Michigan Office Solutions Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

Michigan Office Solutions Sales Reviews

Updated 2 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
22%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Michigan Office Solutions CEO Paul Hartley
Paul Hartley
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunity for both learning and earning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of my favorite things about MOS is that you are given the opportunity for development. In the past couple years, they have implemented a 6 month Mentorship Program as well as a year-long Leadership Development Program. These programs are available to people from all positions in the company. There has been a good mix of people from all positions in these programs (service techs, sales reps, administrative,... and IT). Both programs have helped me succeed in my current position, and have prepared me well for promotions in the future. The work/life balance is very good. The expectation of working 8-5 M-F is the norm, and working any extra outside of that just increases the chances to succeed. There is an uncapped commission structure with a reasonable base salary. You have the ability to make a lot of money quickly if you are willing to work hard. You also get a car allowance that increases if you exceed your quotas. There is an annual President’s Club trip that sends top performers and a guest on an all expenses paid trip to a destination spot (last year was Costa Rica). The President (Paul) really cares about his team members and the success of the company. He is sincere and wants to get to know each employee on a personal level. Despite being based out of Grand Rapids, he is in Novi at least every other week making his rounds, attending meetings, going on ride days with sales reps and basically doing whatever is needed to help us succeed. There aren’t many companies of this size that the top leadership executives make themselves as available as here. I have recommended joining this company to numerous people and those that have joined have been happy they did.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is truly a “you get out of it what you put into it” business. If you aren’t able to be self-motivated, this probably isn’t the best job for you.

    Michigan Office Solutions2019-01-30
  2. "Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    Over promised commission potential, high turn over and poor leadership

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about the income potential of geos and the turnover rates

    Michigan Office Solutions2019-09-02
  3. Helpful (11)

    "I knew something was off about this place when interviewing... turns out I was right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some really great and talented people who work here, and it is a shame they got tricked into working there with you. I will admit there is nice flexibility in the job that allows you to get your work done when you need to.

    Cons

    First, if you are a potential candidate thinking about applying for a job at any company, and you reviews that are highly detailed and seem to be honest portrayals, believe them to be a true experience for that person. I think looking at other reviews for MOS, you can see that several people mention similar experiences and frustrations as to why they were disappointed with the time they spent at MOS. Frustrations... with management, carved out sales territories, convoluted sales commissions, empty promises, etc. seem to be very common threads. You may also notice that these reviews are articulate and clearly written by someone who is a smart, talented, and an educated person of the world. I would like to consider myself to be one of those people as well. I had some serious doubts when I went in to receive a job offer from MOS, but the smooth talking managers made it seem like it would all work out to benefit me. Then when I mentioned I would have to think about it, they doubled the forgivable draw package, and that made it seem like how could I lose? So I squashed those feelings of doubt down and accepted the position with enthusiasm. Then when I started, it was hard to find any sales person who had worked there for more than a year. No joke. Even while I was in the interview process of less than a month, there was another opening that popped up on the sales team I was getting hired on to. Then while in the 6 week training period, more people left. There are about 50-60 people in sales at MOS for the state. The few major account reps that had been there longer than a year joked that at the mid-year and annual meetings it was always a game to see how many new faces there would be. So I had already began working and tried to tell myself I just needed to work as hard as I normally would in a job and I would be fine. Nope. Working hard does not necessarily correlate with how much money you make. There is always something that they can find to pay you less on the commission, and the managers are not willing to stand up for you. So while you are out trying to make sales, your managers are sitting in their office looking for inspirational videos or quotes to prep for their next meeting. Then if you struggle, they tell you that you just aren't cold calling enough rather than actually offering to help you create a competitive offer that will win over your prospects. I began to think it might be because they aren't really sure how to do it either! Also, when someone leaves the company, managers really do talk trash about that person, as I am sure they did when I quit. Not really a positive experience when you worked side by side with the person they are talking trash about and know it isn't true. It is said as almost an abusive warning, "Man, X employee really wasn't good at such and such, however, I know you would never do that, right?" So like another reviewer mentioned, there will be a response from MOS that sounds like all I wrote was lies. However, I would like to offer up my experience in hopes that you may not fall victim to the sweet talk like I did. I made enough sales to stay off the hit list, but not as much money as they make it sound like you will. I regret working here in the sense that I didn't really learn anything to better myself as a person and as an employee. However, I do not regret meeting the people that I worked with, and I wish the ones that remain well. So my advice to you as a potential candidate would be to compare the honest reviews against the "OMG I love working here it is the best!!!" reviews that don't offer a great deal of detail as to why or how they have been able to be successful. Truly I would like to have known myself how to be successful at MOS! I would still be there today if I hadn't of found something at another company that is a better long-term fit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well, over half of your sales people aren't even hitting their monthly quotas. Perhaps take a long hard look as to why you are allowing this to happen. Instead of blaming the sales people, look internally to see what you should be doing differently to help fix this so that everyone can be successful. I could have seen myself staying at MOS for a long time, but unfortunately I couldn't continue to afford working... there. Paul is an awesome CEO. MOS is lucky to have him, but I would like to see him make some positive changes. Once the previous CEO lets go enough to let him.

    Show More
    Michigan Office Solutions2019-01-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Uncapped Commission. Reps have the opportunity to run their own business. No need to work outrageous hours but top reps typically go above and beyond by choice. The company provides the tools to be successful but it is really up to the rep to make it happen. Some reviews talk about poor leadership: First, I disagree. I have worked here for the past 5 years and most reasonable recommendations that I make to upper... management are considered or acted upon and upper management is flexible. Second, this is sales and if you rely on your manager or executives to make you successful, you are in the wrong career. Personally, as long as they stay out of the way and help me when I need them (which they do) things will be great.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't sell much then you won't make much money or be happy. Guarantee 95% of negative reviews are from people who were less than 70% of goals.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to put a high level of focus on retaining top talent.

    Michigan Office Solutions2018-07-09
  5. Helpful (6)

    "A good stepping stone, but don't expect long term success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The long weeks of training try to pack as much as possible into a tight time frame. If you are a new sales rep, this will benefit you the most. You learn a lot, but it’s a challenge to absorb it all. If you are looking to get into sales, this is a great place to start. Just understand it is a challenge to put it all together. The work life balance is amazing. Not many people work weekends or past 5pm, except... some key members of admin that really have no choice because they have to work longer hours because their departments have been stripped. There are good quality people who work here as well. Many of them are in admin or service, but there are some top-notch sales people as well. It makes coming into the office very enjoyable. The benefits are very good as well. They take advantage of the Xerox buying power to get above average benefits. PTO is a bit stingy and the organization is very much a by the book organization. This is both a good and bad thing.

    Show More

    Cons

    The first major problem is that the company doesn't invest in their admin teams like they do sales. I don't mind all the sales events and incentives they are always giving out to the sales team. The problem is when they cut into admin teams to the point where they can't function. When people leave, they don't rehire for the job. I felt the worst for salaried employees whom the company rode the hardest. Many... salaried admin people worked longer hours to make up for the difference when someone wasn't rehired. I watched numerous projects, like a CRM upgrade project that is sorely needed, take a backseat to just keeping the machine running. Other projects halted for more than a year while the company continued to hire sales people. I remember when the leadership at the company stand up meetings would say that admin is there to help clear the way for sales to do their jobs. Now, admin is in no condition to do that. The second major problem is that the organization is buoyed by a few sales people who make all the money, and many other sales people are left struggling. This causes all the new sales people who are fighting for scraps to leave for greener pastures. The territories are carved up to the point where I heard many sales people complain about how unfair it is. You can't look for new business in other territories, because if you do, it goes to that main salesperson anyway. Some of these other sales people are given territories that set them up for success. This favoritism is just one example of something that needs to change. The third major problem is that the sales managers and leadership are stuck in the 1980s style of management. The managers do a great job at driving their top talent to other companies or even competitors. This is especially true of sales management and the former president, who is still in charge even though he took a new position within Xerox. The leadership disparages former employees and say that they were trash after they leave, and that doesn’t help matters either. The fourth major problem are the comp plans. The organization throws you into the field with a ramped comp plan as a new rep or a regular comp plan as a existing rep. The comp plan is over six pages long and has a variety of loopholes and conditions. I didn’t know it at first, but these rules are in place to take compensation from the rep in some way, shape, or form. I would work hard to get appointments, do assessments, and propose solutions only to not get the rates that my comp plan expects me to get which means they take over half of what I should make. Who makes the money? The sales managers, and there are a lot of them. The fifth major problem is the cost of the MOS solution. The organization’s solutions are more expensive than their competitors. So when we have to go head to head against our rivals, they beat us more often than we win. Lastly, there is a major problem with the way the company promotes internally. There are some career advancement opportunities here, but it doesn't always happen with the right people. Sometimes, the less qualified people get promoted. I have seen some very qualified people be stuck in their positions because the company just decided to keep them in their current jobs because they are good at them. It makes sense from the company perspective. Why promote when they are good and you would have to hire someone new and train them up? I have seen many people get stuck in positions waiting for new jobs to open up, and then the jobs are pulled from them. The promotions just don’t come very often. There are instances of the right people being promoted, but it’s rare. When I left the company, I left knowing that the company has seen its better days come and go. This is no joke.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put more focus into development of your admin teams. They keep the wheels turning just as much as your sales team does. I understand that sales teams are valuable, but your admin team works behind the scenes and should be rewarded. At least to the point where they have enough people to do their jobs and make forward progress. Get out of the 1980s style of leadership. Treat your employees like adults. Don’t... disparage former employees when they leave. In the end, there are reasons why people are leaving. Acknowledge your shortfalls and adjust accordingly. Give the sales people equal opportunity to succeed and remove the comp plan loopholes that don’t benefit the sales reps. This is printer sales, so don’t make it harder than it has to be to make money. The only reason why the comp plans are so convoluted is to cause confusion and try to find ways to not pay on deals that sales people work so hard to get. Reduce the cost of the MOS solutions. There is a reason why customers are leaving MOS and taking their business to competitors. The responses that you see pop up at the bottom of these reviews is by marketing. The company deeply cares about what former employees say. The organization encourages employees to put in positive reviews, but this backfired in some cases because negative reviews popped up. Stop spending money on things like the “101 best and brightest companies” award, which is a marketing tool that the company pays for. Instead of trying to mask things, how about making some changes to improve things at the company.

    Show More
    Michigan Office Solutions2018-04-22
  6. Helpful (9)

    "just not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small car allowance once a month for a little extra quick cash. Occasional beers.

    Cons

    Wow, where to begin... Very fake culture, and scary business tactics. Very poor reputation in west Michigan... losing accounts left and right. Everyone around here talks about the next deal we are going to lose. Most of the accounts in my territory are former MOS customers that will never work with us again so there's no need to call on them. Most everything at this company is a 'con'. I gotta get out of here.

    Advice to Management

    Kind of need a 'reset' button. It's too late.

    Michigan Office Solutions2018-05-04
  7. Helpful (16)

    "MOS is a good stepping-stone but that's about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are in a dying industry, and desperate for talent, so if you have half a brain you shouldn't have too much of a problem getting hired. Good place for a young person to work a year or two before moving on to something bigger and better. Work-life balance: hardly anyone works past 5:00, especially in management, sales and marketing.

    Cons

    The largest issue at MOS is in upper management. They are completely out of touch with their workforce, and are abrasive, belittling, and unprofessional to their subordinates. They have driven so much of their top talent to other companies - not only to just their cross-town competitor, but also to companies in other industries. This is especially true of the sales management in Grand Rapids, as well as the... former president. They are also delusional when it comes to their place in the local business community: despite how often leadership praises themselves and parrots how great of a place MOS is to work, they are not respected (or even known) by prominent business leaders in West Michigan. At the end of the day, they are nothing more than two-bit printer salesmen, who have been reliving the glory days of the 1980s for far too long. That being said, there are so many folks at MOS that are nothing short of exceptional at their jobs (pretty much everyone outside of sales and marketing), and quite frankly deserve better. To all those reading this who are currently at MOS, I strongly encourage you to look outside of the company for better opportunities - I know that this can be a frightening proposition, but as someone who has successfully made that transition, I can assure you that the grass is greener on the other side. There are so many companies in West Michigan that actually value their employees, as opposed to just saying they do. Update your LinkedIn profiles and reach out to recruiters: there is a talent-war going on in West Michigan, and so much opportunity out there to seize. This is especially true considering how CHEAP Michigan Office Solutions is. The yearly salary of my next job after leaving MOS was significantly higher plus better benefits. Also, ignore the "company response" that will shortly pop up below this review. This is just canned language from MOS' marketing department trying to save face - MOS cares deeply about what is said about them on Glassdoor (as they know the negative reviews are more or less an accurate depiction of what goes on). Their past president actually sent an email out to employees telling them to leave positive reviews on Glassdoor in a pathetic attempt to salvage an already sunken reputation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire. Xerox should clean house, as it would suit their best interests to have forward-thinking management that not only can meet the sales-plan in the short-term, but can also ensure a healthy business in the long-term. With the level of turnover at MOS, it's a miracle that management hasn't already been given their pink slips.

    Michigan Office Solutions2018-03-19
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Can't stop doing the wrong things..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are genuine good and honest people as long as they are not people in positions of authority.

    Cons

    When you are being told something by a manager or a person is a "leadership" role you need to know that what is being said is completely dishonest. It's like watching a magic show don't pay attention to what the magician is doing look for what they are doing with the other hand. If you are being told that you will make more with the new comp plan you will in fact make less. If you are being told that more... activity will lead to more results, it will in fact lead to more wasted time. Our pricing model is completely outrageous and makes if very tough to compete. However it will not stop MOS from getting the deal and paying you with maybe enough to buy a happy meal at McDonald's. If you want to see who is making the money it's those sitting in the offices that surround the people doing the real work. It was extremely frustrating as a sales rep to know that I would work my fingers to the bone to get an appointment, do an assessment, and make a recommendation (just like I was trained to do) and get a deal only to be told that the rates were too low (even though they were approved) and because of that I would only receive 50% of my commission. The one saving grace is people are now leaving this company in mass. The turnover is through the roof. I will warn you that if you are an applicant be very careful. They put on a pretty good dog and pony show to make it feel like they are looking for the best of the best, but the reality is they need you more than you need them. In today's market there are far too many options for you to settle on a place like MOS. There is "new leadership" at MOS but just ask anyone there who is really in charge. Its the same old boys network selling the same garbage year after year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want real change (which you dont) learn from your people and listen to why all of the talent is leaving your company. That was silly of me to write that because this same thing has been going on for years and the scheme you have going is working financially so why change?

    Michigan Office Solutions2018-03-09
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Walker, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work environment is alright Benefits just OK

    Cons

    Management is beyond terrible. Poor leadership skills. Dishonesty

    Advice to Management

    The previous president of the company sent out an email to all MOS employees to go to the glassdoor and asked us to submit positive comments about the company. Advice to Management: You shouldn't have to ask us to write positive reviews. This is a great indicator of how poor the management really is.

    Michigan Office Solutions2017-12-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great start, changes need to be made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michigan Office Solutions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great start in sales. You will get a decent shot at proving yourself and boosting up your resume for the future

    Cons

    Company is not following the mentality of taking care of your customers and employees first, and everything else will take care of itself. Opportunities for selling and making money have been slowly dwindling, so changes need to be made

    Advice to Management

    Remember what made the company the top company in the state before, you have lost that. Competitors are now #1, so you need to progress and take care of the employees.

    Michigan Office Solutions2017-05-13
Found 28 reviews