Miami Dade College Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Miami Dade College President and Trustee Eduardo J. Padrón (no image)
Eduardo J. Padrón
162 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very Flexible Schedule and Good Networking Opportunities(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, positive work environment (lovely campus), inspiring to work with students(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "No full time positions available(in 39 reviews)

  • "Pay per hour for part time workers without a Bachelor's Degree is low(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Runner 

    I worked at Miami Dade College part-time

    Pros

    good stuff, the pay was alright

    Cons

    nothing much, mostly worked with other students

    Miami Dade College2020-05-18
  2. "Convenient if you're studying at the college"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, convenience of attending school while working there, getting to know professors/ higher division staff, understanding of taking time off.

    Cons

    No benefits for part timers, lack of recognition, salary could be better for the amount of work put in

    Miami Dade College2020-05-22
  3. "MDC"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Fitness Coordinator 

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time

    Pros

    flexible job and great environment

    Cons

    Not enough hours or benefits

    Miami Dade College2020-05-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Institution Depending on Your Department"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miami Dade College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some department chairs and administration really care about their students and think outside the box, making the educational experience very exciting and enriching for both the student and the instructor. Lots of freedom to be creative and try new things.

    Cons

    Some department chairs and administration are obsessed with petty nonsense (but I suppose you get that at any institution). One dean even went so far as to tell me I should "dress a little better". (FYI I wore business casual clothing to work every day.)

    Miami Dade College2020-03-28
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Clerk in Miami, FL

    I worked at Miami Dade College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great if you are a student as you get off and go to class

    Cons

    Work-study, you have to leave when you graduate.

    Miami Dade College2020-03-01
  6. "Adjunct Faculty"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Salary is great 2. Retirement Benefits 3. Employee Improvement Training

    Cons

    Can't think of any, great place to work as an Adjunct.

    Miami Dade College2020-02-17
  7. "none"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great! I would recommend to anyone

    Cons

    No there are no cons in my opinion

    Miami Dade College2020-02-09
  8. "A Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Chair in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miami Dade College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can make a difference, variety in teaching opportunities

    Cons

    Unrecognized work, expectations to complete work with little support

    Miami Dade College2020-02-20
  9. "Wonderful Facility Complete with Technologies and Competent Staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agilent in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The faculty and their dedication to the craft of education.

    Cons

    Only offers up to a 4-year degree.

    Miami Dade College2020-01-31
  10. "Great environment, lower pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Homestead, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miami Dade College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stressless, family-like work environment, very flexible schedule

    Cons

    Doesn't pay as well as other tutoring positions

    Miami Dade College2020-01-29
Found 305 reviews