Michael Baker International Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Michael Baker International Chief Executive Officer Brian Lutes
Brian Lutes
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At times conflict among upper management(in 17 reviews)

  • "Sometimes working within a large company means statistics play a large role in your performance review(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Learn and expand your skills"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michael Baker International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Engages staff that trusts, and pushes you to be better everyday

    Cons

    Needs to create more accountability of people if they are problematic.

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-04-18
  2. "MBI"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning Associate II in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michael Baker International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Large company allows for varied professional experiences. - Company pays for professional certifications/renewals.

    Cons

    -Pay is below average for the industry. -There has been a lot of turnover within the last few years. Hard to tell what direction leadership is taking the Planning practice.

    Michael Baker International2020-05-26
  3. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Technician in Irvine, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Michael Baker International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff at the office that I worked at were great.

    Cons

    Upper management needs some improvements.

    Michael Baker International2020-04-30
  4. "Some good people and some not so good people."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michael Baker International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people to work with.

    Cons

    If you care about what you do, if you care about your firm's reputation, if you care about your clients' interests, then do not join this firm! You would be punished for being an honest person and an ethical professional.

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-05-29
  5. "Used to be a great place to work!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Michael Baker International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stabil as long as they retain their government contract

    Cons

    This company has been consolidate into a large company called Caliburn. Caliburn management is terrible, un caring and ruthless but they cover it in a false veneer of concern and caring.

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-05-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Steep uphill climb"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michael Baker International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Several appreciative clients Free Peet's coffee in the break room

    Cons

    MBI is phasing out environmental and most environmental and planning staff have left, locally and nationally, at all levels. No unifying company culture.

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-04-11

    Michael Baker International Response

    April 13, 2020Social Support

    We’re disappointed to read about your experience. Our most valuable resource is our people. As such, we hire the best and invest in excellence. We place a high value on creating a strong sense of community and a team environment as part of our performance-driven culture, which allows for collaborative opportunities and professional growth. If you would like to share more, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn but get out as soon as you can."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Architect in Moon Township, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Michael Baker International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is pretty well organized and there is great opportunity for interdisciplinary collaboration since all of the disciplines required for architecture are in the same building.

    Cons

    Expect to be spending long periods of time working and then you might have issues when it comes to approving overtime. There doesn’t appear to be any room or path for upward mobility unless you are well connected. Pay is average. From my perspective it seemed that raises were barely cost of living even for high performing employees at the bottom ranks. Bonuses seem to be non-existent except for a select few and maybe an occasional high performing employee. Even the highest performing employees get a joke for a bonus. They give you a check and then you have to pay 50% of that amount in taxes. In addition, this place seems to be dominated by white males. People with darker skin or a different background appear to have limited progression or get pushed out of the organization first when layoffs happen. Perhaps this is more related to the apparent nepotism where people who don’t seem very qualified are somehow able to get jobs or promotions because of who they know and who they are related to or friends with. I saw people get promoted over the heads of others who I thought were more qualified by any identifiable measure including competence, work ethic, titles, education, and years at the company. I also saw positions created for certain people to get hired when I think they would never have hired anyone else for an existing open position with the kind of background that person had. Their benefits are almost a joke at this point. Senior management is poor at negotiating with insurance companies, 401k providers, and pretty much any other service you will get through the company for a company of this size. In addition, sexual harassment was tolerated and the person who was guilty was sheltered even after repeated accusations and reports to H.R. of sexual harassment from various women at the company. What is worse is that the offender was sheltered by their superior until the person messed with a woman whose parent was higher up in the organization. Even then the superior was not disciplined at all. At that point the only action the company took was to “lay off” the offender. The superior then helped the offender get another job somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-04-06

    Michael Baker International Response

    April 8, 2020Social Support

    Your comments stand in stark contrast to our Culture of Excellence. Our employees are at the heart of our business. As part of our performance-based culture, employees are rewarded for hard work and provided opportunities to grow and excel. Additionally, we place a high value on creating a strong sense of community and a team environment. Our workplace values diversity, inclusion and continuous professional development. If you would like to share more, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

  8. "Great People"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 

    I have been working at Michael Baker International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People and Big Projects to work on that are challenging but rewarding

    Cons

    Work Life Balance can be hard at times.

    Michael Baker International2020-01-26
  9. "Good working environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ITSTraffic Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Michael Baker International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    # Ample opportunities for professional growth # Focus on work quality and good client relations # Flexible work environment

    Cons

    # Didn't pay for a cross country relocation even for a mid-level position # High health insurance costs for family # 401(k) is contributions doesn't start immediately after start and not vested until 3 years of employment

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-01-15

    Michael Baker International Response

    January 21, 2020Social Support

    We appreciate you sharing your experience. Our employees are at the heart of our business, and we are committed to achieving excellence in our Employee Experience by providing programs, resources and other incentives that help our employees reach their professional goals. If you would like to share more about your experience, please reach out to your HR Business Partner or contact us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

  10. "Great"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Michael Baker International

    Pros

    Working remotely, pay decent for industry

    Cons

    Workload, teamwork not very good

    Continue reading
    Michael Baker International2020-01-08

    Michael Baker International Response

    January 13, 2020Social Support

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We're disappointed to read about your experience. We place a high value on creating a strong sense of community and a team environment as part of our performance-driven culture, which allows for collaborative opportunities and professional growth. If you would like to share more about your experience, please reach out to your HR Business Partner or contact us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

Found 286 reviews