Metro Grocery Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Metro Grocery Clerk Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Metro CEO Eric Richer La Flèche
Eric Richer La Flèche
1 Ratings
  1. "Grocery Clerk Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community environment amongst the employees

    Cons

    Shift work based on seniority, hours only guaranteed with full time

    Metro2019-09-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time

    Pros

    Good job for teen agers

    Cons

    Not much hours in the department

    Metro2019-04-11
  3. "grocery clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Grocery Clerk in North York, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Metro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    give then take away you work to get ahead then they take from you

    Cons

    They give you a raise then take it away then say who do you think you are to complain don't rely on our union they agree with it GREAT I was told that it's against labor laws to take away wages I would have to check?

    Metro2017-09-04
  4. "Not a bad way to spend the summer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Milton, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Metro part-time

    Pros

    Managers take notice when you have initiative to work hard. Were understanding of issues that had come up.

    Cons

    coworkers were not the friendliest at times.

    Advice to Management

    introduce team meetings and a bit more emphasis on boosting worker morale

    Metro2017-07-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, not enough appreciation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Grocery Seafood Clerk in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You're treated very well, good benefits after a couple of years. Unionized, except if you're a store manager.

    Cons

    The work required out weighs the wage, in misy cases.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for employees to move up in the company.

    Metro2016-06-25
  6. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, chill job at times.

    Cons

    I worked at a store that made very little money, that could explain my situation... Managers were terrible, not enough hours to go around, useless full timers who couldn't lift more than a few pounds yet are placed in a physically demanding job, next to zero training for young employees which led to mistakes being made. Great job if you're a kid who who goes to school and needs the flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be mean and disrespectful people. I don't work hard for minimum wage, but I will for a nice manager whom I respect.

    Metro2015-11-10
  7. "Grocery Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was an easy job, not a lot of skill needed. They were very flexible with hours when I was involved with multiple high school sports.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunity for me there. Some employees work very hard, others not so much, and need to pick up the slack.

    Advice to Management

    No problem with the management. Head office people were always friendly when they stopped in.

    Metro2015-04-12
  8. "Favouritism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only reason I'd ever suggest working for this company is if you are desperate for a job. Their interview process ensures that basically anyone can walk in and get a job.. Anyone.

    Cons

    Since Metro has a union, lazy workers can get away with doing practically nothing. These workers kiss up to management and receive 3 or 4 times the amount of hours that the rest of the employees get. Doing the work of 2 or 3 people and getting paid minimum wage kills morale.

    Advice to Management

    Award workers that actually do their job. Stop promoting laziness by giving workers who are undeserving more hours. Ensure that management is fair to all staff with regards to hours.

    Metro2015-04-10
  9. "A good company to work for if you look for flexible hours, entry level positions and easy going corporate culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Vaughan, ON

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can move up within the company Good benefits. Relaxed environment

    Cons

    Hard to move out from the store level Bad management

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the lower tier employees at the stores and hear some feedback about ways to improve customer service issues

    Metro2015-04-07
  10. "Decent company for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Grocery Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metro

    Pros

    Great benefits plan, flexible hours

    Cons

    New employees have no hope of getting raises, hours not guaranteed due to seniority

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with more respect

    Metro2015-03-16
Found 11 reviews