Mercy Ships Reviews | Glassdoor

Mercy Ships Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Donald K. Stephens
12 Ratings
  1. "Most positive working experience of my 10+ year career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Solutions Analyst in Garden Valley, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Management that listens - Reasonable work expectations - Healthy community that actually cares - Generous vacation/matching 401k, etc. - Amazing mission/vision/culture Working at Mercy Ships has been an absolute blessing in my life. I am SO grateful that I took the risk to come all the way to Texas to work with them.

    Cons

    - Headquarters is a little off the beaten path

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Mercy Ships2019-07-16
  2. "Not a good fit for me, personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Lindale, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercy Ships full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company, never a shortage of tasks to be completed.

    Cons

    Due to rapid growth, it is often seemingly unorganized. I was barwly trained, then told months later I was doing a bunch of things wrong. Fruaterating.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to train employee's. You are losing good hard-working people.

    Mercy Ships2019-07-09
  3. "Satisfying work, but not a good fit for a recent college graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at Mercy Ships full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working on systems that benefited an international organization, and met people from around the globe during my work there. I learned about how IT can meet all levels of a business in multiple facets, which has helped me with my future work

    Cons

    There was not much movement available, vertical or horizontal, and my experience left me feeling stagnated after only a year of work. I became very proficient/efficient with the workload given to me, and when I had more time available and wanted to learn about other aspects of the IT field (such as networking or infrastructure), I was blocked and dissuaded by my manager and told that I was not allowed to learn or work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please consider giving your employees avenues for learning and growth in areas that interest them, or allotted time for professional development.

    Mercy Ships2019-06-24
  4. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Mercy Ships full-time

      Pros

      Great mission, inspiring work, adventurous

      Cons

      Leadership needs some refreshing... people sitting in jobs far too long

      Mercy Ships2018-11-20
    • "Fulfilling place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time

      Pros

      There is a shared sense of impact and purpose when working with Mercy Ships. No matter what your job is, you know that you contribute to the overall mission of bringing "hope and healing to the world's forgotten poor". In addition, there is a strong community with people who are very supportive. Professionally, this is an excellent place to push yourself and get out of your comfort zone. Finally, the diversity of the...

      Show More

      Cons

      If you are serving on the ship, it can be difficult to be away from family and your normal comforts. If you are working in one of the national offices, it can feel a bit more removed from the overall mission.

      Mercy Ships2018-08-29
    • "Life changing and world changing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Mercy Ships demonstrates remarkable integrity and innovative thinking. The right things will be done, and for the right reasons. Everyone TRULY loves both the patients we serve and the volunteers onboard who directly serve the patients. The campus in East Texas in beautiful, and is accurately called the International SUPPORT Center. That's the purpose and goal of everyone here.

      Cons

      No match on retirement. Just one, but it's a big one.

      Advice to Management

      Nonprofit pay is notoriously low-but even so, providing a generous match for retirement savings would be an amazing benefit to long term staff and would aid in retention.

      Mercy Ships2018-07-25
    • "Great on the surface, but currents under the waves are treacherous."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Procurement Coordinator in Lindale, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mercy Ships full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great mission, serving those in Africa; beautiful campus; excellent use of programs such as Atlassian's JIRA. Tasty meals served in the cafeteria.

      Cons

      Low pay for industry, even when factoring in non-profit status. Movement to new processes is given smiles but then resistance. Expect to see no adherence to industry best practices. Even things like the mail being delivered are not seen as being important.

      Advice to Management

      Remove the disparity between those whom have served on board one of the hospital ships and those that are not as deeply entrenched. Stop rewarding or encouraging employees to come to work sick. If you know an employee has been ill on the way to work and they still wish to work, find them alternative work areas so they do not spread germs to their co-workers.

      Mercy Ships2018-01-09
    • "Great Organization - Pay Rates Low"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time

      Pros

      Amazing organization that changes lives

      Cons

      Pay is below market and no match on retirement savings

      Mercy Ships2017-10-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Is Mercy Ships REALLY that different?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lindale, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time

      Pros

      An absolutely incredible place to work with an even more incredible purpose! Employees are loved and nurtured and known by name, not just by a number in the rank and file. It is great to be a part of a team working to make the world a better place for those less fortunate than ourselves. Teams work together toward a common goal - not because they are forced to do so, but because they know they are part of something much...

      Show More

      Cons

      I have found NONE - except that I waited far too long to get here!

      Advice to Management

      As Mercy Ships continues to grow, let us NEVER compromise or change the foundation/rock upon which this culture was built – a culture of true love and concern for our fellow man.

      Mercy Ships2017-09-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lifestyle choice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Lindale, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mercy Ships full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      excellent work environment and amazing support

      Cons

      Pay but it's in-line with other not for profit organizations. If pay is your driving force you will not be happy here. If making a difference is, you will.

      Mercy Ships2017-07-12
    Found 21 reviews