Merkle Reviews in Columbia, MD | Glassdoor

Merkle Columbia Reviews

Updated September 25, 2017
119 reviews

Filter

Filter

Columbia, MD

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Merkle Chairman and CEO David Williams
David Williams
84 Ratings

119 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The extremely generous work-from-home policy and great benefits definitely stand out as the biggest pros (in 36 reviews)

  • Great and smart people, team work atmosphere (in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • Hard to establish work life balance (in 53 reviews)

  • Long hours due to client demands (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (5)

    "Selling culture, but it's missing something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The organization has respectable leaders in some of the highest levels that say the right things and are very transparent about where the company is in the market.

    Cons

    The technology department has poor leadership. Too much nepotism and an overstuffed management layer makes the actual workers feel like there is no way to advance and are always overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking you have all the answers just because you sit in the corner office... and remember, the people who work for you are actual people.

    Merkle Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for your review. We believe we have great leaders throughout the entire company, and we are proud that our leaders are honest and transparent about where the company stands. We provide our... More


  2. Helpful (9)

    "Use You Up and Spit You Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great client list and interesting work

    Cons

    Sales over promises clients to get the sale and then pushes operations to the breaking point and blames them when client expectations are not met

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing employees to the breaking point.

    Merkle Response

    Sep 29, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud to have the opportunity to work with some of the best clients in the world. We continue to push ourselves to deliver innovative solutions for our clients.

  3. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Columbia, MD
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people who worked hard and cared about what they did. Nice work atmosphere and office.

    Cons

    Too many hours. Little work-life balance. Constantly changing priorities made it hard to accomplish tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Set monthly goals not daily.


  4. Helpful (12)

    "Great Place to Grow; Hard Place to Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General and Administrative in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - General and Administrative in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast moving. You will learn a lot there.

    Cons

    - Very aggressive frat boy culture. Read the interview with David Williams in Smart CEO magazine or ask to read their culture books to get a very accurate picture of the culture. If the "I have no work-life balance" statements make you wince, which they probably should, consider another employer.
    - Don't get too comfortable. Whatever is their sexy shiny new object today, may be the forgotten stepchild tomorrow.

    Advice to Management

    The culture actually shouldn't be "polarizing." Have some humility and listen to others.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for your feedback. It sounds as if you did not have the best experience working here. We are very sorry to hear that and we wish you the best in your future career endeavors.


  5. Helpful (5)

    "Losing my patience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Manager in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work remotely, autonomy in your work, lots of free educational opportunities

    Cons

    Your direct managers do not work with you on your projects, so they have no clue how much or little effort you are putting in. They'd rather run you over with a bus than lose a dollar in revenue. Sometimes, management gets inspired and says that you are in charge of your career, but in reality, they tell you what account you have to work on and you have no choice but to follow their orders. There is a very strong male bias. I have literally been ignored many times by many people at every level despite the 'Women in Leadership' program in place. Unfortunately, it is only directed to women and not the condescending, gender biased managers that need the education on the matter of equality.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe this year, you can actually listen to what people are saying is wrong with the company and fix things. Short-term profit sacrifices for more quality staff will lead to long-term successes for clients. You are smarter than this. Stop doing things the hard way.

    Merkle Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is that all of our employees have a very positive experience at Merkle, and we would like to have the opportunity to address some of these concerns with you. If... More


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time

    Pros

    I don't have anything negative to say about the company as a whole. There is great leadership, beautiful office, and unlimited PTO. I really felt management wanted me to be successful.

    Cons

    The company doesn't use project management software. I really liked working for this company but did not feel connected to the team I was working on or the client.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – People Department

    Thanks for the great review! We agree that we want all our employees to have the opportunity to be successful and have a great career at Merkle. We appreciate your constructive feedback. These are... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've been at Merkle for a very long time and have had the opportunity to learn new things and be involved with clients, support projects and hold different roles. If you are someone who can take charge of what you want this is the place for you

    Cons

    Each person has to learn how to weave working at Merkle into their lives - work at Merkle will demand all your attention if you let it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eye on all the new employees who are fresh out of college. They need to learn how to advocate for themselves and coaching from their managers and project leads is a great way to make that happen

    Merkle Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for taking to the time to write such as positive review! We appreciate the advice that you have given. We love hiring recent college graduates, and in order to better invest in their growth... More

  8. "Art Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Art Director in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great clients, great challenges, great people, great environment.

    Cons

    Work can become a juggling act, which can be fun ...

    Advice to Management

    Don't realign every six–nine months. Recognize long-time workers who seem to remain behind the scenes, but are the backbone of the business.

    Merkle Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Merkle has continued to grow year after year, and with that growth comes a need continually evolve our company to support our success. While we recognize that... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Data Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Allows for good work life balance

    Cons

    It feels like their is diversity imbalance

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to grow in their career. Bring back tuition assistance. Allow more diversity


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Limited capacity to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice-President in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Vice-President in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Superior martech and adtech domain expertise. Need for service in the market place

    Cons

    Limited demand generation. Leadership that is in place won't get the company to the next growth curve. Good ole boy system with limited meritocracy.

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade your VP to EVP to new talent. Existing is comfortable and stale.

    Merkle Response

    May 19, 2017 – People Department

    Thank you for proving your feedback. We are proud of the cutting edge technology services Merkle offers, and with the recent addition of new innovations such as the M1 platform, our clients are able... More


Showing 119 of 478 reviews
Reset Filters