Metromile Reviews | Glassdoor

Metromile Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Metromile CEO Dan Preston
Dan Preston
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains like any other tech startup(in 12 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Young Company with Tremendous Opportunities for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Laid back work environment - New modern office - No formal dress code - Excellent training - Growth opportunities - Solid pay

    Cons

    No 401 match or student load reimbursement - Seems that these will likely be implemented soon but not currently in place

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Managements flow of communication is excellent to the employees below them.

    Metromile2019-06-12
  2. "They walk the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clear company goals, vision, & plan to execute, daily application of our core company values, flat organization, opportunity to make impact from day one, commitment to individual growth & development, transparency, diversity conscious.

    Cons

    Some processes could be tighter and more sustainable for anticipated growth.

    Advice to Management

    Ask your teams if what they are building can be expanding and built upon when we are double, triple in size.

    Metromile2019-06-11
  3. "Great place to work if you like working with intelligent, ambitious co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very intelligent and ambitious co-workers!

    Cons

    Like most other places I have been, there are too many meetings.

    Metromile2019-05-31

    Metromile Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you truly enjoy working with your fellow Metromilers. We appreciate your feedback!

  4. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cares about their employees Fantastic leadership from the top down Open to feedback and improvement

    Cons

    Not applicable - company has been great

    Metromile2019-05-31

    Metromile Response

    June 5, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We always enjoy hearing about our supportive leaders and employee-driven culture -- We appreciate you sharing.

  5. "Working on interesting challenges alongside very capable co-workers, all with a healthy dose of work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Never a dull day, as we work on some very interesting and challenging problems - Work-life balance / flexibility to work from home when needed - Culture / co-workers are great - Transparency from leadership - Not a meetings-heavy culture

    Cons

    - No 401k match or bonus - Lunch provided only three times per week

    Advice to Management

    None

    Metromile2019-05-30

    Metromile Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review! We are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience and appreciate you highlighting our incredible people and culture. We strive to ensure that our employees feel supported in balancing their personal and work lives. We'll be sure ...

    Show More
  6. "Best place to work ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership cares about its employees and customers. Mentoring and development are priorities. Great place to use your individual talents and partner with engineering to build insurance technologies that revolutionize the industry. Your insights and feedback matter to Metromile.

    Cons

    I see no cons working for this organization.

    Metromile2019-05-30
  7. "Review of Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible PTO, reasonable workload, team-building activities, fun work environment, and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Not all processes are in place currently due to being a start up company.

    Metromile2019-05-29

    Metromile Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for mentioning our awesome benefits and perks we offer our employees -- We pride ourselves on providing a great employee experience. We appreciate your feedback!

  8. "Still like coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motion Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's been almost 4 years and I can say I still enjoy coming to work. Working towards a goal as teams with varied skill sets is a startup's bread and butter and I feel that's what's happening here. Snacks are good, the people are better.

    Cons

    No cons that wouldn't be prevalent in any startup.

    Metromile2019-05-29
  9. "Growth Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Endless development opportunities -Excellent management, no micromanagement -Fun, quality people -Culture of transparency -Lots of freedom -Enjoyable workplace

    Cons

    -No 401K contribution or tuition reimbursement

    Metromile2019-05-29

    Metromile Response

    June 10, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! We always enjoy hearing about our supportive leadership and their commitment to developing our people -- We strive to create an environment where our employees can do their best work. Thanks for your feedback on our benefits. While we're proud of our current ...

    Show More
  10. "Startup with incredible potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is headed by an amazing leader board Surrounded by talented and hardworking teams Great work perks and benefits (lunch, health and commuter benefits)

    Cons

    No 401k match as of now

    Metromile2019-05-30

    Metromile Response

    June 17, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate you highlighting our amazing leaders and teams. Thanks too for mentioning the awesome benefits and perks we offer our employees -- As for 401K, do know that as we grow, we are always looking to improve and expand our benefits.

Found 130 reviews