Method Studios Reviews | Glassdoor

Method Studios Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Ed Ulbrich
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Even for the industry, the overtime and lack of work/life balance is very bad(in 9 reviews)

  • "some long hours, some pipeline issues nothing too serious(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great projects, good people, good memories

    Cons

    pay was a bit lower than normal rate and hard to change - short bookings

    Method Studios2017-03-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Seriously consider your options before applying here and if you do get everything in writing first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Modeler in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    People are friendly The artists who are there are very knowledgeable Free coffee and cereal/ bagels in the mornings Work can be interesting... although not recently with all the recent rounds of layoffs. Benefits for staff if you can get it.

    Cons

    Upper management is horrible. They don’t understand what they are requesting of artists most of the time or the timing required to complete the assigned tasks. When Artists are asked to give eta’s they disregard entirely. People are friendly but only because it’s a corporate environment. You’re not supposed to show emotion. When a ridiculous request comes through last minute (Which happens most weeks, especially around...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to care for your employees and don’t repeatedly lie to them.

    Method Studios2019-04-24
  3. "Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good artists, free coffee, nah.

    Cons

    Management team is a joke. CEO CTO etc.

    Method Studios2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It's a Corporation, Not a Boutique."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    - Free breakfast, if you're early - Charming individuals - Complimentary dinner for overtime workers - Good parties

    Cons

    - Very corporate - A lot of lip service and lies from higher ups - Layoffs - No upward growth for staff - Even for the industry, the overtime and lack of work/life balance is very bad

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Method Studios2019-01-27
  5. "Nice and Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Great people and most are often willing to help

    Cons

    No overtime for staff positions

    Method Studios2018-12-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Method EXP was the worst experience of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interactive Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are some talented and professional artists working there.

    Cons

    I produced the worst product of my career with the worst lead I've ever had. Working on VR and having CG supervisors absolutely clueless as to how to produce interactive content may not be so bad if they actually listened to the people they hired who do. But no, they are know it all's, in fear of losing their status as the studio alphas. Working in the game industry I found my leads and teammates to be supportive and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either hire experienced interactive producers and directors to run your interactive projects or get out of the business.

    Method Studios2018-07-25
  7. "Incredible Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Working with 'hands down' some of the best CG talent in the industry. Very well laid out pipeline, with heavy emphasis on overall structure. Well oiled machine.

    Cons

    Bit of a corporate vibe, can be overwhelmingly at certain points.

    Advice to Management

    Create more social events both inside and outside of company walls.

    Method Studios2018-05-21
  8. "good studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    amazingly talented people and get to work on good projects

    Cons

    management could use some help

    Method Studios2017-10-06
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    - fully stocked bathrooms - big name projects

    Cons

    - non-existent work-life balance - overcrowded artist rooms - low level production/artists/support staff treated like disposable commodities - unrealistic demands coming from management, constantly

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees the way you treat your clients.

    Method Studios2017-09-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "FX TD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Method Studios full-time

      Pros

      cool project and talented artist

      Cons

      render farm software is not good enough

      Method Studios2017-04-10
    Found 72 reviews