Metrolinx Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Metrolinx Analyst Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Phil Verster
5 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in North York, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Metrolinx for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok and work is not boring

    Cons

    Kinda slow some days

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2019-08-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "ExcellentCompany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    CEO - very driven and results oriented. Diversity of workforce Diversity of jobs and projects

    Cons

    Management continues to work in Silos

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Do not work here if you want a future or are an industry expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is good. If you are one of the super lazy come on over. There are entire teams that do little to nothing here. if you are a fan of showing up to work and watching the game on YouTube that you missed last night; you are welcomed. There is no fear of watching videos instead of working as our VP regularly laughs and makes light of people watching YouTube. “Everyone put your YouTube away the boss is here. Haha no don’t worry keep watching I don’t mind”

    Cons

    If you are a hard worker with ideas for improvement look elsewhere for the sake of your own sanity. Independent thought is not encouraged. If you try to make changes and suggest improvements you will become the newest outcast. Yes men are the only ones that are desired as they agree with this boss regardless if the choice is right or wrong. If you are a yes man come to this company. It doesn’t matter that you are an idiot. The bigger an idiot and you agree blindly you are more likely to be promoted as you fit right in here.

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2019-01-28
  4. "Government agency running more like a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people (generally), feel like a big part of the city's growth, great benefits and pension, lots of internal opportunities.

    Cons

    Trying to run like a business but still has a government like culture of top down authority. If you don't like politics, STEER CLEAR. And the organization is basically a cash cow to all the big consulting firms.

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2018-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "My worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx for less than a year

    Pros

    You don't actually do any work, so if you want to get paid (very lowly) for not doing work, then this is the place for you. You won't learn anything, so this is also a good place for those who are stupid.

    Cons

    -Low pay -No benefits -Management, etc get paid a ridiculous amount for literally doing nothing -If you want to work at work, don't come here -No chance to move up or learn new skills -Catty, misogynistic environment -Ran by 'new Canadians' so most people have horrible English, and do not support or practice any Canadian culture -If you show promise, or morals, or skills, etc, you will get fired -Your coworkers will literally go to the movies and / or disappear for hours without anyone noticing -Sexual harassment is rampant, given the sexism in many cultures, and from Canadian norms not being adhered to -Your manager will probably show up 2 hours late, take a long lunch, speak on their cell-phone in Arabic for 3 hours, and then go home early...only after managing to brag to you that they make over 100,000 a year -If you are a woman, you will probably be touched without consent and inappropriately -Coworkers come back from lunch drunk and flirt with you -Poor behaviour never has any consequences -No training, but you may receive multiple manuals written in the worst quasi-English language I have ever seen and passed off as fine because anyone who reviews it probably has even worse English -You will be lied to about opportunities -If your supervisor treats you badly, he probably has a good relationship with one of the corrupt managers and he will never get into trouble -No HR, so you have no recourse -If your computer doesn't work, etc, you simply will just sit at your desk for a week doing nothing -ETC etc

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2018-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx for less than a year

    Pros

    Given that public sector job usually pays well, offers good work life balance and provides good benefits, I thought I would give it a go so I took up a contract job. Yes they do offer good pay, good benefit and work life balance but other than these, everything else is quite disconnected with the real world. People just have multiple breaks during the day. Some go to the gym for an hour or two but still leave work on time.

    Cons

    - Nepotism, politics, small groups and gossips depending on the team you join. - You can look up the seniors' pay on the sunshine list. My problem is that after I know roughly how much they got paid, every single day I just couldn't help thinking "I wouldn't pay this amount of money to this person, this person and that person..." because I couldn't ignore the fact that I am a tax payer. I pay tax to fund their salaries and benefits when I know they wouldn't get paid even close to that amount in private sector based on their skill set and knowing that there are so many things in the society that need the money.

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2018-06-01
  7. "Great organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, collaborative teams, and decent salary.

    Cons

    No bonuses, and performance rating is linked to limited budget for salary increases.

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2018-03-16
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Analyst in IT, horrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits. Location is good, free go admission.

    Cons

    Horrible management in IT, new IT departments are a mess, tons of drama.

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2016-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Typical government agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx

    Pros

    Work life balance is excellent due to slow pace of government environment

    Cons

    Lack of learning Lack of skilled management Lack of input Pretty much negative in any professional way

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2014-12-31
  10. "Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stress level is low for now

    Cons

    Dont expect raise to match private sector

    Continue reading
    Metrolinx2014-11-19
Found 12 reviews