Metro Front End Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Metro Front End Cashier Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Metro CEO Eric Richer La Flèche
Eric Richer La Flèche
1 Ratings
  1. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - hours were sometimes flexible - good coworkers

    Cons

    - the management was not the best

    Metro2019-08-06
  2. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People and hours. On bus route

    Cons

    Very low pay and hours

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Metro2019-03-25
  3. "One of the better retail positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - coworkers were pretty nice - good place to learn about customer service - can be fun if you like fast-paced environments

    Cons

    - standing for 8 hours can be painful - minimum wage - they called me in a lot when people didn't show up (which I don't mind but others might)

    Advice to Management

    You should learn the names of all the staff so we don't feel like drones.

    Metro2018-12-04
  4. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starter job, good cash handling experience

    Cons

    Not a lot of hours, working around school as the semesters change

    Advice to Management

    This is an okay starting job if you're looking to get experience with cash handling. The employer hired me based on my availability at the time and being in college that changed every 4 months due to school. I was reminded about my availability a lot during my experience with Metro and I decided after a year with them, it was best for me to focus on school at the time. I found a lot of the company's values to be... very old school and traditional with job roles in mind.

    Show More
    Metro2018-10-19
  5. "front end cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in York Mills, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Metro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no responsibilities, talking to people

    Cons

    they give your sift a week before and after months you feel like you are working for stupid people

    Metro2018-11-02
  6. "Your average high school job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you lots of time to screw up and learn from your mistakes. I'm more then a month in and still screw up sometimes but I'm dealt with with patience. Staff are very friendly

    Cons

    No benefits to speak of other then double the air miles points earned Even with flexibility, you probably won't be given as many hours as you'd prefer

    Advice to Management

    Give more benefits and possibly a more competitive wage rate. Metro is a much cleaner environment then most other grocery stores and their employees should represent their higher status

    Metro2018-06-07
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front End Cashier in Orillia, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Metro

    Pros

    Great people to work with, flexible hours.

    Cons

    4 to 5 hour long shifts for part time employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep management and you get staff happy

    Metro2017-06-27
  8. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Trenton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Will hire with no experience - Friendly staff

    Cons

    - Rude customers - Repetitive work

    Metro2017-06-12
  9. "Decent if you're desperate for a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Metro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Easy to book off days two weeks in advance (although you won't get want you want all the time). 7h+ shifts you get two breaks and one lunch. Holiday pay.

    Cons

    Management purposely shortens your shifts so you can get the least possible amount of breaks. Customers are very demanding and entitled. No holiday shifts. Washrooms are unkept. If someone in the front end calls in sick your shift gets extended.

    Advice to Management

    Although the company is trying to stay within the budget it's key that the coworkers get a decent compensation of pay for the amount of work that is put in

    Metro2016-03-26
  10. "Front End Cashier Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Milton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supervisors are flexible about booking time off as long as you give notice.

    Cons

    Very rude and impatient customers that tend to feel entitled because this a slightly more expensive grocery store. Usually the front end and customer service are short-staffed so cashiers can be put under a lot of pressure. Cashiers have to bag groceries unlike some grocery stores, which can slow down the line and get tiring after extended periods of time.

    Metro2015-10-12
Found 10 reviews