Michael Baker International Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Michael Baker International Chief Executive Officer Brian Lutes
Brian Lutes
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has good work environment people are very helpful(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great People and Big Projects to work on that are challenging but rewarding(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times conflict among upper management(in 19 reviews)

  • "The path to advancement is through project management(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      michael baker does all kind of work, if you have Clearance tehre is plenty opp

      Nov 7, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, decent environment if you are in right team

      Cons

      too much controlled by the upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall Good for new and young professionals

      Nov 10, 2020 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed environment, work culture (social and professional development activities) and generally good place for new and young professionals to learn

      Cons

      Upper Management in flux and needs better leadership experience/ abilities, lacks leadership diversity, compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Confused company

      Oct 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, convenient location, easy going coworkers

      Cons

      Lack of direction from upper management, lack of trust, no support to find work or work share opportunities

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      At Michael Baker International, we take great pride in our performance-driven culture. To contribute to our high performing culture, our leaders are committed to investing in excellence. If you would like to share more, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Apr 30, 2020 - IT Support Technician in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff at the office that I worked at were great.

      Cons

      Upper management needs some improvements.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Revolving door, no loyalty, burdensome processes

      Jul 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fairly easy to get hired...they have such a revolving door that they're always looking for people.

      Cons

      Revolving door at the upper management level = pervasive insecure feeling throughout company. They just booted their COO...although he'd been in the position a record 2+ years....this coming a year after terminating 4 senior/executive vice presidents. Legacy employees get the shaft on salary. People that left the company and are rehired (sometimes years later) are making more than current staff in the same position. Endless, burdensome project management processes. Owner of the company is a venture capitalist whose portfolio includes a company running the border concentration camps. ie - getting paid $750+/per day/per caged child. Culture of fear: threatened to have your performance review impacted for EVERYTHING from turning in your time sheet late, to not completing training. You're reminded daily that they don't trust you with your time (when you log in to your computer) and are warned that they have access to your email and instant messaging. HUGE disconnect between Corporate Communication/Operations/C-Suite. Zero upper management buy-in for diversity/inclusiveness programs.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      We’re disappointed to hear about your experience. We place a high value on creating a strong sense of community and a team environment as part of our performance-driven culture. If you would like to continue the conversation and provide further details, you can reach us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was much better early on, then slowly degraded

      May 25, 2019 - Carpenter in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They had work.... They did have a good medical insurance policy..... Salary is competitive for their market, but it is nothing like it was 5 years ago.

      Cons

      Upper Management including PMs were usually very unqualified and the company would take it out on the construction management and construction end. They would always lower pay and try to stifle your 'position' then pull you back in as a lower grade to do work that was above your grade or skill level that they were paying you for. They would host workers jobs as a shell game and trick people all the time.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Civil associate

      Oct 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some coworkers are nice and hard working.

      Cons

      Upper management runned by heavy poltics. Stay away from Hamilton office. Stay away from Environmental and Water group.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Michael Baker International Response

      Social Support

      We're disappointed to read your review but appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Our people are our most valuable resource and we take great pride in our performance-driven culture. If you would like to share more about your experience, please reach out to your HR Business Partner or contact us directly at socialsupport@mbakerintl.com.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid Company

      Jan 20, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to work up the ladder, good communication, and open-minded environment

      Cons

      At times conflict among upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good people, but upper management lacks vision.

      Nov 25, 2016 - Traffic Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is where I got my start and my coworkers were outgoing, friendly, and good mentors. The company has a rich history and a surprising portion of the work force is involved in their communities and volunteering. The company seems to be pursuing larger jobs now, and we are starting to regain our footing as a prime.

      Cons

      Upper management seriously lacks talent and is very near-sighted. If they focused more on the work that they we do rather than quarterly metrics then we wouldn't have to worry about the bottom line in the first place. Corporate has created an atmosphere where upper management worships 2 metrics as if they are part of the ten commandments, which works but prevents simple and necessary functions of everyday work. Specifically, I have worked there for a year and a half and I have not had any training with anything, other than someone sitting with me for a half hour. I have had 0 training with a CADD program, which right now I guess I'm just expected to know how to use it. If it wasn't for the internet I would be in a world of hurt right now. They are also really cheap. They don't even give out pens with our company logo on it, so if you want a polo, forget about it. That $20 shirt would be too much overhead, don't be silly.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Michael Baker

      Sep 25, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Work-life balance. Good people but they are leaving everyday.

      Cons

      No incentives. Very poor upper management and leadership. Profits all go to the Board.

      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Michael Baker International Job Seekers

    Civil Engineer I
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Michael Baker International? Share Your Experiences

    Michael Baker International logo
    or