Metal Sales Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Metal Sales Manufacturing Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Metal Sales Manufacturing CEO Craig L. Mackin
Craig L. Mackin
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "I used to wake up and like goin to work when I worked here it's just a good hard fast paced job with good people working I miss this job(in 8 reviews)

  • "It was close to home and the pay was okay(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Jacksonville Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, Benefits, Bonus. Its a good environment for employee getting a long and working together as a team, This branch have change a lot since I started working there, its all about creating a new culture to improve and be successful, Communication is the key to success . There's lot of opportunity to grow and be best of what you do. Thanks Metal Sales for giving me the opportunity to be part of your family and team.

    Cons

    Not I cant think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, your are doing an awesome job!

    Metal Sales Manufacturing2019-01-15
  2. "Have to take the good with the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good Hours, nights and weekends off. GM has my back when needed. Good work environment for the most part. Bonuses and special occasion surprises.

    Cons

    Some employees have no common sense and have been doing their job(s) for years but still have no clue what they are doing, they don't know how to talk to people, and they do not elevate the team around them.

    Advice to Management

    When you spot a bad apple, pluck it quickly. It will cause the people around them to become bad apples or have the good ones dread coming to work and having to deal with THAT bad apple.

    Metal Sales Manufacturing2019-01-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "More Poor Management Decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They are less and less

    Cons

    Can't hire qualified, educated Managers because company has poor reputation in the industry. Again, phasing out seasoned employees who helped make company what it is today. No loyalty. Hired another female in a GM role. One was bad enough in the South and unfortunately, she too is unqualified, petty, and gives women managers a bad rep. So sad to see the steady decline to company because of poor management.

    Advice to Management

    May be too late to stop the bleeding.

    Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-12-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Think Twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time

      Pros

      Good product and a variety of styles and colors.

      Cons

      Poor management and large work load.

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-10-02
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work environment, pay, benefits, advancement, overall outlook

      Cons

      Can't think of any at this time

      Advice to Management

      Keep on keeping on

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-07-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Bunch of Dirtbags STAY AWAY!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Packaging in Fontana, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Early shift so not working in the heat of the day. Most of the low level employees are great people however it gets cliquey and one can get pushed out if you don't speak spanish

      Cons

      The management are undisciplined and most are brand new. They are phasing out seasoned employees of over 15-20 years for people they used to work with. Mainly by demoting their pay rate and making them preform the same job plus some to make them quit. As for low level employees: When I started I was told the hours were 5am-130pm. Immediately on my first day, I was told that is never the hours and that they are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      YOUR EMPLOYEES ARE PEOPLE

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-06-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time

      Pros

      Plenty of work, pay was good, recognized name in the industry

      Cons

      unorganized, no communication from top, figure it out yourself mentality, 401K matching after 2 years of employment...IF owners feel they have made enough money that year

      Advice to Management

      Put systems and organization in place.

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-03-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wouldn't go back"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sellersburg, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers were great. A lot of potential for future careers in the industry and opportunity for advancement due to turnover.

      Cons

      Promises not kept, benefits not very good, excessive management turnover, training is subpar at best. I was skeptical that the reviews from past employees were accurate before taking the job, but they are pretty spot on.

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2018-01-31
    • "Loved this job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shipping/Receiving in Spokane, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I used to wake up and like goin to work when I worked here it's just a good hard fast paced job with good people working I miss this job

      Cons

      Well they got ridif the only bad reason to work there although it was a little to late for me cause he got his way and got me terminated

      Advice to Management

      To bring me back on in shipping receiving I miss my job and would love to come back even though it's been years I still know everything I used too

      Metal Sales Manufacturing2017-10-23
    • Helpful (5)

      "Southern Region is the Worst, Run don't Walk!!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Metal Sales Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        No one has collapsed from a stroke or heart attack yet due to excessive stress

        Cons

        Impossible to work for people who don't care if you make money; only interested if you are following "proper policies and procedures". Then what were we doing?!!! Embarrassing and maddening to work hard only to be at the bottom of the barrel due to poor decisions made by regional mgmt. You will be micro managed to death, stressed beyond belief, no balance between work and home life. Verbally abused, yet who will...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Remove unneeded layer of mgmt. It's not working!!!! Do you see profits???

        Metal Sales Manufacturing2017-09-16
      Found 75 reviews