Michael Baker International Employee Reviews about "project management"

Updated Aug 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Michael Baker International Chief Executive Officer Brian Lutes
Brian Lutes
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has good work environment people are very helpful(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great People and Big Projects to work on that are challenging but rewarding(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times conflict among upper management(in 19 reviews)

  • "The path to advancement is through project management(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "project management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great office environment, respectful place, nice coworkers

      Mar 28, 2018 - Administrative Support in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provides all the office, software and hardware tools you need to accomplish your work well. Accommodating to flexible daily work schedule. Quality and customer service to clients is high. Compensation and benefits are highly competitive and good.

      Cons

      Some Project Managers and Dept Managers are very laxed in their management skills. They have high expectations of staff but are slackers themselves not responding in timely fashion on certain issues. Slight frustration having responsibilities but no authority to hold PM’s accountable. Not a lot of communication or acknowledgment at the office level. Corporate communicates a lot, but the departments feel a little isolated even though they plan some Wolfpack activities, it’s awkward.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice People, Few Paths for Advancement, Status Quo

      Aug 6, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with intelligent, hard-working people and a variety of clients. The corporate leadership would visit often and were approachable and sincere. Management wanted to change. I usually did not have to work late hours or weekends.

      Cons

      You really have to speak up if you want to control your destiny at the company. There is little training, mentorship, or clear path towards advancement. As an associate, you work on what your project manager knows. If a project manager leaves, you may struggle to find work. When this happens, you try to fill the gaps. There is little communication between offices to workshare, and there were many instances where project managers actively tried keep work in their offices. This improved a bit when I left. If your utilization rate stays low, they wait for you to leave or show you the door. I did not understand how volatile it could be. I saw multiple people let go or pushed out after stringing them along about "new work coming down the pipe". I remember my first day being unorganized and uninspiring. The path to advancement is through project management. That is fine, but I felt pigeon-holed. Others felt the same way. Again, you worked on what your department worked on. There could be an office that could use your skills, but there was little communication between offices and a poor effort from your office to market your skills or the other office to reach out. I indicated my interests and was asked about my interests, but little ever transpired. I just wanted to know where I stood, and that was always a problem with my colleagues as well. I had some good experiences and worked on a variety of projects, but it was a struggle the whole time. After much turnover, I felt that I was left to flail. I will say that I did everything the right way during my time at Michael Baker. I worked to be useful and learn new skills, and most importantly, "keep up my utilization", but there was always a disconnect, mixed messages, and empty promises. According to management, everything was always "good", but there was a high amount of management turnover during my time there. HR does not seem to take exit interviews or constructive feedback seriously. Again, there was a very stale feeling to the whole company. I do believe they were making efforts to make the company better and more appealing to young people.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      At Michael Baker International, we take great pride in our performance-driven culture. Talent development is a focal point for our Company, and we are committed to investing in our talent. As a result, our turnover rate is significantly better than the industry standard. If you would like to share more, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great office to work in

      Jul 15, 2020 - Civil Engineer II in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome management at the Cleveland Office level

      Cons

      No established long-term technical development track, more focused on project management

      1 person found this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Our employees are at the heart of our business, and we are committed to achieving excellence in our Employee Experience by providing programs and resources that help our employees reach their professional goals. If you would like to share more about your experience, please reach out to your HR Business Partner or contact us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Revolving door, no loyalty, burdensome processes

      Jul 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fairly easy to get hired...they have such a revolving door that they're always looking for people.

      Cons

      Revolving door at the upper management level = pervasive insecure feeling throughout company. They just booted their COO...although he'd been in the position a record 2+ years....this coming a year after terminating 4 senior/executive vice presidents. Legacy employees get the shaft on salary. People that left the company and are rehired (sometimes years later) are making more than current staff in the same position. Endless, burdensome project management processes. Owner of the company is a venture capitalist whose portfolio includes a company running the border concentration camps. ie - getting paid $750+/per day/per caged child. Culture of fear: threatened to have your performance review impacted for EVERYTHING from turning in your time sheet late, to not completing training. You're reminded daily that they don't trust you with your time (when you log in to your computer) and are warned that they have access to your email and instant messaging. HUGE disconnect between Corporate Communication/Operations/C-Suite. Zero upper management buy-in for diversity/inclusiveness programs.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      We’re disappointed to hear about your experience. We place a high value on creating a strong sense of community and a team environment as part of our performance-driven culture. If you would like to continue the conversation and provide further details, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    5. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 3 years

      Substandard Company

      May 13, 2019 - Anonymous Contractor in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting new people from diverse cultures

      Cons

      Poor , unethical and incompetent management placed in position by friends. Presence of prostitution and alcohol on premises. Corrupt project management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Intern

      Awesome place to work

      Feb 6, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Michael Baker International has been a wonderful experience since I was first hired. Work is fast-paced and the projects are always interesting and never get tedious.

      Cons

      Communication between Project Managers and the internship coordinator is somewhat lacking - things tend to slip by, and sometimes the interns are forgotten about! Oops!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If you don't like your home life, Baker is the company for you.

      Jul 31, 2018 - Civil Engineer in Midvale, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people who know their job. The company puts out quality work. I really enjoyed the work I was doing. You get paid straight time for hours over 40. Fairly competitive compensation package, though you likely can make more elsewhere.

      Cons

      Investor owned, you are just a serial number to the company. Little to no training unless you are a minority or woman. I was actually told "go find a youtube video or something" by my manager when I informed him that I had never used inroads before when I was assigned to design a roadway corridor. Also expect over 100% utilization, especially if assigned to a design build. My normal working hours were closer to 45 than 40 most weeks and after I was assigned to a design build project my hours were between 55-60 most weeks. If you complain about working so much or being overloaded managements typical response was "don't you like money?" and then they would brush you off. Also expect to essentially have to ask permission to only work a 40 hour week and good luck taking vacation time off unless its thanksgiving weekend or between christmas and newyears. Rampant tribalism between the traditional project design teams and the design build design teams, project managers would not share workers with other teams. Consequently some people were barely pulling 40 hour weeks while others were working 60s. Bonuses were extremely rare unless you were a manager who was high ranking enough that you weren't really doing production work. So when managers would decide to advance the schedule of a project to receive an early completion bonus, the staff doing the bulk of the work would see none of the bonus. Don't expect to grow or be allowed to shift sideways in the company, they hired you for one task and if you express an interest in cross training in another discipline they assume you don't like your job and you get informally blacklisted and sidelined. With few exceptions, most people were hired from outside, not promoted from within. While I was there we had 2 CEOs and i lost track of how many different COOs we had, seemed like every 3-6 months somebody with the "Chief XYZ Officer" title would leave the company and be replaced by someone from outside. Not really sure what anyone above office manager actually did for the company, each office was functionally treated as a separate company for all intents and purposes, executive leadership was only ever acknowledged when they would make some company policy change (usually for the benefit of corporate investors) or when they would do the quarterly newsletters.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible place to work if you have any desire to advance in your career. (Baltimore office)

      Mar 12, 2014 - Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule and a lot of work.

      Cons

      Lack of leadership in senior management. Managers have limited hands on technical experience and poor project management skills. Limited opportunities for growth. Management acts as a roadblock to career progression for many. Limited training opportunities. Low employee morale. Managers are territorial with clients. No budget for conferences/seminars.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Marketing Specialist

      May 28, 2016 - Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, Flexible Schedule. I enjoy working here. It has a lot of opportunities for growth and displays a stable nature.

      Cons

      There are few cons. The only thing that I would recommend changing would be the schedule adherence of project managers.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Senior Architect

      Aug 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting Federal projects and Design/Build Partners

      Cons

      Lack of chain of command and accountability for project management. Poor internal communication between offices working on the same projects

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Michael Baker International Job Seekers

    Civil Engineer I
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Michael Baker International? Share Your Experiences

    Michael Baker International logo
    or