Metabolic Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Metabolic Research Center Reviews

Updated April 26, 2018
56 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Soileau
28 Ratings

56 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Deeply satisfying job helping people get healthy (in 9 reviews)

  • I have worked across the board from weight loss specialist, manager, admin, it, executive assistant exc (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • No benefits; long hours; weekend work (in 6 reviews)

  • Low pay, high pressure, and no community feel (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Not just a Job..Loving what you do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loving what you do, being able to use problem solving skills, owning your own success, weekly training and education, management is open to out of the box ideas and creativity, using motivating techniques and celebrations of success daily; flexible scheduling, benefits, Holiday and PTO days

    Cons

    No 401K or financial options available

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and thank you for using your talents and skills to help our clients be successful. Owning your success is key to loving your job.


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time

    Pros

    Nothing. This place is a joke of a job.

    Cons

    Promise of a management position, great pay, etc. After 2 months, I was demoted to bring in someone "peppier". Not only that, the area manager decided to write about how I "didn't consult a customer correctly" and the customer saw it and called me out. I was humiliated. My pay was so low, I was evicted from my apartment. Don't buy into this load of crap. The place is run by a bunch of immature idiots that don't know anything about actually running a business.

    Advice to Management

    Look out for your employees and set the jealously and drama aside.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We are always open to constructive feedback so that we can improve our employee and client's experience. We may not always get it right but we appreciate you... More

  3. "Too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Volusia, FL
    Former Employee - Manager in Volusia, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great weight loss program overall. Easy to sell if they would advertise. we get blamed for low traffic.

    Cons

    Abusive managment, ridiculous expectations, no advertising

    Advice to Management

    National ad campaign, and GET CUSTOMERS in the door. We will do the rest. Don't expect us to do your job.


  4. "center manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Center Manager
    Current Employee - Center Manager
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    wonderful company very self fulfilling

    Cons

    salary is a lot of hours

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Apr 10, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for 5 years of dedication to MRC. Sometimes the long are are a challenge, however the satisfaction and fulfillment in helping our clients achieve their goals is the reward.


  5. "Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Manager in Brunswick, GA
    Current Employee - Center Manager in Brunswick, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The feelings you get when you have changed someone's life and have helped to make them healthier.

    Cons

    It is a business so the admin side of work!

    Advice to Management

    More Training

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 9, 2018 – Director Digital Strategy

    Yes, we agree, the feeling you get when you help change someone's life is irreplaceable! Thank you for your review.


  6. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver Junction, WA
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver Junction, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was able to grow into a management position just 6 months after starting as a Weight Loss Specialist. I loved being able to work with people and help them reach their goal weight, but also working for a company that supports personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    Worked a lot of hours, but I know that what I put in - paid off.

    Advice to Management

    Always have open communication by setting clear expectations and follow through. Train, train, train as that is what allowed me to grow and develop into my new role. Had to leave as my husband was transferred, open more locations so I can back to work.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Yes, personal and professional growth and development is a huge part of Metabolic and we are glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will be able to come back to... More


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love working for MRC because it is the only place you can go home at the end of the day where you know you have made a difference in someones life. It is also very positive and fun place to work. We are always working on bettering ourselves so we can grow individually and so that we can help our clients. I fell in love with this company 2 years ago and I cant see myself anywhere else!

    Cons

    We are the only center in Idaho but that is changing soon!

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 9, 2018 – Director Digital Strategy

    We are so pleased to hear that after 2 years you still go home knowing you made a difference! It is such a pleasure to know that as be help to improve the lives of our clients we are bettering our... More

  8. "Love MRC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eugene, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for MRC for almost 8 years. I have worked across the board from weight loss specialist, manager, admin, it, executive assistant exc. I have loved every minute of it! The clients, my coworkers, and my superiors.

    Cons

    It is difficult dealing with co workers who do not like coming to work.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Congratulations on 8 years of dedication! Hearing that you love every minute of it is thrilling. We understand the challenge of working with others, please communicate your concern with your... More


  9. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Savannah, GA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Metabolic for 27 years. I love the people that I work beside. I love being a part of something larger that makes a difference in peoples lives. Every day is different. I get to interact with a variety of people. I'm learning all the time. I am allowed to grow and show my potential. I couldn't imagine doing anything else. I love Metabolic. Metabolic is Family.

    Cons

    I work many hours-it worth what I put in.

    Advice to Management

    Set clear goals and standards for your team. Be honest to yourself and your team. Address things immediately with your employees. Treat people with respect and compassion. Give positive feedback, make sure it is sincere. Love what you do.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    WOW!! Congratulations on 27 years . Metabolic truly is family. Thank you for your advice, we are always open to ideas and suggestions as to how we can better support our team members.


  10. "Changing Lives Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Every day I get to be a part of helping people get healthy. This job is so rewarding and empowering. Fun environment that supports wellness and clients get results, quickly

    Cons

    Sometimes it is hard when you want the client to succeed more than they do, we have to be motivators all day and even though that can be tiring, it is still rewarding.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and feedback! Helping our clients get healthy is rewarding and yes, we can want it for them more than they sometimes want it. Keep motivating and inspiring each client to... More


Showing 56 of 56 reviews
Reset Filters