Merrill Lynch Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Merrill Lynch President & CEO of Bank of America Brian T. Moynihan
Brian T. Moynihan
962 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and extremely demanding teams(in 104 reviews)

  • "Do not pursue a career in wealth management if you are looking for work/life balance(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vast amount of resources Experienced Advisors to learn from Good pay Great benefits and flexibility

    Cons

    Amount of products can be overwhelming Might feel like just another number

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2019-10-11
  2. "Financial Solutions Advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, and resources

    Cons

    Don’t ask front line associates their opinion. Management often focuses on things that are a waste of time for front line associates.

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2020-03-25
  3. "Financial Advisor Development Program"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great start for someone new to the financial industry

    Cons

    Competitive environment; challenging study material for series exams (SIE, Series 7, Series 66)

    Merrill Lynch2020-05-25
  4. "Good experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Great people and big headquarters

    Cons

    In a small city so not many people

    Merrill Lynch2020-05-22
  5. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Associate in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and coworkers

    Cons

    Bad management, they dont care enough

    Merrill Lynch2020-05-19
  6. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits are great - Pay is Competitive - Management on site is Exceptional

    Cons

    - High Level management does not have a good understanding of the work environment and can be focused on some productivity metrics in the wrong way

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2020-05-18
  7. "Good Company, High Pressure Position"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Decent trainee pay -Company takes care of employees -robust resources to help deliver best results for clients

    Cons

    -High pressure, prepare to be micromanaged

    Merrill Lynch2020-05-19
  8. "Great Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Development Program in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Merrill Lynch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, supportive leadership, prepare to work hard to succeed, self motivation is crucial

    Cons

    The amount of information you need to know administratively can be overwhelming

    Merrill Lynch2020-05-19
  9. "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and great advisor support structure

    Cons

    everything was great. they have the best client service platform and best advisor support to grow your business.

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2020-05-16
  10. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merrill Lynch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and a great atmosphere

    Cons

    I can’t think of any

    Continue reading
    Merrill Lynch2020-05-14
Found 2925 reviews