Metro Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Deli Clerk

Metro Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Metro CEO Eric Richer La Flèche
Eric Richer La Flèche
4 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing teams are hired by metro. Your large staff seems daunting at first but overtime these people become your closest friends, if not "family". Amazing corporate culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes around the holidays it gets hectic but always remember it is hectic everywhere around the holidays. :)

    Metro2019-10-10
  2. "Good temporary, first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good first job - Customer service heightened confidence while gaining people skills - Relationship building with the team members & manager in my department - Manager's flexibility with scheduling - Union and benefits

    Cons

    - You rarely, if ever, get raises - Retail, customer service

    Metro2019-07-06
  3. "Customer friendly and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Customer Service Clerk in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly,close to where I live,staff is friendly

    Cons

    Not enough hours and alot of work

    Advice to Management

    More hours to be able to do the job properly

    Metro2019-06-26
  4. "Good hours but overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Timmins, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -lots of hours -nice people

    Cons

    -EXTREMELY understaffed -overwhelming -no work life balance -barely any training (no employees to do training) -snobby rich customers

    Metro2019-04-29
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience in the deli, great team environment and respectable colleagues.

    Cons

    Catty management that would reduce your hours later if you asked for time off

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible

    Metro2019-03-14
  6. "Good for the type of job it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits if you can keep the job long enough Decent work environment Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Some management could use more training

    Metro2018-10-03
  7. "Deli Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was friendly and accommodating. Even without much seniority I got a lot of shifts. They took safety seriously.

    Cons

    We were expected to serve customers after closing if they came near closing.

    Advice to Management

    Put more focus on cleanliness.

    Metro2017-11-29
  8. "Dynamic team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Candiac, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working as a team throughout the day, learn to deal with the public, fast paced work environment, flexible hours during school

    Cons

    Minimum wage salary, mostly students working who have not gained maturity yet, repetitive work tasks, not many weekends off as a part time employee

    Metro2017-10-06
  9. "Only okay for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deli Clerk in Picton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro for less than a year

    Pros

    They make sure you take your breaks A couple sessions of general training before you start Staff at my location were very friendly

    Cons

    Very strict sign in policies Work mostly by yourself Expected to know everything after being trained once

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect people with only 1 shift a week to remember something they were taught 3 weeks ago. More training for deli workers.

    Metro2017-02-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A job that doesn't require much professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours when requested. Amazing staff and they definitely look out for you when a customer is being rude. Felt more like a family than a professional working environment. In my books, that's a plus

    Cons

    Different managers often boss us around without understanding what they're doing. It grew to be really annoying. Managers sometimes hire people who didn't plan on working for their money, which left the other workers to do two jobs, my manager knew this and wanted to have free work before she fired them before the 3 month mark. Office gossip is a common thing that contributed to me leaving.

    Metro2016-11-08
Found 15 reviews