Metal Building Components Reviews | Glassdoor

Metal Building Components Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Norm Chambers
5 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metal Building Components full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Keep your sick leave for ever.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Metal Building Components2017-10-12
  2. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Metal Building Components full-time

    Pros

    -Some of the management team was nice -Competitive Pay

    Cons

    -will lay you off instantly without giving you a heads-up -had a lot of company politics/drama esp with digital marketing team

    Metal Building Components2018-11-12
  3. "Micro-manage! Lead by intimidation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Southeast Owasco, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metal Building Components full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inside employees work hard and are supportive. Good vehicle reimbursement for travel. Insurance was pretty good but I understand it got bad in 2017 and no one was told it was going to change.

    Cons

    Sales management has no say-so anymore. They demand your days and your nights. Highly unreasonable quarterly requirements topped with sales budgets that are ridiculous. They beat you down - very cocky approach to managing people. It’s ALWAYS the fault of the salesman, no matter what. NEVER will you be told “good job” no matter how well you’re doing.. they will always focus on what you could be doing better.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up to YOUR management and back the salesman for a change.

    Metal Building Components2018-01-19
  4. "Learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metal Building Components

    Pros

    The core group of people is the only positive. They do strive to do the best job they can.

    Cons

    Changes. It's very top-heavy. Limits what you can do at the satellite locations. Cutting staff that do their job and has been their for 20+ years.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing that will change their mind

    Metal Building Components2017-07-07
  5. "Great place if you desperately need a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metal Building Components full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits and overtime is available. Good place if you want to learn about the metal industry if you have no experience.

    Cons

    Management does not like to promote within. Work conditions are rough and not for the weak hearted. Management does not like to listen to their employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and promote within.

    Metal Building Components2017-06-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Inside Sales positions with MBCI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Coordinator in Hernando, MS
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metal Building Components full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MBCI has a strong focus on training and keeping their sales personnel well informed and expert with their products and industry. I learned more about metal roofing and components here than I ever imagined. They provide excellent opportunities for growth and entry into the industry. It is without question the best FIRST job one could have in the steel building components industry. The benefits are excellent and the...

    Show More

    Cons

    MBCI wants to own its employees. If your priority isn't company before all else (and yes, I mean your spouse, children, and sainted mother hold a lower position to your job). This lends itself to a culture that tends to view employees somewhat mechanistically. You are a cog in a machine and it is never left to your imagination that you are replaceable. They truly hate giving raises that are worth receiving. In four...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more generous with raises, and focus on retention. Tremendous resources are focused on training, this is excellent, match those efforts with attempts to retain veterans and decrease work stresses.

    Metal Building Components2017-03-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shelbyville, IN

      I worked at Metal Building Components for less than a year

      Pros

      There were no pros about working for this company

      Cons

      Management doesn't care about employees

      Metal Building Components2016-08-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Unprofessional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Metal Building Components for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay is good especially with overtime. Oppurtunity to travel and advance. Good way to make a life for yourself.

      Cons

      In the factory, lots of unprofessionalism. Also very hard to manage any kind of schooling or even really have a life with this job.

      Advice to Management

      Look out for the "tough guy" mantra. It is counterproductive to efficient and safe work.

      Metal Building Components2016-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sr. Electronics Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Electronic Technician in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Metal Building Components full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The camaraderie was quite nice. Being part of the manufacturing / Technical section we traveled when necessary and was paid quite nicely.

      Cons

      There was some travel that was required.

      Metal Building Components2016-02-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "Ugh....."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Metal Building Components for more than a year

      Pros

      Well, they're big.?.?.?... The biggest...

      Cons

      TOXIC culture. Going to work here is like traveling back in time.

      Metal Building Components2016-01-26
    Found 20 reviews