Merlin Entertainments Rides & Attractions Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
188 Ratings
  1. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Experience 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work at and nice co workers.

    Cons

    No cons at this place.

    Merlin Entertainments2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company to Work For. So Much Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in Grapevine, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast growth within the company Great company benefits Fun company

    Cons

    Pay wasn't always great but a good company to work for

    Merlin Entertainments2020-02-01
  3. "Decent entry level job, nothing much besides that"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free tickets to Merlin Company attractions, sometimes free food, very flexible schedule, generally friendly coworkers and atmosphere

    Cons

    Very difficult to move up/limited career opportunities, company is constantly cutting corners, often repetitive work, angry customers due to company policies

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-22
  4. "Great people, fun working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Recently made the switch from financial services to entertainment industry and it has been amazing. I find it to be a positive working environment full of collaboration and teamwork. Everyone I have met from directors, to managers, to hub mates, are great fun people very knowledgeable in their fields. I am looking forward to learn and grow as an HR professional.

    Cons

    None thus far, and based on what I have learned through observations I don't foresee any.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-01
  5. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to work your way up

    Cons

    The pay could be higher

    Merlin Entertainments2019-10-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "3rd tier in the Orlando market and it's not gonna change anytime soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Winter Haven, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you get free tickets to other Merlin-owned attractions but even that is limited. compared to Disney or Universal, it's not nearly as good but still a nice perk when gets are in from out of town

    Cons

    terrible I.T. at the winter haven, florida location. laughably bad for a billion dollar huge company. I mean AWFUL. a few "sacred cows" who don't do their jobs well or have awful attitudes but the company is terrified to lose them. ALSO, notice how many recent 5 star reviews from CURRENT H.R. and Management level folks came into glassdoor. gee, almost seems like a plan to boost their poor ratings. with Disney and universal paying $15 an hour, the struggle to attract semi-competent folks is only going to get worse

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-10-24
  7. Helpful (6)

    ""We'll let you know when we find your paycheck.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Seasonal Employee in Carlsbad, CA

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for teen seasonal employees

    Cons

    Working at Legoland CA/Merlin Entertainments is okay until it’s time to be paid. If you enjoy spending multiple hours emailing and visiting different departments in an attempt to locate your paycheck, being ignored, having to check and double check the correctness of your paycheck, having your paycheck bounce, and finally receiving your paychecks up to 11 weeks late, then Legoland and Merlin Entertainments is for you. If my teen son and I had not been persistent and double checking his paychecks, he would’ve been cheated out of $741.74 (nearly 68 hours). In addition to that, once his 10 week old paycheck was finally located at Legoland and FedEx’d to him, it bounced and he incurred a bounced check fee. Despite a month’s worth of emails and phone calls, Payroll refused to take responsibility and refused to compensate him for the $12 bank fee. It took him another week, total of 11 weeks after payday, to have possession of the re-issued check. The second time he took a payday off, it took 3 weeks for the check to be located and sent to him. On his final paycheck, 7.5 hours of pay was missing. Tips: #1 - Sign up for direct deposit. You will still need to check and double check your paychecks, but hopefully that will eliminate lost checks. My son was unable to get the online system to work for him, and emails asking for help went unanswered, so it was not an option. #2 - Never ever take a payday off or fail to pick up your paycheck for longer than 24 hours. #3 - When there are discrepancies, keep on Payroll to get what is owed to you.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-04
  8. "Run like a carnival that doesn’t get the chance to leave town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Team Leader in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, the food is great, and young people can get experience as managers quite quickly if they are responsible and have a desire to grow.

    Cons

    They expect you to work as much as though you are making $100,000 salary but only pay you half of that. You are held to a high standard, but not given the tools to succeed. Middle management is good, but operates in fear for their jobs so will not stand up when the situation warrants it. Upper management takes a authoritarian, holier than thou approach most of the time and is inaccessible. They also only focus on the negative, rarely giving compliments or appreciation for a job well done but focusing on the minute detail that wasn’t perfect. This is a good place to spend a couple years and get some management experience then move into somewhere that takes running a business seriously.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-09-08
  9. "Amazing Journey!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Winter Haven, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have had an amazing journey in the last 4.5 years. I've have been led extremely well. I always know where I stand with my leaders, and have experience growth, mentoring and lasting exposure to different areas of the Company.

    Cons

    No Cons, only improvements as the company grows.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-08-13

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi! Thank you so much for your feedback, and the great advice to management. We're so glad you've enjoyed you (long) time with us!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great People, Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, work-life balance, fun environment, great people, opportunity for growth, great benefits

    Cons

    Need to review the pay for some of the highly skilled roles to compete with the industry

    Merlin Entertainments2019-08-13

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi there! Thank you very much for advice, which will be passed on. And most importantly thank you for your 4 years of service!

    Continue reading
Found 404 reviews