Mercury Systems Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mercury Systems President, CEO, and Director Mark Aslett
Mark Aslett
330 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great response to COVID-19 - Company clearly wants to protect employees first and foremost(in 29 reviews)

  • "Growth opportunities; cutting edge technology; great people; results oriented(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very fast paced could be a Pro also(in 17 reviews)

  • "Vision and Value statement is spot on but some of the upper management do the opposite(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing company

      Oct 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Andover, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is above market, Good benefits, advancement opportunities, exemplary CEO, excellent response to COVID-19.

      Cons

      If you do not adjust to speed, you will be replaced, no questions asked. Just the nature of the culture there being that we are on hyper growth mode. Lots of clicks here. Vision and Value statement is spot on but some of the upper management do the opposite. We are just too busy to address. HR is like a revolving door, there is no consistency in their staff within the last 2-3 years. If I need something and reach out to my known contact, I find out that they no longer work at Mercury. Also, New Service Center and MERC chatbot is not up to par to what was promised but will see how it goes as it is about a year old module.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So-So

      Nov 3, 2020 - Builder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Initially some great responses to the outbreak and the care they provided.

      Cons

      Added care and benefits to on-site employees stopped while at home employees are still pampered and cozy. Once mandatory quarantine in states stopped or lessened, so did the programs and initiative to make on site employees feel better. Also, the biannual merit increase seems nice until upper management & HR lies to managers about how much their reports will get and gives everyone way less than agreed. Questionable on where the money goes as yet another company puts less attention to the builders that make the product in the first place...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Point of view from the a co op's perspective

      Sep 19, 2018 - Engineering Co Op 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a co op you do real work a lot of chances to learn new things and expand your skill set Great work place culture in regards to the average employee

      Cons

      Disconnect from upper management, for most part it seemed like upper management (executives) would just do things without consulting engineers. To continue off that point there seems to be some cognitive dissonance in the executive staff. They all gave a great speech to the co ops and interns about how they would only work at a company whose culture and values matched their own. They then promptly fired a bunch of people with no warning and forcibly escorted them from the building, some of these people had worked for the company 10+ years and were close to requirement. I don't think that speaks very highly of what the c suite's cultures and values are. In a lot of ways this company is stuck in 90's in terms of practices when it comes to the software side of things and business practices. The co op program really needs work. It is not bad and I really liked how much freedom is given to co ops to complete their tasks. However, a co op's experience is also supposed to include continued learning beyond hard technical skills. This is a chance for students to learn how to operate in the professional world. Whether or not a student gets this experience depends entirely on who their mentor/direct supervisor is. I got very luck and was given a good balance of guidance and freedom. But other co ops seemed to get a lot less from their mentors and were in some cases, left without any help from the person that was supposed to be their mentor.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Disappointing

      Dec 23, 2017 - Program Manager in Andover, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some intelligent and pleasant coworkers; small company "family" feel; good company outlook; nice facilities; solid resume builder; good benefits

      Cons

      Unprofessional "leaders" yelling at other employees during meetings causing an aggressive, hostile work environment when management's goals aren't met; micromanagement and lack of trust; lack of proper training with new software tools; unrealistic expectations from middle and upper management; salary is not competitive in A&D industry; extreme favoritism and unfair treatment is common; most employees are overworked and exhausted; and, worst of all, no one will speak up about any of these issues in fear of being fired. Good luck working here!

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Clean up the Security and Compliance Management team

      Dec 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mercury has some exceptionally talented individuals. I was privileged to work with many of them at various locations from Headquarters to different facilities across the US. My observation was that most of these people work extremely hard and pride themselves on what they do. If treated with respect they will be open to sharing.

      Cons

      The current management group heading security and compliance needs change. In my opinion, they have an extreme distrust of employees in general, choosing to believe that most are hiding activities from them or are too ignorant to know their jobs. . On a conference call I once heard one of the team members at a facility deride a shipping employee when she inferred that he was stupid and not privy to information that could enable him to have the opinion he expressed. What ? There is also a distrust of each other on their own staff, in spite of several years of attempting to appear attuned to team building at off-site boondoggles. It would behoove upper management and HR to listen closely to complaints and to look at the reason for lawsuits. An unprofessionalism exists. Director level management and others speak ill of people who have left or are in the process of leaving the company to other staff members. This should not be tolerated in any business. Some would say it's simply sour grapes, but I can say from experience that this management team is in need of overhaul and I hope it occurs for the sake of all those who do work hard at their jobs. I was specifically told by the director at one time that my choice was to "drink the kool-aid" or move on.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Mercury Systems Response

      Mercury Leadership Team

      First, thank you for sharing your experiences at Mercury. I am sorry to hear that your experiences here were anything less than positive. In the three years that I have been associated with Mercury I have not been aware of such behavior. However, we have expanded our team to include two new department managers who have joined us in the last 18 months. Both individuals have long careers in their respective fields. We continue to strive to create an environment that is collaborative, professional and respectful of others. We hold true to the Mercury cultures and values of trust, integrity and teamwork and our commitment to gender diversity, as evidenced by our recent hires. The security and export compliance teams work hard to maintain compliance in the ever increasing scope of Mercury Systems’ business, while enjoying our team environment. Although I can’t be on every call and attend every meeting within our group such behavior as you describe is not acceptable. The Security and Compliance team work closely with our Human Resource Business Partners and are transparent in our practices to the company. I would hope that any such exhibited behaviors that are not consistent with our culture and values would be called out to me, Human Resources, the executive team or site management. Mercury has published an anonymous hot line phone number and e-mail for all employees to use if they choose. You can report issues or concerns by either calling 866-277-5739; or by emailing mrcy@openboard.info. Additionally, my door is always open and I would be very interested in hearing from you so that I can look into this matter further and take action where applicable. Please feel free to call or email me at your convenience, 978-967-1716 or paul.fitzpatrick@mrcy.com. Again, thank you for your candid review. I look forward to speaking with you. Paul Fitzpatrick Director, Security and Export Compliance

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good learning experience

      Sep 9, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Chelmsford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was able to work with some great Engineers. They helped me when I needed it and I was able to help them when they needed it. I learned a lot the time I was there. When the times were good, the group I worked in felt like a second family. I ended up developing many long last friendships here.

      Cons

      Layoffs hurt as that seemed to be the first choice (rather than the last) when it comes to cost cutting. There were years that there were not any raises so it hurt financially when healthcare costs went up and your paycheck did not. Information didn't always flow from upper management to the lower ranks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      All the good people have left

      Oct 10, 2015 - Software Engineer in North Chelmsford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with cool new technology that benefits our troops and civilians, in both medical and military applications

      Cons

      Cut almost 50 percent of their workforce with no heads up. Upper management doesn't understand time constraints and winds up promising the customer the world in unreasonable amounts of time. Although you're working with cool technology, your day to day life is boring. All the competent managers have left to manage larger groups at other companies, partially due to the environment. Need more communication between hardware and software teams

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Frustrating Lately

      Jun 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers..... The people that have been at Mercury through thick and thin are wonderful. There's a constant vision of the worker bees of 'how to get this done with what we have'.

      Cons

      Constant restructuring and the sense of never getting caught up. It seems like it is harder and harder to get something accomplished from start to finish. There's always an internal roadblock. Unfortunately upper management is completely out of touch.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Selfish and Untrained Management Staff

      Dec 13, 2017 - N/A in Andover, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are great and are team players

      Cons

      Too Much Untrained Management members that are only self rewarding. There is no acknowledgement of the employees that serve their reports on a platter for their upper management meetings. No organization, duplicated efforts being made by numerous employees, no wonder why overhead is so high. Oh and if you love working in the past, this is the place, their software system is something out of the stone age.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Bleeding Talented People

      Jul 16, 2012 -  in Chelmsford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the people I worked with were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and interesting.

      Cons

      The upper management is terrible. In their strive to be cost-effective, they have laid off or driven away a good deal of talent. Constant pay and hiring freezes keep what talent is left overworked and underpaid. All engineers are spread far too thin.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mercury Systems Job Seekers

    Manufacturing Process Engineer III
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Product Manager, Space Products
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Mercury Systems? Share Your Experiences

    Mercury Systems logo
    or