Merz Reviews | Glassdoor

Merz Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Merz CEO Philip Burchard
Philip Burchard
21 Ratings
  1. "Clinical Program Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merz full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. lots of travel. I was never bored, always a new project, Great opportunities to learn new things.

    Cons

    Tough workload and a lot of travel. Multitasking was necessary. Work life balance was tough. Benefits only ok

    Advice to Management

    Training and more education would be helpful. Felt like projects were understaffed most of the time. Leadership was in Germsny, not always on the same page with US leaders

    Merz2016-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Constant Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Merz for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and Benefits are inline with industry. Opportunities to take on new projects

    Cons

    Positions based on clique not qualifications

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evaluate the right people for the right job

    Merz2016-02-27
  3. "Internship review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Merz

    Pros

    People are genuinely nice and happy to network.

    Cons

    Not much work gets done during the day.

    Merz2016-02-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Merz North America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merz full-time

    Pros

    Good Salary New technology former management was great

    Cons

    Bad senior management a lot of waste unskilled middle management poor decision making promote hostile work environment no respect for employees

    Advice to Management

    Current management has no clue on how to manage product growth or people. They're more willing to get rid of seasoned employees and replace them with dreamers that have no clue on how to forge proper business relationships.

    Merz2016-02-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Co. Operating as Mom & Pop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Merz full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are great to work with and company is growing.

    Cons

    Lack of direction and manual processes.

    Merz2016-01-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Merz full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good vacation time, good money

    Cons

    Tenure not valued, Shoot, Ready, Aim mentality. Sales reps outmanned by competition in the field by at least 3/1

    Advice to Management

    Stop the corporate speak and really listen to the reps.

    Merz2015-08-14
  7. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Merz for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including 4 week vacation and medical and dental is offered to all employees. It is definitely a European company.

    Cons

    A culture of "passing the buck"

    Merz2015-08-13
  8. "Good Products, Tough Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Merz full-time

    Pros

    Merz has a lot of good, interesting products across the board in medical aesthetics. There are some quite talented, dedicated folks with good ideas and intentions. Really good training staff.

    Cons

    With lots of company acquisitions and leadership changes, it's easy to get lost in the fray. The momentum changes with staffing changes. There have been big culture change, not necessarily a negative, once the HQ moved from the US to Germany.

    Advice to Management

    Develop employees who have demonstrated impact and potential. Advancement can seem linked more to loyalty and personal favor than to results. When you wipe out entire teams, you lose a lot of institutional history and can often repeat mistakes -- so learning opportunities are diminished.

    Merz2015-08-03
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Went down hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people salary and vision . Very good atmosphere and good place to work. I enjoyed working there for four years and learned a lot. We had a very diverse group of people and a lot of fresh ideas.

    Cons

    New leadership changed the company into big pharmaceutical and made it into a place I didn't want to wake up in the morning for.

    Advice to Management

    Wouldn't work there

    Merz2015-07-21
  10. "Extremely rewarding but very stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Merz

    Pros

    Great pay if goals are met Great co-workers

    Cons

    pay structure changes extremely high sales goals not a lot of room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the good old boys club, keep and hire employees based on talent not the fact that you have worked with them in the past.

    Merz2015-04-29
Found 74 reviews
</>Embed