Mettler-Toledo Reviews | Glassdoor

Mettler-Toledo Reviews

Updated March 20, 2017
181 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mettler-Toledo CEO Olivier A. Filliol
Olivier A. Filliol
62 Ratings

181 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work-life balance can very much be an issue as there is a lot of traveling (in 5 reviews)

  • there is a disconnect from upper management due to the amount of lower management positions (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Marketing Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mettler-Toledo full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth within the company and the ability to make your job as involved or uninvolved as you want it to be. It was nice to really be able to come up with your own strategy.

    Cons

    Refuses to get ride of ineffective managers that should not have been put into their positions. Global Marketing forces their initiatives on the MO with no ability to opt out

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for providing input on your work experiences at Mettler Toledo.


  2. "Mettler is pretty good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mettler-Toledo full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, high morale in most groups, autonomy

    Cons

    Too lean, average pay, certain parts of the business suffer from low morale

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving morale in certain groups, consider when lean operation has gone too far

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for contributing your comments. All your input is appreciated.


  3. "Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good company, international crowd, good life/work balance

    Cons

    management is not always good, micro management in back office,

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your input. We appreciate every piece of feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Strategic Buyer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Buyer in Billerica, MA
    Former Employee - Strategic Buyer in Billerica, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mettler-Toledo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company was doing well at the time I was there

    Cons

    Management does not care about employees. Works them like dogs. Does not give out good raises and bonuses are rare and small. No where near enough engineering support

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees. Hire some engineers and more workers.

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on employment at Mettler Toledo. We appreciate your input.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Stable environment and global reach

    Cons

    To much corporate red tape

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor. We appreciate your input.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management needs to grow up"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mettler-Toledo full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, people are nice

    Cons

    Management needs to grow up, too many team leads, supervisors and managers are very childish, making working there a horrible experience.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and do not hold grudges against hard working employees that are there just to better their family's lives.

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you, your feedback to management is important. We are constantly working to improve leadership and employee engagement.


  8. "Best Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Entry Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Order Entry Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mettler-Toledo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of empowerment and autonomy. Have the ability to grow and learn. Management invests in its workers. Emphasis on being part of the team.

    Cons

    Smaller company means smaller pay. There is some lack of management presence in times when you would need it. Housed in the same building as another company with a toxic work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Have own space


  9. "Would Not Recommend this company to anyone"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mettler-Toledo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have employee perks, but they mostly are only good for the people living in the surrounding area.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, and just keep piling on the work. When I got hired I'm sure there was a job description, but that seems to have gotten thrown out the window. Management is known for blaming you for other peoples mistakes. I am in training right now and the lady that trains me keeps emailing my manager telling them I am making all of these mistakes. How do they expect someone to be successful and happy in their positions if the trainee is going behind your back and making you feel like a complete failure. Plus I have been given so much work that I am drowning trying to get my work finished. I would NOT recommend anyone come here and work. If you wanted to be treated like you are not appreciated then this might be the company for you.

    Morale at the office is very low.

    Advice to Management

    Need better communication, not only with the employees under you but with other people from other divisions. If you are going to have your employee trained by someone from another division on how to do things, they need to be trained correctly. AND no one should ever be made to feel like a failure just because the trainee doesn't have effective communication.


  10. "Work from home, must be independant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, Good management, travel

    Cons

    3-5 days on the road a week.


  11. "Some complaints and some compliments..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mettler-Toledo full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    High level of job security and flexibility in most cases
    A lot of promoting from within

    Cons

    Questionable initiatives and decisions made from high level that make no sense to field or customers
    Too many changes and initiatives. Causes a lot of confusion for both employees and customer service.
    Not the greatest back office support.

    Advice to Management

    Show more patience. If you have a plan, stick to it for a while.
    Look more at the "eyes of the customer" and not the latest numbers on paper.

    Mettler-Toledo Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Attraction, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your candid review. This is important feedback.



Showing 181 of 190 reviews
Reset Filters