Michigan State University Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Michigan State University Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
April Clobes
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and fair compensation(in 18 reviews)

  • "I've worked for a variety of other companies in the Lansing area, and MSUFCU has by far been the best(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "But a great place to build yourself and get amazing opportunities within the company or outside of it(in 4 reviews)

  • "Management are yes men, they cannot think for themselves(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People want to learn and grow and work together. There are no lead anchors that hate being here. Very positive environment. Easy to talk to management including C levels. Great benefits and fair compensation. Very protective and supportive of employees.

    Cons

    Not the place for folks who don't thrive on smiling and being kind and gentle. No work from home for IT dept.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-06-01
  2. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers, Good Work Environment, Feel like you are helping people, Great Benefits

    Cons

    Pay is alright but not the best

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-07-20
  3. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive, positive culture where it seems as though everyone exists to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Occasional Saturday work, but you get a day off the week you have to work a Saturday

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-06-17
  4. "Great place to work overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Specialist II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great employees, community involvement is strong.

    Cons

    Rate of pay, work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-06-30
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union for less than a year

    Pros

    nice environment nice co workers

    Cons

    not much downside about it

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-05-13
  6. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FIEC 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and they are always looking out for their employees

    Cons

    Honestly not too many, job can get repetitive but there's plenty of opportunities to move around

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-05-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Positive Culture, Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for a variety of other companies in the Lansing area, and MSUFCU has by far been the best. No work place is going to be perfect, but the average day here is great, and I have many days where I leave work feeling excited and inspired. The culture that they promote is not just kool-aid, people truly live it and promote it genuinely. Some will try to say otherwise, but their are nay-sayers everywhere in every organization. The overwhelming majority of people and leaders here are caring and forward thinking. Employees truly care about the members they serve, and superior service is the focus. This type of environment is exactly what I have wanted in a workplace. Not only that, but the benefits and nuances to the organization are great. Leaders have taken what I say into account with decision making, and I feel they truly value opinions at all levels.

    Cons

    For some, the salary does not seem as competitive. In my line of work and the work I've seen of most positions, the salaries have been comparable to other organizations, especially organizations in the area. Not everyone likes the fun culture and the additional activities that the credit union offers ("time wasters") but I think the best, most advanced workplaces know the value of having fun at work. It inspires creativity and collaboration. Lastly, I think some may say there are not as many career advancement opportunities, and while there are of course only so many management positions available at any given time, the organization does a lot to invest in the personal/professional development of the employees. Tons of training/shadowing opportunities, committees to take leadership in, budgets available for professional development, leadership development programs, and stipend opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-02-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "IT jobs for experienced employees not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Architect in East Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and PTO time are good

    Cons

    No processes. No documentation. No one knows how all the main systems work. Non-IT people running department. You get a PTO day a pay period but unscheduled time off is frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-03-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Educator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This organization is so caring about each employee as an individual. Not only do my managers care about our goals but they help make sure you are on the correct path to achieve them. This is the first place that I have worked where I can honestly say I love coming to work! The environment is so positive.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons, I have worked for several organizations in my professional career and this is the best!

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-01-18
  10. "Great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Service Representative 

    I worked at Michigan State University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work if you’re in college or just graduated. Great benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    Promotions were seldom and raises were rare

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University Federal Credit Union2019-01-30
Found 104 reviews