Michigan Department of Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Michigan Department of Transportation Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Solid workplace environmental with good perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Analyst in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Allows multitude of training opportunities

    Cons

    Limited advancement opportunities available at this job.

    Michigan Department of Transportation2019-05-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience and good growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Taylor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Michigan Department of Transportation for more than a year

    Pros

    -Annual Leave -As many hours as you want -Great pay and 401k

    Cons

    In construction lots of overtime some weeks

    Michigan Department of Transportation2019-01-29
  3. "Construction Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Engineer in Newberry, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job, great place to work. Salary is competitive compared to other state DOTs, hours are good for family life, and they offer a 7% match in your 401 K

    Cons

    Salary is a little lower than in private sector consulting, and it is a government agency so there is a lot of paperwork to deal with, and unionized government employees to supervise.

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to deal with unionized employees and overtime balancing. Also politics impacts public road work especially during an election year. Overall a good place to work though.

    Michigan Department of Transportation2018-07-31
  4. "Easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Michigan Department of Transportation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Relaxed environment Good time off options

    Cons

    People slack off and it's frustrating Not a ton of advancement

    Michigan Department of Transportation2018-07-19
  5. "pilot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time

    Pros

    great flying, great equipment, top notch maintenance. the money is ok

    Cons

    This place wrote the book on dysfunctional, avoid it like the plague. Impossible expectations, an over-controlling, micromanaging supervisor. Perhaps this is typical of government, but all anyone cares about is their career and how others view them. "If I make my coworker look poor, I look better by comparison". Intrigue, drama and backstabbing. Being there is more important than productivity. Cynicism, gossip and character...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign and find someone with experience to take over before the entire fleet is sold. This most certainly be the most responsible use of taxpayer money. What are our legislators doing downtown anyway?

    Michigan Department of Transportation2018-08-10
  6. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Michigan Department of Transportation part-time

      Pros

      Great opportunity to work on some amazing project

      Cons

      work culture is very cut and dry

      Michigan Department of Transportation2018-05-21
    • "Summer intern team worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time

      Pros

      Got to go on awesome trips to different companies and all around Michigan. Pay was fair, and rainy days we had payed days off.

      Cons

      During the summer it is very hot and work was always outside. However, boss was an entertaining guy and allowed us breaks from the sun.

      Michigan Department of Transportation2018-03-15
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Transportation Aide 
      Recommends

      I worked at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      got a ton of certifications, learned a lot, got to choose what I did for the most part (whether I wanted to stay in the lab and run samples or go out into the field to get samples, etc)

      Cons

      depending on which office you work at, overtime might be expected

      Michigan Department of Transportation2018-03-02
    • "most unfriendly place i've ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Accountant in Lansing, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time

      Pros

      pay and benefits were great

      Cons

      the work was very slow, expected from government job. but i have never been at a place where everyone is so unfriendly. just walking down the hall way people don't say hi let alone just a smile to acknowledge you are there. some people even put their head down and turn away, very odd behavior. trainer doesn't even help you learn what to do, well unless you are of the opposite sex and he is attracted to you. manager...

      Show More
      Michigan Department of Transportation2018-03-30
    • "Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Secretary in Detroit, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Michigan Department of Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, nice co-workers, interesting work. Opportunity to help the public.

      Cons

      Little room for advancement, not rewarded for performing typically done by a higher level employee.

      Advice to Management

      Treat/assess personnel as individuals and compensate on actual work performed rather than title assigned at hire. Hold people accountable for not doing their job rather than assign it to others.

      Michigan Department of Transportation2017-12-31
    Found 17 reviews