KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Merkle

Part of Dentsu
Is this your company?

Merkle

Add a Review

Merkle Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 of over 1,222 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Merkle CEO Craig Dempster
Craig Dempster
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people and cutting edge technology(in 75 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance - I rarely finish later than what is required of me(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be a tough work/life balance depending on clients(in 74 reviews)

  • "Boring, long hours in front of computer screen(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Merkle

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Merkle and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Good time at merkle

      Sep 15, 2020 - Intern in Columbia, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good culture, great work life balance, fun environment

      Cons

      bad big-brothering from acquiring firm, massive size can be daunting

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Work Culture!

      Jan 16, 2021 - SEM Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are awesome, flexible vacation, and flexible schedules

      Cons

      Can be a tough work/life balance depending on clients. Since it is client work, your workload will ebb and flow and clients will often back you into a corner. That isn’t an issue with Merkle, but just the clients. Pay isn’t great based on the stress level of some clients.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Jan 10, 2021 - Data Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Work life balance, flexible PTO

      Cons

      Very little personal connection with colleagues and managers because working from home.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      review

      Dec 16, 2020 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the team has top talent

      Cons

      work / life balance is off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company - very slow to recognize good employees

      Nov 12, 2020 - Platform Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and great work/life balance

      Cons

      Based on many conversations with co-workers, many people have been here for years before any recognition (promotions and raises, etc)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good start of your carreer

      Oct 7, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good work / life balance - good benefits - nice people

      Cons

      - some people go up the ladder much faster than other - Upper Management doesn't always know how to manage - Pay is lacking

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great team, great people

      Sep 5, 2020 - Creative Director in Southfield, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible workday, organized, great processes, great positive environment, fun office, fun projects, great work/life balance

      Cons

      Lower roles pay poorly, minimal transparency, a few rogue senior people make it hard to function efficiently, some senior people are very incompetent

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good pay, no empathy

      Feb 7, 2020 - Campaign Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Salaries are good compared to their peers in the market, but they will expect you to work 45+ hours. -The other people you work with in general are talented and collaborative. -They are open to changes of careers and movement within the company. You don't have to work on the same client or in the same role forever.

      Cons

      -Work Life Balance is not something Merkle actually cares about. They will say they do, but since they put a big emphasis on profit margin they will under staff an account to improve the margin. -During the interview process it was not communicated to me that Merkle expects you to work 45+ hours a week. I negotiated my salary based on a 40 hour work week which essentially means I'm getting paid less per hour. -Somehow people who are all talk and no substance have made it into leadership positions on accounts. -The culture here can be a little on the harsh side. Meaning some folks in the company need to learn to relax. -I was told in the interview process that the "health" of the account was good. Within a month I found out that account had been out for RFP prior to my interview process and that the client was intending to leave Merkle. Not what I would call a healthy account.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for your feedback. Merkle’s culture is one of working hard because we want to deliver the best work possible for our clients. Frequently, this requires working more than 40 hours in a week to meet all of our clients’ expectations. We do offer flexible vacation to assist with work/life balance. We also recognize that working at Merkle and meeting our clients’ expectations requires a lot. You clearly take great pride in the work that you do for your clients, and we deeply appreciate that.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work

      Jan 17, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work environment, great culture and people, everyone is willing to chip in now matter what to get the job done

      Cons

      Work life balance can be overwhelming at times, but this goes along with agency life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Similar to any agency

      Jan 27, 2020 - Analyst in Burbank, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - streamlined process - training provided - work with smart people

      Cons

      - no work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Merkle Response

      HR Administrator

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree, we work with some of the best people in the business! There are seasons when our employees work incredibly hard. To help employees, we offer benefits such as flexible leave and occasional work from home opportunities to offset their hard work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 137 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Merkle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Merkle? Share Your Experiences

    or