Merz North America Reviews | Glassdoor

Merz North America Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Merz North America CEO Bob Rhatigan (no image)
Bob Rhatigan
11 Ratings
  1. "Merz is a Best Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits, including pet insurance and acupuncture coverage. Premiums are lowest I have seen in a long time - Lots of opportunities for development - CEOs, both local and global, provide regular business updates - Culture is great - employees are kind, collaborative, and supportive - Great location in the triangle area

    Cons

    - With a mid-size company, sometimes demands are high for small teams which can lead to longer hours.

    Merz North America2019-09-19
  2. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are the only reason many stay

    Cons

    CEO, CFO, have no clue how hard their employees work for them. To many of us care about the position we have undertaken yet management hands out candy for a Thank you and all we want is respect and to listen. Stay away from HR they are corporate people and will do nothing to assistant employee, be prepared to get fired if HR is contacted from what I have observed.

    Advice to Management

    Management would practice core values. You ask then why to we stay... its close to home, benefits are OK and we need a job. But we are all still looking and you say your responses have been the same for the past 5 yrs. " you may work hard but we don't care you are just a number".

    Merz North America2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bob Rhatigan Has Zero Care for Home Office Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO, Benefits, Location, Individual Impact On Overall Business

    Cons

    CEO has zero regard for rewarding and retaining home office employees. He’s 100% focused on making the sales team happy and that’s it.

    Advice to Management

    The sales team is WAY too needy. They’ve been hand held for too long, at the expense of the home office. Let’s teach them to be real working adults. Reward and treat the home office staff. When work loads are too thin, let’s fix it rather than going on hiring freezes. Train the regional directors on how to actually be managers, not just glorified TMs that call/email everyone because they don’t care to learn how to... manage and rather push things off on home office. Also, surprise bonuses go a LONG way for retaining overworked people. Think about that...

    Show More
    Merz North America2019-04-23
  4. "Too much change and confusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unlimited expenses, autonomy, lots of responsibility

    Cons

    Growth opportunities, transparency, equal footing for all, benefits, communication

    Advice to Management

    Have more specific policies so employees know what to expect

    Merz North America2019-04-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Racine, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance; PTO; Competitive Salary

    Cons

    some growing pains as the company transitions from Traditional Pharma to Aesthetics

    Advice to Management

    continue to pursue improvements

    Merz North America2019-01-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The "new" Allergan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merz North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Benefits. You will meet some great people through this company. When you leave, Merz will look good on your resume.

    Cons

    Merz used to be a great company but it changed once we got a new CEO. Don't let LinkedIn fool you, as a female you will be discriminated against. Many females who were in high position were fired. The evolution of sexism in the company over the last year and a half was astonishing. Turnover at one point was above 40% becasue employees were so unhappy. You will be paid well, but don't don't expect to be treated... fairly. I left because I had too much integrity in myself to stay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be honest, good, people. Your employees are more than just worker bees. Control upper management's comments and actions before a HR nightmare occurs.

    Merz North America2018-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Merz Ultherapy Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merz North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Location Nothing else, Bad company

    Cons

    Dishonest upper management Corruption in the leadership in Ultherapy Bad management Bad politics No respect No ethics High employee turn-around.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying. Treat your employees better and don't lie to them. You guys made it the worst medical device company.

    Merz North America2018-11-30
  8. "Can't wait to be hired full-time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America part-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, as well as a lot of PTO upon joining the team. My managers are very great to work with; they communicate clearly and effectively and support their team well. There is also opportunity for advancement and career exploration. New CEO has lead the company on an upward-trend, which is great for employees and customers.

    Cons

    There are always lots of projects to work on at once, which some people like and some don't. There could be more position-specific training.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with training programs for leaders and managers to ensure they know how to treat their subordinates. Keep up the good work!

    Merz North America2018-04-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merz North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Most employees are friendly. Kitchen has multiple vending machines. Generous vacations given, with holiday shutdown week in December.

    Cons

    “Poor” communication is a complement. Some directors do not know the roles of anyone in their department. Never seen as many employees bypass managers in assigning work. Very unhappy employees with no motivation. High turnover rate has a reason.

    Advice to Management

    Nobody will listen

    Merz North America2018-04-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Merz successful translation from pharma to aesthetic business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Medical Director in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merz North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Merz NA is the affiliate of a nice family owned German pharmaceutical and aesthetic company willing to become a more respected key payer on the aesthetic market behind Allergan and Ipsen. Business strrategies are straight forward and comprehesive. Colleagues are competent and helpful, contributing significantly to global R&D success of both businesses.

    Cons

    The German office gain more and more authority over the US organisation, arbitrary changes in structure and location of the office let many employees leave. This made high turnover and lack of consecutive translation of knowledge.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping autonomy within the global acting small company in a challanging environment could lead to severe attrition of cooperative intention, trying to understand motivational factors and mentality of German stakeholders helps a lot.

    Merz North America2018-01-11
Found 30 reviews