Metromile Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Metromile Chief Executive Officer Dan Preston
Dan Preston
140 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Work in progress, but looking great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team was completely revamped within 5 months and I love my team now. Great people, good work-life balance, decent leadership as far as I'm concerned. It's exciting to see things change for the better.

    Cons

    You'll always find cons if you're looking for them. Right now I'm satisfied with everything.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    March 25, 2020Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! It's awesome coming to work and being surrounded by great people. We appreciate your feedback!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Differentiated product and culture with typical startup pains. Read recent negative reviews w/ a grain of salt"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product is truly differentiated, This creates tension in an industry as regulated and established as auto insurance. On the flip side, the product is extremely valuable to low-mileage drivers and it shows; those customers absolutely love Metromile. On the career side, it depends on the team. For a core role within the product/engineering orgs, there are legitimate opportunities to learn new things, challenge yourself, and grow.

    Cons

    Many common growing pains at any 300 person tech startup, attrition/turn over, changing roadmaps, etc. Recent, painful layoffs that cut deep (30%) to preserve the company's financial health. However, if I were looking at a potential job at Metromile, I wouldn't let the recent negative reviews (especially the spicy, lay-off related ones) dissuade me from pursuing an initial conversation or two at least before deciding for myself.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    June 17, 2020

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback; it’s helpful for us to hear about your experience. As a startup, we aim to balance moving quickly & staying nimble with staying focused on our OKRs & long-term goals. Redirections can be difficult & we recognize there’s always room for improvement. We appreciate your time with the company & wish you all the best on your future career path.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Technical Project Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work remote when needed.

    Cons

    Do not have any specific cons at this time.

    Metromile Response

    June 8, 2020

    Thank you for the positive rating. We're glad you enjoyed the flexible work environment & wish you all the best in your next endeavor.

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (3)

    "A long history of layoffs"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere and cool perks.

    Cons

    It is really worrying how much turn over they have in key positions. Managers, COO, CMO, all high turn over. The marketing team is basically all let go every year. The company wants to grow but there is something wrong at the top that key positions don't stay filled.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    June 8, 2020

    Thanks so much for your feedback. As a startup, we aim to balance moving quickly & staying nimble with staying focused on our OKRs & long-term goals. We understand how this can be jolting for employees & recognize there’s always room for improvement. We were deeply saddened to lose amazing colleagues as a part of the recent layoffs. The measures we took were in no way reflective of our team’s abilities, or the viability of Metromile. But it is the only way to ensure we protect the business, maintain the necessary runway to have a strong recovery & be there for our customers - & remaining team - every step of the way. We wish you all the best.

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyed my time at Metromile"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I genuinely loved working at Metromile during my two years there. The people were sharp and willing to grow you, the environment was friendly and supportive. I could have seen myself staying at Metromile for the entirety of my career.

    Cons

    Unfortunately they went through a huge layoff during the beginning of March and I was let go. I hate to say it, but I saw it coming. Metromile was sometimes more reactive than proactive and unfortunately built a big, beautiful office right at the time the COVID-19 crisis began to occur.

    Metromile Response

    May 13, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review! We're so happy to know you enjoyed the work environment & your coworkers. We were deeply saddened to lose amazing colleagues such as yourself; the measures we took were in no way reflective of our team’s abilities, or the viability of Metromile as a business. We wish you all the best as you move forward in your career!

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "No respect for team laid off"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's not that hard of a job.

    Cons

    2 weeks in to covid 19, they laid off 30% of team. Most everyone got 3 weeks severance and 1 month of health insurance. That's it. Some people had worked there 4+ years, some were execs...in a time when it would be impossible to find work they showed zero respect or compassion. Who would want to work for a soulless leadership like this? The company is failing, hard.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    June 9, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We thought very hard to take these actions & did our best to handle this challenging decision in the best way possible & tried to set the affected folks up for success. In the weeks that have passed, we have recalled a number of our furloughed staff & as opportunities have presented themselves, we have also reached out to rehire some of the laid off staff. We truly appreciate your candid comments & we recognize that there is always room to improve our practices. Take care & best wishes.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medical, great atmosphere, and cares about employees.

    Cons

    Does not offer 401k reimbursement at the moment.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    May 11, 2020

    Thanks for the great rating! We're dedicated to creating fiercely loyal customers & believe those efforts apply to our own employees as well. Our employees’ financial well-being is a priority, and we hope to add to our suite of benefits, like a 401k match, in the future.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Generally positive experience in a questionably ran company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Pay - Fun culture - Enjoyable teammates - Ability to provide input - Management encouraged growth and did the best they could with what executives gave them

    Cons

    - All company issues are corrected using new technology instead of using typical business strategies, even if it requires a complete pivot in company goals - This resulted in a constant change in company direction/goals which made it very difficult to keep track - Input was not implemented very often - Switching to a hybrid, non commission sales model which negates the good pay

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    May 11, 2020

    Thanks so much for providing us with your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your colleagues & the inviting environment. As a startup, we strive to balance both moving quickly & staying nimble with maintaining our focus on our OKRs & long-term goals. We recognize there’s always room for improvement & have shared your comments with the team. Wishing you all the best.

  9. Helpful (8)

    "A waste of talent and resources"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time

    Pros

    Overall nice and sharp people, fully stocked kitchen and free lunches, pleasant office, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Top management doesn't seem to be able to make strategic decisions and stick to them for more than a couple months. Which means that the entire company's focus moves back and forth, with no clear north star. They solely rely on the product (and not marketing) to grow the business, which is unrealistic. That's too bad because the pay-per-mile insurance model is interesting and could be groundbreaking with proper directions and investment.

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    May 11, 2020

    We appreciate your feedback! As a startup, we aim to balance moving quickly and staying nimble with staying focused on our OKRs and long-term goals. We recognize there’s always room for improvement. Your comments are very helpful to us & they have been shared with the team. We wish you all the best.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Time will tell"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metromile full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed and open culture at Metromile

    Cons

    no 401k match, too many priorities

    Continue reading

    Metromile Response

    May 11, 2020

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We're glad to know you enjoyed the office culture at Metromile. In regards to the 401k, our employees’ financial well-being is a priority & we hope to add to our suite of benefits, like a 401k match, in the future. Wishing you all the best.

Found 164 reviews