Metabolic Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Metabolic Research Center Reviews

Updated July 26, 2018
59 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Soileau
29 Ratings

59 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "No benefits; long hours; weekend work" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Low pay, high pressure, and no community feel" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "LOVE What I Do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Manager in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    As an employee of this company for over 10 years, I've been able to experience many great opportunities with this company. From starting as a consultant straight out of college to becoming a manager, being able to travel to other centers and personal development. I love being able to help transform our clients lives and share my knowledge I've learned from school and MRC. My staff and I love to have fun and celebrate with our clients (showering them with confetti) and cheerleading them on!

    Cons

    Dealing with employees that don't have the passion and are there just for a paycheck.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Over 10 years with MRC, thank you for your dedication and commitment we appreciate you! Yes helping our clients transform and ensuring they have a great experience is so rewarding. We agree an... More


  2. "Horrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant
    Current Employee - Weight Loss Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, meeting customers

    Cons

    Pay is horrible (average $12/hr), manager takes all walk ins and sales, long hours spent harassing people to come in, high pressure sales, products are overpriced and horrible- loaded with fake sugar and chemicals. The diet is also bad and not balanced for lifestyle changes at all. Medical programs are gross, really Phentermine and pumping in pregnancy hormones? How is that healthy??
    Finally very high turnover rate of any company I’ve ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    News flash- you make a salary and we make pretty close to minimum wage don’t steal all the sales. Try leaning about nutrition. Stop making us harass people nonstop to get YOU sales.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for providing your feedback. If you have not addressed the pay and sales issue with your supervisor, please do so as soon as possible.

    Our programs, products, and services are... More

  3. "Executive Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for the company for 8 years. I have been in nearly every position there is for this company. They do expect a lot out of their employees but the amount of growth I have made throughout my time here is astronomical. Each region is different but my region is excellently driven by our supervisor. The program is great and unbeatable.

    Cons

    Employees not wanting to do their job. Complaining about hours even though they were hired under those pretenses.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    May 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for 8 years of dedication! It is so rewarding to hear about your growth as a person while working at MRC. We take pride in the personal growth and development we strive to provide. Thank... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Former Employee - Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Potential to make a lot of money, most (not all) of the people are good to work with, you sell weight loss- so pretty simple from a surface level.

    Cons

    Reality is it's a stressful environment when you arent selling enough. Management and upper Corp only cares about sales at the end of the day. People come to you vulnerable and they get taken advantage of. Horrible supervisor created tension and girl-on-girl hate competition between staff, was eventually fired and replaced by a good supervisor, but later on rehired. Company lacks integrity. Supplements are bs for the most part. The health and wellness supps are good, the weight loss ones are a complete lie. Work place becomes a competitive, sales driven heartless industry where coworkers are stepping on each other to make an extra 5% off a sale. Lack of training with truth, they train you with how to manipulate clients and make them believe the lie. Plus, most clients who come dont really want to do what it takes to lose weight they are just there to pay for products that make them think they are getting thinner and to have someone to talk to about their life without paying for a shrink. So many adult whiny babies that cant really get their life together. If you have a knowledge base in nutrition, you'll quickly see through the Vail of health they claim the program is. And when it comes down to it, as an employee you just feel guilty for taking these people's money, unless you simply dont care- which a lot of the employees dont, they just want to make a sale off people's insecurities. I made some good friendships out of it with a handful of coworkers, but as a manager of the center I saw too much that made me sick. I dreaded working there each day and was actively looking for other work from the beginning. If you need to make money quick, go for it. But dont plan on being their long. Work life balance is a joke with this company. Poor experience, but you learn from your mistakes.

    Advice to Management

    Stop paying your employees a commission off sales. Pay a salary for all employees and offer quarterly bonuses for sales success. That way it ensures your employees are caring enough about the clients to not trick them for every dollar they spend. Truly educate your company on nutrition before any employee hits the floor. Be transparent about your products, stop promoting health when all your products have fake ingredients in them. When a person of power is abusing dont send them to time out only to put them back in. Fire them permanently. You lose credibility with the rest of the staff.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    May 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and opinions of employment with MRC. We feel employee insight is invaluable and important for both educating potential employees and for helping... More


  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time

    Pros

    Nothing. This place is a joke of a job.

    Cons

    Promise of a management position, great pay, etc. After 2 months, I was demoted to bring in someone "peppier". Not only that, the area manager decided to write about how I "didn't consult a customer correctly" and the customer saw it and called me out. I was humiliated. My pay was so low, I was evicted from my apartment. Don't buy into this load of crap. The place is run by a bunch of immature idiots that don't know anything about actually running a business.

    Advice to Management

    Look out for your employees and set the jealously and drama aside.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We are always open to constructive feedback so that we can improve our employee and client's experience. We may not always get it right but we appreciate you... More


  6. "Too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Volusia, FL
    Former Employee - Manager in Volusia, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great weight loss program overall. Easy to sell if they would advertise. we get blamed for low traffic.

    Cons

    Abusive managment, ridiculous expectations, no advertising

    Advice to Management

    National ad campaign, and GET CUSTOMERS in the door. We will do the rest. Don't expect us to do your job.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Jul 6, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Yes, we agree our weight loss program is great. In most locations advertising is minimal due to majority of our new clients coming from... More


  7. "center manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Center Manager
    Current Employee - Center Manager
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    wonderful company very self fulfilling

    Cons

    salary is a lot of hours

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Apr 10, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for 5 years of dedication to MRC. Sometimes the long are are a challenge, however the satisfaction and fulfillment in helping our clients achieve their goals is the reward.

  8. "Not just a Job..Loving what you do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loving what you do, being able to use problem solving skills, owning your own success, weekly training and education, management is open to out of the box ideas and creativity, using motivating techniques and celebrations of success daily; flexible scheduling, benefits, Holiday and PTO days

    Cons

    No 401K or financial options available

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and thank you for using your talents and skills to help our clients be successful. Owning your success is key to loving your job.


  9. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Savannah, GA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Metabolic for 27 years. I love the people that I work beside. I love being a part of something larger that makes a difference in peoples lives. Every day is different. I get to interact with a variety of people. I'm learning all the time. I am allowed to grow and show my potential. I couldn't imagine doing anything else. I love Metabolic. Metabolic is Family.

    Cons

    I work many hours-it worth what I put in.

    Advice to Management

    Set clear goals and standards for your team. Be honest to yourself and your team. Address things immediately with your employees. Treat people with respect and compassion. Give positive feedback, make sure it is sincere. Love what you do.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    WOW!! Congratulations on 27 years . Metabolic truly is family. Thank you for your advice, we are always open to ideas and suggestions as to how we can better support our team members.


  10. "Changing Lives Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metabolic Research Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Every day I get to be a part of helping people get healthy. This job is so rewarding and empowering. Fun environment that supports wellness and clients get results, quickly

    Cons

    Sometimes it is hard when you want the client to succeed more than they do, we have to be motivators all day and even though that can be tiring, it is still rewarding.

    Metabolic Research Center Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Supervisor

    Thank you for your review and feedback! Helping our clients get healthy is rewarding and yes, we can want it for them more than they sometimes want it. Keep motivating and inspiring each client to... More


Showing 59 of 59 reviews
Reset Filters