KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Merkle

Part of Dentsu
Is this your company?

Merkle

Add a Review

Merkle Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 1,226 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Merkle CEO Craig Dempster
Craig Dempster
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "nice colleagues & very smart people(in 84 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance is there(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Integration with dentsu means less Merkle culture more dentsu culture(in 125 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not as expected(in 97 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Merkle

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Merkle and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Paid Social Analyst

      Feb 17, 2021 - Paid Social Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Merkle offers competitive pay for entry level positions

      Cons

      In return they require long hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Long Hours, Average Pay, Unorganized Management

      Aug 18, 2021 - Digital Media Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work, lots of experience, decent pay, i need more words for pros so here you go

      Cons

      long hours, little to no training for specific clients, understaffed, extremely high turnover

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Beware

      Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, hours, work from home if needed. Great team members for the most part.

      Cons

      Poor managers who treat employees like children. The pay is not competitive to the market. The benefits are not as good as other jobs. HR is a joke when asking for help. Poor career advancement if they should pay more than they want to pay a person. Lots of work and long hours. There will be 1 or 2 team members who barely do any work but managers will act like they don’t see it while the rest of the team is overworked and under paid.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      We’re sorry you had this experience at Merkle. This sounds like it wasn’t a good fit. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Challenging, but rewarding work!

      Sep 22, 2019 - Operations in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits and perks (free coffee and snacks, Burrito Mondays!) - Office location is in a thriving area in downtown - Company promotes from the inside and truly grows and invests in its talent - Many employees come from strong background, providing a lot of knowledge and resources to the organization

      Cons

      There are many long hours on the job, so the workload can be demanding. The agency life isn't for everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are enjoying being a part of the Merkle team! We recognize that our employees work hard, so we offer a flexible vacation plan to offset extra time put in and to optimize work/life balance for everyone. We encourage employees to reach out to their Career Advocates and HR Business Partner to discuss optimal work/life balance.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Positive but stressful

      Aug 1, 2019 - Editorial Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall I had a very positive experience there. Great group of people and very flexible workplace (remote option 1-2 days/week)

      Cons

      Long hours; you never know when you'll be able to leave or log out for the day. Tight deadlines.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree that one of the best things about Merkle are the talented individuals that work here. Although our employees are not always expected to work long hours, sometimes there is a business need as we want to deliver exceptional service to each of our clients. We recognize that our employees work hard, so we offer a flexible vacation plan to offset extra time put in and to optimize work/life balance for everyone. We encourage employees to reach out to their Career Advocates and HR Business Partner to discuss optimal work/life balance.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great perks, but doesn't make up for how awful the actual work is

      Jul 10, 2019 - Senior Account Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home opportunities, unlimited paid vacation, happy hours and activities for employees, and the health insurance is great.

      Cons

      The job itself is mind-numbing, tedious, and stressful. Expect to work long hours and have more and more responsibility thrust upon you without recognition or pay raises.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      We are glad that you are enjoying the flexibility that Merkle has to offer, as we try our best to help employees maintain a healthy work/life balance. Although our employees are not expected to work long hours like you described, sometimes there is a business need as we want to deliver exceptional service to each of our clients. We advise you to reach out to your HR Business Partner and Career Advocate to discuss work/life balance as we strive to foster an open relationship between employees and their managers and want our employees to have the best experience possible.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Don't work here unless you are desperate for a job

      Mar 18, 2019 - SEM Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn new skills: SQL, Excel, etc. Meet some really great people. Young and friendly atmosphere

      Cons

      Terrible compensation plan. Entry level position salary does not match the work you are expected to. Expect to juggle multiple clients and staying long hours on more than one occasion for very little play Upward mobility is limited Abuse of power from managers Ego trip by people in management position Respect boundary can be crossed

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for your feedback. We agree that we have some really great people here at Merkle and are so glad that you recognize that. We continuously evaluate our compensation structure to ensure that we remain market relevant. Our people do work hard, but we encourage everyone to take advantage of our flexible vacation policy to help optimize work life balance. We do take your comments about abuse of power very seriously as we do not allow inappropriate behavior in the workplace. We encourage anyone who feels that way to reach out to our HR department with their concerns.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      fix your issues

      Feb 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Hagerstown, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good coworkers, very nice company outings and dinners and holiday events

      Cons

      Low pay, stressful environment, rude managers and higher personnel, worked long hours just to not get the benefits of a full time employee, issues when it came to your child being sick

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for your review. Merkle is very proud of the work our people do in our Response Management Group. The RMG group, along with the larger Merkle organization, continues to evaluate our benefits to ensure market relevancy. Regarding your comment about personnel attitudes, we expect all employees to treat everyone with respect and encourage you to reach out to Merkle's HR department.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good for entry level

      Nov 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hire straight out of college. You have access to lots of interesting clients and are surrounded by smart people.

      Cons

      Long hours, low pay, no growth opportunities. Classic agency.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for your review. We believe that we have the best clients in the industry and we have great people doing cutting edge work. We do work hard for our clients, but we do recognize the importance of employees taking time off to recharge and offer a flexible vacation plan to help our people achieve an optimal work life balance. With that, we are also committed to helping our employees grow internally with an enhanced Career Framework that provides enhanced clarity throughout their careers within Merkle.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Associate Manager

      Sep 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible PTO, great team , career development

      Cons

      Long hours sometimes, volume of work can be demanding

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      Head of Recruitment

      We are delighted to hear that you feel you work in a great team and that your role is offering good career development. We recognise that our environment is very fast paced, mainly through the nature of the projects we run and client delivery. We hope that on the flip side this offers a real challenge and a positive learning curve. We would always want to help support you in the busier times so please do pop and see your manager if you ever feel the need to talk this through.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Merkle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Merkle? Share Your Experiences

    or