Metrolinx Co-Op Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Metrolinx Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Metrolinx CEO Phil Verster (no image)
Phil Verster
43 Ratings
  1. "Administrative Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    growth opportunity, good work place environment

    Cons

    limited full time positions, long interviews

    Advice to Management

    benefits for contracts staff could be better

    Metrolinx2018-08-14
  2. "Transit Safety Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transit Safety Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome expanding organization. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing is perfect but as far as workplaces go, but this place is great.

    Advice to Management

    Work with new employees to develop their skills.

    Metrolinx2018-08-11
  3. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx

    Pros

    Good Pay, Experience, Flexible time off

    Cons

    Negative Environment Not much relevant work as to position

    Advice to Management

    Create the right environment and work that match the job title

    Metrolinx2018-08-20
  4. "Cheap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Student in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Metrolinx for less than a year

    Pros

    You can get good experience depending on the department. Mostly get to do some cool work.

    Cons

    Organization this size, they should be paying more than the minimum wage for a summer student position. Their wage was 13.81 for at least 5 years before 2018, and with minimum wage increase they bumped it 19 cents. What a joke.

    Metrolinx2018-08-07
  5. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, they're all super helpful, very chilled out work environment, stress-free.

    Cons

    Nothing major really. :)

    Metrolinx2018-07-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Plant Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Serviceperson in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoyed working here on a part-time contract. Although I was just maintenance and not customer service, I always looked out for our customers and their safety. Great people depending on the department, good pay compared to the same level in private sector for junior staff. Company is growing as they expand transit in the GTHA. Employees ride GO Train and Bus for free.

    Cons

    Nepotism runs wild, even if they say otherwise and favoritism comes first over skills and experience. Endured lots of backstabbing, however I just always was trying to concentrate on my job and not get involved in poli-tricks. Remember, it's not what you know, it's who you know. All I can say is its government and pretty similar in all agencies and ministry.

    Metrolinx2018-05-06
  7. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx

    Pros

    good salary, good benefits (if fulltime, permanent), departments are expanding, new leadership/CEO is forward thinking

    Cons

    many contract positions, lack of information sharing across departments, leadership is silo'd

    Advice to Management

    share more information across departments/groups for better collaboration

    Metrolinx2018-05-25
  8. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metrolinx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work to work on projects that are large and very diversified. Has nice offices and rooms to work collaboratively.

    Cons

    Issues with IT can delay work on projects.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure IT can respond quicker to employee tickets so work can be done at a more efficient rate.

    Metrolinx2018-05-02
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Incompetent I&IT management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Metrolinx full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Free usage of the GO Train. Some interesting transportation projects.

    Cons

    I&IT management has no clue what they are doing. One angry manager is constantly trying to disrupt the work; many have complained, nothing is done because he is a member of a protected demographic. Incompetent management team often produces sub-par results on projects, unfairly damaging the reputations of the employees beneath them.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some people into management that know what they are doing. Stop the fake and artificial diversity by only hiring people from Liberal-protected demographics. Get rid of the solution managers: there are so many functional defects with the online timetables in the latest website release in March 2018. In fact, replace the entire I&IT management team would be good as the only qualifications they seem to... possess are connections to Lieberals.

    Show More
    Metrolinx2018-04-02
  10. "Great organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metrolinx full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, collaborative teams, and decent salary.

    Cons

    No bonuses, and performance rating is linked to limited budget for salary increases.

    Metrolinx2018-03-16
Found 144 reviews