Mercury Systems Senior Principal Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mercury Systems President, CEO, and Director Mark Aslett
Mark Aslett
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rapidly growing company while putting employees first

    Mar 18, 2021 - Senior Principal Engineer in Hudson, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technology driven company seeking business growth while emphasizing employee growth.

    Cons

    Growing pains as mergers get ironed out

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Newbie at Mercury

    Oct 9, 2020 - Principal Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Upper management put people on par with profits and margins. As someone new to the company was surprised at the amount of effort put into keep people informed and aware of what was being done to address the issue. Of course the motivation is to keep production going and the cash flowing and that is understandable. But the way it is done, is not like what I have seen at other companies when the pressure is on to make book for the quarter. Ownership. If you are given the responsibility to drive a issue, program, design or part build then you have the authority to make decisions and not have it reviewed 37.375 times by management before making. Yes you still have to justify, document and let others know but the responsibility come down to you.

    Cons

    This is a smaller company and the environment will be a bit of culture shock if you are coming in from one of the primes or a large commercial company. Everyone wears several hats and if you are a 1 trick pony, it will be difficult to adjust.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Culture and Values not at this location

    Mar 5, 2021 - Principal Product Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Profitable, well managed from the top.

    Cons

    Local managment very poor while I was there, culture and values not apparent at this location, treat older employees poorly, will overwork employees as needed to meet profit goals.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Proud to Work at Mercury

    Aug 11, 2020 - Senior Principal Engineer in Oxnard, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard-working, pro-active, caring and brilliant executive management. Cultures and values support collaboration, technology re-use, idea cross pollination all of which lead to industry-leading organic growth. Mercury encourages independent thinking which sometimes leads to conflict but in a healthy manner with high respect resulting in full idea evolution. My team mates and I all have place high expectations on ourselves and on each other and are willing to back each other up. It is refreshing to work with high-caliber, bright, hardworking and innovative colleagues. Best in class for managing the pandemic. Lastly, I am proud to be a member of the team that works to make the world a safer place

    Cons

    The tasks at times can be very challenging both from a schedule perspective and technical feasibility. Sometimes my work/life balance gets out of whack

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Best company I have ever worked for in my 40 year career

    Sep 29, 2020 - Principal Marketing Programs Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All "words" are backed by "actions" from the executive level down. I am allowed to feel confident in my decisions, creativity, and I have a voice that is heard. It is very empowering to feel like a valued contributor who is appreciated and most importantly genuinely cared about in today's crazy world.

    Cons

    I wish I had joined sooner in my life, but we all have to work for other companies who don't stand up to expectations before we can find the ONE.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work place

    Sep 16, 2020 - Principal Security Engineer in Gainesville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people is what makes a great workplace. Mercury Systems is a great because of an awesome leadership team. Quote from Mark "co-worker is your family extension". I use to say same thing to my ex-workers in my previous job of over 22 years :). CEO that cares like Mark Aslett should be an example to other companies. The way Mark managed Mercury Systems during COVID-19 with his continued communication and compassion during the pandemic, is what keeps us all going. Thank you!

    Cons

    None, no cons, nothing that I can categorize as cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    One of the best

    Sep 29, 2020 - Principal Electrical Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company puts their employees first. They constantly check in with their employees and take action on the feedback received. There are endless growth opportunities. It's a very inclusive culture - we all help each other.

    Cons

    Not necessarily cons, but some things to consider: A very fast paced work environment. Must be able to jump between projects and juggle multiple things at one time. Lots of growing and shifting which comes with acquisitions of multiple companies, frequently. Lots of meetings.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Aerospace Sensor and Processing technology leader

    Oct 16, 2020 - Senior Principal Engineer in Ramseur, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting products. Competitive compensation. Management really does listen to feedback. Senior management has gone way above and beyond during the COVID-19 pandemic.

    Cons

    semi-open minimal workspace / floorplan isn't great for engineering development

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company, Fun Work, Cool Products.

    Oct 1, 2020 - Principal Firmware Engineer in Cypress, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At least from my perspective, the company treat their employees well and do a great job of looking out for our best interests. Corporate management should receive a lot of credit for the way they've treated and guided us through the pandemic, allowing for work from home, flexible work schedule, medical updates from experts, set up a fund for employees affected by Covid to tap into if they qualified for financial help, and constantly asking for feedback to get better.

    Cons

    They are growing fast and there've been some significant structural changes to local management team at Cypress. So everybody has to adapt amid the changes. However, these seems to be good changes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Employees are truly valued

    Oct 19, 2020 - Principal Technical Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Competitive salaries. Management gives you the support you need to get the job done.

    Cons

    Some expected growing pains with establishing global processes for new divisions and acquisitions...but this being focused on and is improving rapidly.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mercury Systems Job Seekers

Manufacturing Process Engineer III
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Product Manager, Space Products
Learn About the Job

Work at Mercury Systems? Share Your Experiences

Mercury Systems logo
or