Michigan State University Student Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Michigan State University Student Supervisor Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Michigan State University President Samuel Stanley Jr.
Samuel Stanley Jr.
1 Rating
  1. "Starbucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Free Coffee, great opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    No set schedule, rude customers sometimes

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2020-01-04
  2. "Smooth Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Student Supervisor in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work. Work at your own pace

    Cons

    Management can be a hand full at times

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2020-03-04
  3. "A college job that was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Supervisor 

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, worked around class schedule, meet lots of new people

    Cons

    Early morning hours, repetitive tasks

    Michigan State University2019-06-24
  4. "Human Resources Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Student Supervisor in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, great environment, and wonderful staff.

    Cons

    There are no cons to my experience.

    Michigan State University2019-03-09
  5. "Decent Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Supervisor 

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible hours for a student.

    Cons

    management was always in flux, some positions were based on popularity rather than merit

    Michigan State University2019-03-07
  6. "Level IV Student Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Level IV Student Supervisor in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is very understanding of your classwork. The Managers above me have always understood how important school was and that it was a first priority over my position at MSU. You are given plenty of time to finish the required materials on a weekly basis and overtime is not required, although sometimes offered.

    Cons

    High Turnover Rate. There are currently two level IV's in the building I work in. there have been a few cases where the other Level IV has left which placed the burden of both positions on myself. During this time it was manageable without overtime, but definitely stressful.

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2018-04-11
  7. "Student Suervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Supervisor in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Michigan State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, flexible around your schedule, decent amount of work

    Cons

    Long work hours at time

    Michigan State University2018-03-08
  8. "Working in the dining halls as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Student Cook Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenient to work in the residence halls right on campus, especially if you live on Free meals if you live off campus Great place to meet new people

    Cons

    Not enough students working right now No call-ins on football game days if you are scheduled to work (south neighborhood at least--you can usually find a substitute though)

    Michigan State University2017-01-09
  9. "Good Place to start as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Cook Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michigan State University

    Pros

    Flexible with your school schedule Helpful Employees

    Cons

    Management can use some work on attitudes

    Michigan State University2016-12-22
  10. "Student IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Supervisor in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michigan State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They work around your class schedule. Pretty good pay for student employment. Relaxed atmosphere. No weekends ever. Never work past 6pm

    Cons

    Not every worker was qualified, resulted in picking up their slack. Need more tools given out to the workers

    Continue reading
    Michigan State University2015-08-11
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews