Meritage Homes "core values" Reviews | Glassdoor

Meritage Homes Employee Reviews about "core values"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Meritage Homes Chairman and CEO Steve Hilton
Steve Hilton
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "Meritage Homes sets the standard for energy-efficient homes(in 20 reviews)

  • "Flexible, fast pace, lives by core values(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management in the division have no business being in their roles(in 13 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about the Company(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "core values"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The interview process was smooth and the Recruiter was knowledgeable and always in communication with me. The people are what make this company great! Making the decision to work at Meritage has been one of the best moves I’ve made professionally. They live by their core values, the leadership is top notch and I can’t wait to see what the future holds!

    Cons

    No cons come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Meritage Homes2020-02-07

    Meritage Homes Response

    February 12, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for the excellent review! It’s great to see that your experience at Meritage from the beginning until now has been positive. You are absolutely correct in saying the people make the company great. We couldn’t agree more! At Meritage, we believe in fostering an inclusive environment that embraces continual growth and learning, and this happens by investing in our people. If you ever need anything, please don’t hesitate to reach out to your local HR Business Partner or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Career that you can call home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meritage has a very specific company strategy and set of core values that is at the center of every decision and sale we make. The vision is clear and every employee feels like they are apart of something bigger. The people that work here at smart, driven, and people focused. This is an excellent company to grow your career and work with people that truly care about you both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    This is a fast paced work environment that changes and evolves regularly. For those individuals that prefer a more repetitive work environment, this might not be the best fit for you.

    Meritage Homes2019-10-21

    Meritage Homes Response

    November 1, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for the fantastic review! It’s encouraging to hear that you’re enjoying the overall culture and that you support the vision of the company. We value, recognize and appreciate each other, our trade partners and our customers. This industry can be fast paced which supports our efforts in continuously and purposefully renewing, rethinking and innovating. If you ever need anything please don’t hesitate to reach out to your local HR Business Partner or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company with lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, fast pace, lives by core values

    Cons

    Occasional micromanaging, but other that none.

    Continue reading
    Meritage Homes2019-08-08

    Meritage Homes Response

    August 9, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive review. It’s great to see that you believe in our core values and enjoying your position as a Construction Manager. In our fast paced industry Meritage strives to out-work and out-play the competition. We’d like to speak with you further about your views on management and encourage you to reach out to your local HR Business Partner or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Dynamic, active culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Core Values and the Dynamic Leadership team make everyone feel valuable.

    Cons

    So far I can't identify any Cons.

    Meritage Homes2019-07-27

    Meritage Homes Response

    August 9, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive review. We’re thrilled to hear that you are seeing benefits from our core values and believe in your leadership team. If there’s anything you need please don’t hesitate to reach out to your local HR Business Partner or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Coordinator in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company many educational assistance programs. They believe in investing in the professional growth of their employees. They have a solid set of core values and recognize those who exemplify these values.

    Cons

    My only con would be commuting, but that has nothing to do with my employer.

    Continue reading
    Meritage Homes2019-06-13

    Meritage Homes Response

    June 18, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Meritage does have a strong set of core values that drive how we work together as employees and how we treat our customers and trade partners. We are happy to hear that you are taking advantage of our education assistance program and as a Company, we believe in personal growth and learning. We understand commutes and traffic can be overwhelming but appreciate your commitment to your job. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to your local HR Business Partner or HRfeedback@meritagehomes.com if you ever need anything.

    Continue reading
  6. "Working for Meritage Homes is Great!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Purcchasing in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On a typical work day at Meritage Homes you can find me engaging with our Purchasing Teams helping them Play To Win!!! I truly love helping our team members to Build Value in their day to day activities. When I can help someone in the field solve a problem or coach a Purchaisng team member through a challenging negotiation, I feel like I am Developing To Empower and creating something bigger than myself. Launching our West Region Cost Savings Initiative has been amazing. Travelling to our Divisions to launch the contest and see the passion and excitement in our teams is so rewarding. Our initial successes are alraedy producing great results and I can't wait to watch it unfold further. I really enjoy the great culture we have here at Meriatge. I get to work with many amazing people. I love what I do, and who I work with. Coming to work every day is exciting for me. Meritage Homes is defined by its strong Core Values. We don’t pick and choose when to use these values. They guide every company decision - from employer/leader relationships to how customers and trade partners are treated. Everything I do is for my family. They are why I work so hard. To provide for them, set an example for them, and to allow us to enjoy our time together. Whether it's hanging out in our camper on the river, watching The Flash on Netflix or eating dinner togther, I work hard every day at a job I love...FOR THEM!!!

    Cons

    I don't have anything of consequence that I find to be negative.

    Meritage Homes2018-12-05

    Meritage Homes Response

    December 22, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Meritage Homes. It is clear that you take our core values to heart, and we appreciate that. Your enthusiasm regarding your work is just the type of positive energy Meritage strives for within our teams, and we are pleased to share your celebration of success. Should you ever have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to your local HR Business Partner, or to HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  7. "Life. Built. Better - Homes & Careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees here are experts within their field. Expectations are specific but there is still an open mindedness to new ideas, definitely not a "it's just always been done that way" mentality. Other Pros are: + Benefits + 401k match + Competitive Salary + Growth opportunity (promote within a lot) + Clear processes + The executive team and VPs/Directors/Regional teams do a great job of communicating the company's vision, business operations and new or changing programs + Mission and Core Values are integrated into everything, they are well thought out and leadership leads by example

    Cons

    - Fairly formal atmosphere - In some aspects departments are too siloed

    Meritage Homes2018-11-29

    Meritage Homes Response

    December 22, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Meritage Homes. We are pleased that you consider our compensation, benefits, and work environment as company pros. Since Meritage is dedicated to thinking beyond the moment and solving for problems, we would be interested in hearing from you regarding departments being “siloed”. Please reach out to your local HR Business Partner, or to HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com to discuss this further.

    Continue reading
  8. "Sales Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Counselor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People, and core values

    Cons

    I really do not have any right now at all. I came from being self employed, so it is a change but all good.

    Continue reading
    Meritage Homes2018-09-24

    Meritage Homes Response

    September 27, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Meritage Homes. Being relentless in our pursuit of excellence is a value we hold close, however that should not equate to “pressure” as you mention. We would like to hear more about your experience, and encourage you to reach out to local HR Business Partner or to HRfeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meritage Homes is an innovative leader in home building industry. The foundation of our Meritage Homes culture starts with these two ideas, “Deliver the best customer experience” and “Do what you are going to do.” We not only have core values, like a lot of other companies, but each employee at Meritage Homes exemplifies and is guided by our core values; Start with Heart, Think Strategically, Integrity Above All Else, Develop to Empower, Build Value, Play to Win. I have and continue to work with a highly skilled group of professionals who are passionate about building houses and deliver high quality every day. It is a pleasure to work in an environment where I am supported by all levels of management who truly embody servant leadership.

    Cons

    N/A, None at this time!

    Meritage Homes2018-05-08

    Meritage Homes Response

    May 11, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Meritage Homes, and your commitment to our core values. Our company is fortunate to have team members, like you, who are passionate about building homes and providing the very best quality and service for our customers. Should you have any questions or concerns in the future, please feel free to reach out to your leadership team or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Collaborative, open minded, entrepreneurial, engaging, and promotes professional growth from within."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Garden, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meritage Homes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Local and executive teams have been together for a long while, fully aligned and highly supportive culture. The culture in Orlando is special, everyone supports one another and strives to excel and win. The majority of the team has been promoted from within which amplified the company’s commitment to professional growth and loyalty to its people. The company’s “Core Values” mean something deeper than words and the organization from top to bottom is committed to walking the talk.

    Cons

    We can all improve and sharpen our skill set, the biggest item to improve upon locally is more intense focus on improving overall buyer experience to elite standard.

    Continue reading
    Meritage Homes2018-01-09

    Meritage Homes Response

    March 29, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your impressive track record with Meritage homes and for sharing your thoughts. People, our most valued resource, and commitment to innovation are most definitely what sets us apart and makes your Orlando market successful. Moving forward it is indeed about reassessing customer's needs, improving the buyer experience, and renewing our commitment to the Core Values. Thank you for being part of our team. Should you have additional feedback please do not hesitate to reach out to HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com

    Continue reading
Found 14 reviews