I have gained from working at Mercury has really filled in a lot of the gaps in my knowledge and given me confidence in my work. Even from a business perspective, Mercury is leading the industry in growth, and has only accelerated after their recent deal with Microsemi. Overall Mercury is well-prepared for the future, and they will be looking for plenty of younger engineers as well.

    Cons

    Working in the engineering group at Mercury, it feels like there is a real disconnect between management and engineering. This is probably an issue everywhere that gets swept under the rug, but it felt more prevalent at Mercury than any other companies I have worked for. There is also a lack of formal training in the company, and the little training that is available tends to be provided for managers. It's not that you won't learn new skills here, you certainly will, it's just that there's no real learning program setup for the senior engineers of the company to keep up with newer engineering tools and concepts.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Co-op Engineering

    Mar 30, 2018 - Engineering Co-Op in Hudson, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work with intelligent people

    Cons

    Cant think of anything negative

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Real Work Experience for Software Engineering Co-op

    Mar 22, 2017 - Software Engineering Co-op in Chelmsford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Coffee, Competitive Internship Compensation, Interesting Technology

    Cons

    Defense industry, favoritism, poor communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Mercury Systems Job Seekers

Manufacturing Process Engineer III
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Product Manager, Space Products
Learn About the Job

Work at Mercury Systems? Share Your Experiences

Mercury Systems logo
or