Metrolinx Reviews | Glassdoor

Metrolinx Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Metrolinx CEO Phil Verster (no image)
Phil Verster
43 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work and a strong management team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Progressive, innovative, collaborative, opportunities for growth, projects

    Cons

    So much to do in little time

    Metrolinx2019-10-10
  2. "One mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Bus Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money a job on dad to day

    Cons

    One big accident and your out

    Advice to Management

    We are not robots

    Metrolinx2019-10-09
  3. "Great company for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time

    Pros

    You have the chance to build a strong network of contacts and learn from various industry experts.

    Cons

    As the company is growthing so drastically there is still a lot of processes that need to be refined.

    Metrolinx2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Can you spell dysfunctional? Begins at Go Transit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx

    Pros

    If you're just interested in a job, want no engagement and vertually make no viable difference then by all means go for it. Be a yes man and you will likely be left alone

    Cons

    Constant reminders that the management cares about you is absolutely the epitome of talking the talking and OMG not at all walking the walk. It's to the point that employees have been suspended for not wanting to perform a task they do not feel safe doing. Supervisors have repeatedly asked employees with out proper training to perform a task(s) Rules and policies are introduced almost every month and only enforced... on certain employees where many brown nosers are never spoken to on their behaviors and lack of compliance or initiative. Their lacklustre performances are often swept under the carpet. Others though, are not so lucky they might be harrassed or picked on and humiliated to the point where they leave. Meetings are a plenty and employees are told about policies upcoming and many positive policies never leave the green room, fall to the wayside causing one of the worst cases of poor staff morale one could ever experience. Staff become divided and treat each other poorly and well nobody cares that this happens. It's truly a toxic environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only thing is stop pretending to listen to staff as all seasoned staff know that talking the talk means nothing if no one is on board to truly walk the walk. Not sure what this means? Read the employee surveys for what it really means and make no mistake in that many will just fill out a survey and lean towards answering questions to make it positive just to make you think they are satisfied so that your satisfied... mainly because in years of surveys gone by has made little difference if any

    Show More
    Metrolinx2019-10-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is good as are the benefits

    Cons

    This company is dysfunctional. It cares more about politics instead of policies. It is next to impossible to secure an internal interview unless you are friends with the hiring manager. Speaking of managers there are multiple layers of management. I’m not sure what managers actually do here. If I used my own manager as an example I would say not much. My manager does spend a ridiculous amount of time with his... headphones on as he is constantly watching YouTube videos. Unfortunately when I need help with escalations I frequently get a blank stare but no actual assistance. HR is a joke. I’ve met with HR several times but haven’t actually had any assistance in securing an interview for any position. They do give the illusion of help as they do meet with me but the session are typically useless. I have never once received the level of assistance that I need. My suggestion to anyone thinking of joining this organization is run

    Show More
    Metrolinx2019-09-30
  6. "A lot of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organization is under going significant changes as it grows it operations and prepares for a huge expansion of service. Lots of opportunities available and room for growth.

    Cons

    Change is the only constant, must be ready to deal with it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find ways of improving communication and employee engagement

    Metrolinx2019-09-23
  7. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great job. a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    disconnect from management and sataff

    Advice to Management

    stop outsourcing and hire permanent talent

    Metrolinx2019-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, Poorly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time

    Pros

    The pension plan is good.

    Cons

    Employee management is horrible. It's all about who you know, not what you know. Far too many young 30 something inexperienced managers, directors and senior managers. It's really really bad to the point where they are having issues keeping people. The HR, IT and Risk Management are the worst. Pretty much a revolving door for both departments HR and IT staff are leaving without having another job to go to,... this is also true of Risk Management's. The departments are run by inexperienced females who spent most their time back stabbing their employee's in the back. It's really cruel how they treat their staff. The odd thing is they are really going after the longer term employees who have the knowledge needed to do the work whereas the younger newer employees are leaving because they realize there is no future for them unless they are in the right click. The right click means you too will have to treat others extremely poorly if you want to stay in the circle. I'm not exaggerating it's really bad. When my friends ask me about coming on board, I tell them don't do it. Why do I stay? Because I enjoy what I do. I don't rely on job performances to get my pay increase. If I did, I would have to leave as well. Our Chief talks about how important staff are but it's all smoke and mirrors. Very sad. Metrolinx it's so political that you can't feel good about where you work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with the respect that they deserve. Stop the toxic environment. Start by hiring the right person for the job.

    Metrolinx2019-09-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, great mandate, good culture and environment

    Cons

    Limited promotion, salaries & promotions are capped

    Metrolinx2019-08-19
  10. "newspaper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Fortaleza, Ceará
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    being part of this company is a great privilege

    Cons

    not working at Metrolinx is a disadvantage

    Advice to Management

    opportunities for Brazilians.

    Metrolinx2019-08-14
Found 143 reviews