Metro Produce Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Metro Produce Clerk Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Metro CEO Eric Richer La Flèche
Eric Richer La Flèche
1 Ratings
  1. "good job to have in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Etobicoke, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    people of all ages, different departments to work in, unionized

    Cons

    working harder than people with more senority

    Metro2019-09-13
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk 

    I worked at Metro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    people environment flexible hours team-oriented

    Cons

    Monotonous lack of career advancement

    Metro2019-09-12
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work, union, good people

    Cons

    Awful management, low pay, little vacation

    Metro2019-07-06
  4. "Not too shabby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Easy to get full time positions, simply start part time & put in a full time application -flexible scheduling -Internal Advancement opportunities - good benefits

    Cons

    -Union BS -Small annual raise -May be bumped to a different store

    Metro2019-04-24
  5. "Produce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Orillia, ON

    I have been working at Metro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of extra hours to be had Great team to work with Clean work environment

    Cons

    Often understaffed during busiest times

    Metro2018-07-10
  6. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manageable work load. Friendly manager. Unionized workforce Wage increases by 25 cents after every 500 hours of work

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Metro2017-10-09
  7. "Lame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and many hours Even distribution of hours

    Cons

    Very verbally and emotionally abusive coworkers

    Advice to Management

    Treat harassment claims seriously not lightly

    Metro2017-08-20
  8. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Produce Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro

    Pros

    Relax, not stressful, friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Some managers are more stressed so they are more harsh.

    Metro2017-02-14
  9. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Produce Clerk in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro

    Pros

    Metro is a good employer to work for. Fair hours and management listened to what workers have to say. Good benefits after you work over a year at Metro.

    Cons

    Working at Metro you don't receive pay increase until a total working threshold is met. Took me about a year or two of part time work to get a $0.25 increase above minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Pay workers a bit more and you'll expect productivity among workers to increase.

    Metro2016-03-11
  10. "Produce Clerk - Good High School job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees, good high school job, flexible hours, overall positive environment. Fairly low stress depending on the day and who you are working with.

    Cons

    Management can be one directional at times and not want to focus on the departments that are making money.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the departments that are doing the best instead of focusing all resources into ones that do not need the extra man power.

    Metro2016-01-25
Found 12 reviews