Cover image for Mercy
Logo
See All Photos

Mercy

Engaged Employer

Mercy

Add a Review

Mercy Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,944 of over 2K reviews
3.6
64% Recommend to a Friend
Mercy President-CEO-Mercy Stephen Mackin
62% Approve of CEO

Found 1,946 of over 2K reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Mercy President-CEO-Mercy Stephen Mackin
Stephen Mackin
651 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Mercy~4653
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and patients appreciate you(in 164 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and patient relationships(in 120 reviews)
  • "Great people and they were very flexible with my college schedule.(in 113 reviews)
  • "Staff are great(in 39 reviews)
  • "good culture and lot's of help from most of the co(in 32 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Mercy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    Amazing

    Apr 21, 2022 - Medical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay Good benefits Good hours Everyone is very nice and helpful

    Cons

    No cons All pros Lots of moving around

    1 person found this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    We always consider it an honor to receive fivestar reviews! We’re elated to know you’re enjoying your time with Mercy. Thank you for your time and review. If you have any further feedback to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 17, 2022 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Pay Home time Flexible

    Cons

    Not really any cons. Genuinely great place to work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    We always consider it an honor to receive five-star reviews! We’re elated to know you’re enjoying your time with Mercy. Thank you for your time and review. If you have any further feedback to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

  3. Join the Mercy team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 5, 2022 - Nurse Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is pretty great and the facility is the nicest I've seen out of any hospital in the area

    Cons

    No cons other than long work shifts, but my manager will work with me and let me do half days whenever

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Dec 2, 2022 - Vice President of Operations in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture here is wonderful. We have difficult discussions, but they are productive. Everyone I work with wants the best for our coworkers and our company. I trust my teammates and want to work hard for them.

    Cons

    The workload is a lot, but it is manageable. I feel like I have support to help me succeed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wonderful and Kind Staff.

    Dec 6, 2022 - Physician in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly advanced EMR, Epic .

    Cons

    So far I have seen no downsides to working for Mercy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Mercy Management

    Nov 14, 2022 - Practice Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good health benefits, enjoyed working with the providers for Mercy, location options near home.

    Cons

    No significant annual salary increases or incentives for management/leadership. Worked well over 50 hours a week doing hourly position work and doing management work after hours, at home and on weekends. Was not able to use PTO appropriately as earned without being questioned and feeling guilty. Even though I was paid salary, I collectively was only making $11-$13 an hour with no OT pay for extra hours outside of operational hours. Poor work/life balance with relatively no incentives or bonuses, very little-no support from leadership to grow or move up in salary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    Thank you for completing a review and sharing feedback regarding your experience and perspective. If you have any further feedback to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net. Thank you!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I am overall satisfied with my position, coworkers, and manager.

    Nov 24, 2022 - Patient/Family Service Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits Pay Administration Starts the day off with prayer Continuing education ability

    Cons

    Pay Lack of communication at times Constantly changing policies Lack of compassion from some physicians with patients & families ED needs to be updated

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    We always consider it an honor to receive fivestar reviews! We’re elated to know you’re enjoying your time with Mercy. Thank you for your time and review. If you have any further feedback to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nursing at Mercy

    Oct 4, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The environment here is very warm and friendly. The managers care about the employees. I love the value driven culture, and love of Christ reflected in both the buildings and in the people. The building and grounds are lovely and the food in the cafeteria is good.

    Cons

    Nursing salaries are capped out too low, lower than the surrounding hospitals. Nurses, for the amount of knowledge, responsibility, and liability, do not make nearly enough money to compensate for the incredible stressful position we are in on a daily basis. Unfortunately we as a group tend to do this job for the love of people, which allows us to be continually undervalued by our employers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Our co-workers are one of our greatest assets and we appreciative your positive feedback and suggestions. If you have additional suggestions, please contact us via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net.

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    More cons than pros

    Oct 24, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Um it’s really hard to come up with a pro.

    Cons

    Annual merit-based raises are determined by coworker evaluations. Each employee receives an email with the names of 3 coworkers to give their unfiltered thoughts on. Most coworkers view this system as unfair and opt not to respond to the emails. However, some coworkers fill out the evaluations and can write whatever they want about said coworker. In my experience coworkers use the evals to write negative, biased feedback and this is how managers and supervisors determine your merit-based raise. Conflicts among coworkers are mismanaged. Coworkers will tattle on each other and often times the manager or house supervisor will individually confront the employee that was tattled on. Then there’s no repair of the relationship between the two coworkers in conflict. It also rewards coworkers not handling the conflict directly like mature adults.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    Thank you for completing a review! We strive to create and foster a positive and productive work environment for all Mercy co-workers, and we’re sorry to hear your experience is not meeting your expectations. If you have additional input to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net. Thank you!

  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Used to be a lot better

    Aug 19, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers become lifelong friends, mercy shifts which are bonuses for working OT can really add up

    Cons

    We now take 8 patients at night and work with as few as one PCA. This results in severely understaffed units and poor patient care and outcomes. When I started at mercy yeara ago this was not at all the standard. RNs often pick up slack from PCAs who feel undervalued and this results in even more stress on the nurse. The entire building is short staffed and not at all the friendly and inviting culture I started out in. It’s toxic most of the time and every discipline feels the crunch but it falls down hard on the bedside nurses. Day shift is way better staffed and admits are allowed to wait til shift change to come up to the floors and to come out of ICU’s which further strains the night shift nurse. No one cares and no one addresses the issue. Day shift has twice and sometimes three times as much staff. This is building wide.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Mercy Response

    Thank you for completing a review and for sharing helpful feedback regarding Mercy. Without skilled professionals like you, Mercy wouldn't be able to provide the exceptional level of care we are known for providing. Your input has been captured. If you have any additional feedback to share, please contact our team via email at mercyrecruitmentfeed@mercy.net. Thank you for your time and dedication!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,946 Reviews
</>Embed

Mercy Reviews FAQs

Mercy has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 2,029 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Mercy to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Mercy employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Mercy. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

64% of Mercy employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Mercy 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Mercy to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Mercy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mercy? Share Your Experiences

Mercy logo
or

Mercy Careers

Cover image for Mercy

The Mercy story begins at an unlikely time in an unlikely place with an unlikely woman. In 1827, our founder, Catherine McAuley, opened the...More

  • Why Join Us
  • Mission
  • Benefits
  • Diversity/Inclusion
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Mercy

197 days ago

Employee Story
Mercy nurse Ashlee Schwartz, named an official "Rad Human" by the Kelly Clarkson Show, is not alone in the rad humans who care and go above and beyond every day for our Mercy patients.
Shared image - Kelly Clarkson Deems Mercy Nurse 'Rad Human' for Helping New Dads Who Lost Wives to COVID-19 | Mercy
Kelly Clarkson Deems Mercy Nurse 'Rad Human' for Helping New Dads Who Lost Wives to COVID-19 | Mercy
www.mercy.net
See all

Mercy Photos

+ Add Photo
Mercy photo of: A legacy of care
Mercy photo of: Mercy Hospital Jefferson
Mercy photo of: Mercy Hospital Jefferson
Mercy photo of: HR
Mercy photo of: Physician
Mercy photo of: Sunset
Mercy photo of: Mercy Co-workers
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Mercy Job Seekers Also Viewed

SSM Health Logo
SSM Health

3.6

1,860 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,029 Mercy reviews submitted anonymously by Mercy employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Mercy is right for you.